We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casablanca Palace
Ranked #53 of 85 Petropolis B&B and Inns
Nashville
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Close to city center”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The rooms in the adjacent building were much more of a budget hotel feel thats where my room was located. But the rooms in the main building were lovely the bosses were sent to those rooms. Breakfast was very nice out on the balcony and the staff was very pleasant. We were in Petropolis on a business trip and the hotel was appropriate for that purpose. WIFI worked very well throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Would not recommend as a family location but very highly recommended for business trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachloverA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    42
    41
    12
    17
See reviews for
37
44
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

On the plus side, Casablanca Palace has a great location on the main pedestrian shopping street in Petropolis and large clean rooms.

Overall though, the place definetly has a budget hotel feel to it - I'm not complaining, it's adequate for it's price bracket, but at the same time, not worth writing home about. The lobby and rooms are comfortable enough, but furnishings are definetly plain. There is no internet service available (and there are not many internet cafes in Petropolis). Breakfast is good, but comes at an additional cost.

I must say that, on the whole, Petropolis was a bit of a letdown. It does have a great natural setting and a couple of good museums, but nightlife in the town was seemingly non-existent. I arrived to a packed town on Saturday afternoon. I was shocked to find that at 10:00 pm, the place seemed to clear out and close up.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

It is not Casablanca, nor palace. Main building is quite nice, but the other in far end is rather in bad shape. Unfortunately I had room in that old one. My room was on the top floor, and I was using stairs, I couldn’t trust that elevator! All building smells like in the middle of jungle (moisture). Room however big, with comfortable bed, was old and that smell…
Staff friendly and helpful but thought to talk in English. But for me that’s good opportunity to improve my Portuguese.
I think there are better places to stay in Petropolis, but I heard that rooms in first building are way better , also location is great – so close to main street and most of city attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for room in main building (this with restaurant and lobby)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
180 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

close by to everything. nice staff, GREAT breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
168 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were visiting Petropolis from Rio (actually we were running away from a horrible hostel in Botafogo), and we're looking for an accommodation for the night.

The Casablanca Palace is not cheap by Brazilian standards, but Petropolis itself is a very expensive (and rich) city. Consider that we went to a pousada and we were asked 20 reais more than this hotel...

Anyway the Palace is a lovely building, full of wood and very elegant.
Our room was clean (and that's a huge issue in Brazil) and very comfortable, with a good bathroom.
The breakfast is served in the lovely dining room upstairs, were you can overlook the Petropolis abbey and the main street. The Palace is also very well located, near the city center and the bus stop for and to Rio, and near to the Petropolis Real Palace.
The hotel has a pool too, but it was too cold to use.

I'm recommending this hotel if you're visiting Petropolis, particularly if you need a break from the Brazilian chaos, and relax in this nice European-like town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glamismac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petropolis hotels
Hotel Casablanca Imperial
#6 of 26 in Petropolis
838 reviews
City Center
Casablanca Center Hotel
Casablanca Center Hotel
#8 of 26 in Petropolis
368 reviews
Grande Hotel Petropolis
#3 of 26 in Petropolis
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel York
Hotel York
#20 of 26 in Petropolis
106 reviews
Casablanca Koeler
#9 of 85 in Petropolis
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca Palace

Property: Hotel Casablanca Palace
Address: Rua Dezesseis de Marco 123, Petropolis, State of Rio de Janeiro 25620-040, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Petropolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Petropolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Casablanca Palace 1.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casablanca Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casablanca Palace Petropolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing