We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, great location, fantastic breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grande Hotel Petropolis
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Petropolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights over New Years, and really enjoyed our stay. The staff is extremely nice and helpful, and the manager Bianca was wonderful. The room was very nice, modern and clean. Free Wi-Fi. Casual local pub across the street, and walking distance to most attractions. Unfortunately they are missing balconies or any outside patio area, so my husband would enjoy his cigar at night in the park across the street. Petropolis was a bit more run down than I was expecting, but then this was my first trip to Brazil. The European influence is still evident but fading. There was no shopping to speak of.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amcgillycuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This is a good hotel if You are staying for business or pleasure. It has a more business profile to it in my opinion. It is centrally located and walking distance to petropolis main historic tourist attractions. Hotel is clean and everything new. Good breakfast . I stayed in a standard room with girlfriend and it was a bit small but ok.
Once you walk outside hotel the street is very busy and noisy . But rooms at night are quiet. This is an ok hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jose_P_Fon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed for one night in December 2013. The hotel is centrally located close to shopping, restaurants and attractions - walking distance. We rented a car and drove from Rio. The hotel provided valet parking for a nominal cost - it was efficient. The hotel is on a busy street and very limited space to park to check in - valet was very helpful though and we had no issues. The hotel itself is totally updated with everything looking spanking new and clean - room, bathroom, lobby, and elevator. The folks in the lobby spoke adequate English. Wifi was free. The free breakfast was good with a choice of cereals, deli style meats, eggs etc. The room itself is a bit small (although this seems to be the case with all hotels in Brazil). All in all we were happy with our choice. Although we showed up on Monday when attractions are closed - so if you are planning to visit avoid Mondays.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Optimistic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I tried this hotel for the first time but been in petropolis many times. Very hood doentown locstion near excellent bars and resturants. Quick to help with bag and checkin. But level of english of some employees is very low. Good breakfast

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta C, General Manager at Grande Hotel Petropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013
Google Translation

Prezado Hospede,

Gostaríamos de agradecer sua iniciativa em preencher nossa pesquisa de satisfação, uma vez que a sua opinião contribui para que nossos serviços sejam sempre aprimorados.
Seu conforto, sua satisfação e sua preferência são prioridades para nós.
Seu comentário foi registrado em nosso sistema de satisfação de clientes.
Esperamos poder recebê-lo num futuro próximo em nosso hotel.

Atenciosamente,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very classy! We loved this hotel and will return from Rio to stay here again. The women working at the reception desk are very helpful and speak English. They helped us with every aspect of our stay. The hotel is near everything-- within walking distance and is very clean. The breakfast was excellent with many options. Very hot and comfortable shower. Great valet service and overall competent and friendly hotel staff and management.

Room Tip: We got the suite with sofa, nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta C, General Manager at Grande Hotel Petropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013
Google Translation

Prezado Hospede,

Gostaríamos de agradecer sua iniciativa em preencher nossa pesquisa de satisfação, uma vez que a sua opinião contribui para que nossos serviços sejam sempre aprimorados.
Seu conforto, sua satisfação e sua preferência são prioridades para nós.
Seu comentário foi registrado em nosso sistema de satisfação de clientes.
Esperamos poder recebê-lo num futuro próximo em nosso hotel.

Atenciosamente,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel dates from 1930 but it has been totally refurbished. It is very modern inside and kept the old fancy facade. It is very close to the main touristic place of Petropolis- Museum Imperial. It has a valet service at the door. The rooms have a good size and are very cosy, with a comfy bed and a marble bathroom. Free wi-fi is available. The restaurant is beautiful and the breakfast has many option to choose from, including delicious home made cakes: the banana strudel is particularly tasty. I just did not like the service at check-in, there was a misunderstanding between the price they charge and the price booking.com offer. They made us pay both nights of stay immediately at arrival, which I do not think is common and told us to sort it out with booking.com afterwards. They only realized we were actually correct in the price we booked the room after we had paid their price. So they had to cancel the first payment and then do it again. Boring! So check in was time-consuming and I was upset. Never before did I have a problem such as this. Oh well, I guess it happens once. I might stay here again....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla_Thiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta C, General Manager at Grande Hotel Petropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013
Google Translation

Prezado Hospede,

Gostaríamos de agradecer sua iniciativa em preencher nossa pesquisa de satisfação, uma vez que a sua opinião contribui para que nossos serviços sejam sempre aprimorados.
Seu conforto, sua satisfação e sua preferência são prioridades para nós.
Seu comentário foi registrado em nosso sistema de satisfação de clientes.
Esperamos poder recebê-lo num futuro próximo em nosso hotel.

Atenciosamente,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

After arriving in Rio, we found our hotel was full and my colleagues and I were informed we were now staying in Petropolis. We had never visited the mountain regions of Brazil. Upon arriving at this beautiful hotel we found a very helpful, friendly staff. One of my colleagues' birthday was the day after we arrived and they surprised her with a bottle of champagne and a crystal bowl of chocolates.
The staff went above and beyond for us. The breakfast was basic but very nice. I'm very picky of my rooms and must say I was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. r
I would highly recommend a visit to this quaint town and definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nyc2lhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarthaCerqueira, General Manager at Grande Hotel Petropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013
Google Translation

Prezado Hospede

Gostaríamos de agradecer sua iniciativa em preencher nosso Guest Comment, uma vez que a sua opinião contribui para que nossos serviços sejam sempre aprimorados.
Seu conforto, sua satisfação e sua preferência são prioridades para nós.
Seu comentário foi registrado em nosso sistema de satisfação de clientes.
Esperamos poder recebê-lo num futuro próximo em nosso hotel.

Atenciosamente,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petropolis hotels
Hotel Casablanca Imperial
#7 of 28 in Petropolis
926 reviews
City Center
Casablanca Center Hotel
Casablanca Center Hotel
#10 of 28 in Petropolis
408 reviews
Hotel Solar do Imperio
#3 of 28 in Petropolis
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granja Brasil Resort
#18 of 28 in Petropolis
201 reviews
Hotel Vila Bavaria
#19 of 28 in Petropolis
146 reviews
Quality Hotel Itaipava
#4 of 8 in Itaipava
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hotel Petropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel Petropolis

Address: Rua do Imperador 545, Petropolis, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Petropolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Petropolis
Price Range: £56 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grande Hotel Petropolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Grande Hotel Petropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Hotel Petropolis Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing