We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casablanca Koeler
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pousada Les Roches(Petropolis)
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pousada Spa Orquidea da Serra(Petropolis)(Great Value!)
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saison Spa(Itaipava)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bomtempo Resort(Petropolis)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Locanda della Mimosa(Petropolis)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vila Bavaria(Petropolis)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
122
187
60
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
187
60
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark your carone nightwalking distancecathedralbreweryreceptioncozybreakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The location was great for sightseeing. We found the staff to be attentive and helpful. The rooms and grounds were clean, everything was well maintained. The free breakfast was superb and the free wireless internet worked well.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second level of the main building and were impressed with the high degree of maintenance. A combination of "home" hospitality and modern convenience. Thanks to all with help to my Portuguese!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

You can walk to anywhere in the historic center from here. The rooms are very clean and serviceable, but if aesthetics are your thing, wear blindfolds. Friendly staff. An exceptional breakfast (probably, partly because it was Sunday) with the best savory pastries we have eaten. A really good decorator could take this place to another level.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Texascountess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Lovely small hotel ideally situated about 50 yards from the Cathedral and places of historic and colonial interest. We stayed for one night in the modern annexe just behind the hotel (the main building is old colonial) and had a large and comfortable room overlooking the (empty) pool. As others have commented, wi-fi reception in the annexe is non-existent and I had to sit in the foyer every time I wanted to check email. Breakfast was about the best we had during our three week holiday and we ate far too much as a result. (I am ashamed to say we even had chocolate cake with chocolate sauce one morning!) As well as the more sensible cereals, croissants and toast, there was also the option of hot scrambled eggs.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a short sightseeing trip to Petropolis.

Room Tip: The annexe rooms are good and spacious but if Wi-Fi is an issue, ask to stay in the main building
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martingale54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at the Casablanca Koeler for 6 days. It has a very good location directly by the cathedral in the centre of Petropolis. The breakfast was a continental buffet with a good variety. Fresh fruit, meat, cereals, cakes, fresh juices, etc,...

I would rather call the Casablanca Koeler a Guesthouse than a hotel and whilst the rooms were very clean some things could do with a bit of maintenance, i.e. loose toilet roll holders and sockets.

My room smelled very musty and on the second night, during a strong thunderstorm water came through the ceiling, which I believe was due to a window being open in the room above me. This might have happened before and would explain the smell.

The night porter was very helpful and upgraded me to another larger room, which unfortunately still smelled a bit of "old house", but nowhere near as bad as the first room.

All rooms have Wifi, but the strength depends on where the room is located in relation to reception.

Whilst the staff I met were all very nice and helpful, they unfortunately only speak a few words of English.

Overall, it was good value for the money and I will stay there again next time I am in Petropolis.

Room Tip: Upstairs, away from the roads.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOCIRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Been traveling in Brazil for 7 weeks, and have had some great stays, but this beats them all. Greeted with such friendliness and professionalism. Great location, walking distance to many local sights and Bohemia Brewery, and well stocked grocery store. Great breakfast and fast wifi top it off. Will definitely choose Casablanca Koeler if in Petropolis again. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allenjbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews