We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally nice”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #127 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

In general, the hotel is quite nice. Rooms are clean, tidy, furniture is not truly new, but quite all right. Staff is polite and is looking to help with every question. The best is location - just near the Catete metro station, besides, there are some restaurants nearby. Local airport is just 3 km ride straight from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had a spacious room, which was clean. Had a TV and a smoking room also. Bathroom was big. Breakfast area was a little crowded but it was fine. Food was ok. The location is on a main street but you can't really hear the noise from the room and its safe to walk around at night as there are a lot of people around and a lot of shops and restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor further along the corridor are a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K_Patel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This hotel in the Catete area of Rio is gradually being upgraded. It is located in a safe if dull area close to the Metro. Clean, great breakfast and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faceyromford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Had a 6 night stay at the Imperial from March 23 to March 29th. As stated before it's an old hotel but it served my needs.

Pro's: Close to the metro, which I used everyday.

Basically between centro and copacabana.

Breakfast, although the only hot food was scrambled eggs in one bin and wieners in another. Plenty of fruits and breads.

I got the suite so plenty of room.

Pool and gym.

All the receptionist that I spoke to spoke English.

Plenty of stores and restaurant around. I usually went to centro to eat about 35% cheaper there.

Cons: The air conditioner only got the room cool not cold. Yes, it was hot in Rio but I think the combination of a large room and a single wall mount airconditioner didn't help.

One of the reasons I choose this hotel was the gym to workout a little. Unfortunately, they were re-doing the floor so I couldn't use the gym. The pool was open.

Rooms were okay but bland.

It seemed to take forvever for the hot water to come on in the shower. Once it did, it was fine.

As suggested before, if it's your first time to Rio, it would probably be better to get a room in Copacabana or Ipanema. This hotel fit my needs for this trip so no complaints.

Almost forgot, one day I had laundry to do. I took it to the front desk around 10:00 and I thought it would be back the next day. When I got back into the hotel around 21:00. The clean laundry was back in my closet. That was great customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Imperial Hotel in Rio is a disgrace, not so much in terms of the accommodation which it provides, but in the way it rips off its guests. Specifically, I had my credit card wallet stolen in Rio and need to make a phone call to Sentinel Gold, with whom I have card protection and insurance. They provide a reverse charge number for calls from abroad which I used. This was explained to the staff of the hotel, but they charged my wife (I had no card by then) £101-07 for that call which lasted about 15 minutes. This was for a call for a call which cost the hotel nothing. This is dishonest behaviour and a total disgrace. The same hotel also charges an exorbitant rate to use their computers at about £7 per hour and they also charged us for use of the strong box for 3 days when we were there for 2 days. In addition, the double bed which we had was very narrow, the air conditioning was noisy and the shower room so small that it was almost impossible to dry oneself without ending up in the toilet. Finally, if you visit the website of the hotel, it has a picture of a very attractive white painted building which bears no relation to the place where we stayed, which is on a very busy and rather dirty street .Do not use this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colinmsmith100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

An excellent hotel, marked as 3 stars but service is like 4.

Pretty nice rooms, but ask for the rooms in the back near the swimming pool. Those are the best ones and are closest to the nicest things about the hotel. Something really great I did was use the exercise gym for a bit, then hop right into the pool, then hit the sauna to relax.

Situated in the Catete neighborhood, it's the perfect place. Very safe. 50 meters out of the hotel to the right is the Big Bi juice bar. a great place for an Acai, or fruit juice. This place is also within 5min walking distance to the Catete Palace, a historical place with a beautiful garden. A great find in Rio de Janeiro!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nico_bigollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Excellent local hotel in the low to mid price range. Very attentive staff. Excellent location across the street from the old Presidential Palace in a very colonial part of Rio de Janeiro. Very convenient to Metro and Taxi. Very clean with excellent breakfast included. Between downtown business district and tourist districts of Copacabana and Ipanema.

Room Tip: I chose the deluxe room with double bed. They have very inexpensive, small rooms with single bed, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Elegance Praia Hotel
#62 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
402 reviews
Hotel Novo Mundo
#105 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
672 reviews
Hotel Regina
#35 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Mirador Rio Hotel
Mirador Rio Hotel
#91 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
638 reviews
Centro
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
#92 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
282 reviews
Catete
Hotel 1900
Hotel 1900
#41 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Rua do Catete, 186, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £39 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Imperial Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing