We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Area of Catete, close to Lapa”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #129 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Location is not central and about 15-20 min from Copacabana by taxi. Staff was ok, room for 3 was big and clean. A/C was noisy. Average hotel. I had to get a key for the safe and sign for it. When we entered the room you need to sign a paper on how many towels, pillows and etc in the room. It was a good option for 3 guys during the FIFA world cup. They don't have an iron board and the iron they have is very old. Breakfast was very good with lots of items to choose from. WIFI didn't work.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

First of all the service was almost rude. The bellboy got angry because we forgot to leave the key to reception while we went eating. Front desk was also very unpolite, some didn't even speak english. We had to ask many times where is the breakfast, no 'hello, thank you, please' etc...

We had to fill a separate document about the items in minibar and sign it which took 20 minutes and which we couldn't understand (it was in portugues), then when cheking out, we had to go it through again.

Also the rooms were very outdated, looked like the furtiture was 20-30 years old. As a much traveling person I can say that overall the price-quality was very poor, I strongly recommend to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sintti I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Decent and very clean. The breakfast was yummy and the staff incredibly helpful. The bathroom was great with one of the best showers I've come across in my travels! In a good location (Catete) which is near Lapa. I would stay here again as it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandydlozano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Decent, clean hotel with tasty breakfast and friendly staff. Nothing fancy but reasonable value for Rio, and on a busy road so felt safe. It's in Catete which is a good midpoint between the main areas in Rio also, so pretty easy to get most places, and a pleasant walk to sugar loaf.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James_B200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

the hotels in Copacabana and Ipanema are charging ever more ridiculous prices. This hotel, Imperial, is a reasonably priced 3 star hotel with good amenities, right in the heart of Rio, near to Lapa, Centro and Santa Teresa and minutes away from Santes Dumont airport in a folky neighbourhood with the metro 100 meters from its door. The only thing that is a bit rickety are the old air conditioners.

Room Tip: the suites are more expensive but almost twice the size of a normal room, the ones in the back are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robdelaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Just to show you how classy this place is, there is a sign in the lobby (in Portuguese) warning guests that's illegal to carry firearms into the hotel. But the rooms are clean if not spacious at all. Breakfast, as usual in Brazilian hotels (although this is changing), is plentiful and of good quality, with a range of fruit, cakes, bread, juices, etc. The staff is another matter: also common in Brazilian establishments (I was born and raised there), they were rude, badly trained and unhelpful. We checked in and went out for a walk. On our return, we were told that we were given a more expensive room by mistake, and we had a choice of moving to another room or paying the difference. When I grumbled about the inconvenience, I was told in an aggressive tone that the alternative was to charge the clerk that checked us in. I didn't want that, so on to another room we went (it was too late to find another place), with no offer to help with the luggage or even an apology. In summary: a reasonable place for the cost, but don´t expect any slack from the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Curupira_enfezado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Location is very good, very close to Catete tube station, lots of restaurants and shops around. Crowded but safe area, where normal people live. That's a compliment.
We had a suite, large room and large bathroom with all comfort but oldish furniture. The room was at the back so quiet but overviewing a flat roof that hosted the hotel bins! The air conditioning is extremely noisy, fortunately the temperature was low enough to switch it off. As the room was in a remote place after the pool it had no wifi, so we had to move to a public place to connect.
Breakfast just OK not more, in a noisy basement room.
Staff not really helpful and with sometimes no English language at all.

Room Tip: Go for a suite, it's only a little more expensive but you'll get a large room/bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Hotel Novo Mundo
#106 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
664 reviews
Elegance Praia Hotel
#52 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
400 reviews
Catete
Hotel 1900
Hotel 1900
#46 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flamengo
Hotel Rondonia Palace
Hotel Rondonia Palace
#161 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
161 reviews
Catete
Petit Rio Hotel
Petit Rio Hotel
#124 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
58 reviews
Hotel Regina
#36 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Rua do Catete, 186, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £41 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Imperial Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing