We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good in general”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monte Alegre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monte Alegre
Ranked #141 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good in general”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Stayed here several times while in Rio as part of my job in tourism. Have to say that I find it very good with friendly staff (not many english speakers amongst them though), great breakfast, a small outdoor pool area and very close to the action if you are in Rio for Carnival. Also, for getting around the city, buses to Copcabana, Ipanema and elswhere all pass in front of the hotel which makes life easier!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    144
    80
    15
    9
See reviews for
57
67
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Clean and tidy hotel with good sized rooms and all mod-cons.
Main downside for us was the noise! Massive air-con unit right outside on our balcony-and wasn't even our unit. Unable to sleep through the noise, staff not really interested and unable to move us. Would have been awful if my husband hadnt found the external off switch....resulted in better night sleep for us but maybe a hot and sticky night for someone else!
For an international hotel booked with tucan, expected more for oor money....well at least 1 member of staff who has a little English.
Also, if you are hoping for a hotel that can direct you to a few places, give you a map, or book a few activities then this isn't the place for you.....use book a local, they were great!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just spend 2 weeks at this hotel, and rate it as good. Rooms are very clean, and breakfast is terrific. Staff at desk were a bit reserved and not exactly effusive, but they were polite and efficient. I changed rooms twice (!) first time because my room was too close to rua Monte Alegre, which runs up the side of the hotel and is a steep incline so plenty of revving up, second time because the room was too close to some noisy supersized airconditioning units out back of hotel (someone else's review mentions these). I ended up in room 532, which has twin beds but you would not want to share because it is much too small, and was much more quite. So if peace and quite are a priority for you (they are for me) then make sure that you get a room high up at rear of hotel.

Room Tip: If you want quite, stay away from rooms that back onto rua Monte Alegre, which runs up the side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maxtravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed over New Years a two years back but it deserves a kudos. Lapa is actually a beautiful district and the bars were great fun. We were on a budget and this place was affordable because New Years prices get jacked up as well as most places implementing a 4-5 day mandatory stay. We had only booked part of our trip and when we decided to go to Buzios for a few days, they stored our luggage and added another night on for when we returned at a great rate. We walked home from Copa on New Years which is not likely recommended. Be aware that gangs control the cabs so trying to get a cab on New Years that could cross various districts was tricky. Generally we took the bus to Copa or Ipanema which was cheap, gave a great lay of the land and was fun. The buses do alter their paths at night and when it came to a stop at the base of the sketchiest favella, the driver looked at our lost faces and returned us to lapa and drew on our map so we knew for next time. Everyone was equally friendly. The hotel : clean, great air conditioning which is a must, lovely big bathroom and shower, internet that worked, great coffee and kind staff. Amazing street food (best soup ever) and beer for sale out of buckets on every corner. If you enjoy wandering around and seeing a less touristy side, this was a great, affordable clean place.

Room Tip: bring outlet adaptors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oplacesyoullgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Avery average hotel in the poorer section of the town. The rooms are very small, and pokey. The cleanliness was good and the staff appeared to be friendly. The quality of the food served at breakfast was decent buffet with a lot of choices in cereal, fresh fruits, cheese and eggs.
There is a pool too which is outdoors. Its a good choice if you are trying to find a budget hotel. The room service is also quite satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kista, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

There was at least one guy at the hotel speaking English well. Lots of good, price worthy restaurants and pubs nearby. Good air condition. The rooms were bigger than expected for the price. A supermarket is located at the other side of the road. Not too far walking to the subway from the hotel.

The hotel is an old colonial building that is renovated with care. I really have nothing bad to say about this place, except that the internet radio access was not so good in all rooms. Also, if you like it cold when you sleep, make sure that the cleaning maid does not open the windows and shut of the air condition while you are doing the city or the beach. The breakfast was good. The surrounding area might look a bit worn down for a European guy like me - but it was a very cozy area with lots of old colonial buildings. It also seems like the town is shaping up this part of town now, Santa Clara.

The staff at the hotel is nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedalAsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here during Rio's Carnaval in February and found it to be quite nice for the cost. During Carnaval, the hotels all over Rio increase their prices signifigantly, and this one was affordable. It is right near Lapa, which we had heard horror stories about, concerning crime, muggings, etc., but had absolutely no problems whatsoever. In fact, Lapa is where most of the street parties (blocos) are during Carnaval, and just by abiding to our normal rules of travel (stay aware, don't wander off alone, etc.) we found it to be no different or any more dangerous than any other part of the world.

The rooms were clean and the included breakfast buffet was great. Cable t.v. and a refrigerator in every room as well. Although they were undergoing construction at the time, the new reception area looks to be incredible, and they are adding about 80 new rooms that are completely modern and updated. We only spoke conversational Spanish, and no Portuguese, but the reception staff were very accommodating and helped us out with recommendations and things to do while in Rio.

Don't get me wrong, this isn't a 5 star hotel, but for what you pay, you get a good location near all the action of Carnaval, and a great value- especially during Carnaval season.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liersemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Bristol Easy Plus Hotel Lapa Rio
#79 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Centro
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
#71 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Hotel Carioca
#155 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pouso Real
#184 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro...
#152 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Gamboa Rio Hotel
#175 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Alegre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Alegre

Property: Hotel Monte Alegre
Address: Rua Riachuelo 213 | Lapa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20230-011, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Alegre 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monte Alegre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Alegre Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing