We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprise box” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cipriani Restaurant

Hotel Cipriani Restaurant
Ranked #140 of 13,579 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$100
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Copacabana
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A surprise box”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I've being to cipriani enough where I had amazing to-die-for dinners and bad dinners.
This is because:
- they use to have a wonderful chef that left. The new chef does not prepare the old/classis dishes as good as the old one.
- they change the menu a lot. It is very common on 5 star restaurants to do that, but for so, you must be sure that your customers will continue to be happy. The worst thing for me is to go to a place craving the same quality of food you had before, and then, well, it's not.
People don't want to have an average dinner for US$ 500. It makes no sense.
So that are a few reasons why this place does not have a stunning rating on "zagat like" rio de janeiro restaurant rating magazines.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raquelmineira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    107
    63
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
132 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Just ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We ate here the first night of our stay at the Copa Palace. It is a nice restaurant but seemed a little bit like we were eating in an alcove because the restaurant is right off the lobby of the hotel tower. Tried to order a glass of wine but was told by the wine steward that the wines by the glass were "of course" not as good as wine ordered by the bottle. Maybe its different in Brazil than in other countries (like Chile) where you can order a very good wine by the glass. We then ordered a bottle of Carmenere which was ok, not great, as the wine steward had suggested. Overall, I believe there are better restaurant choices in Rio.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The BEST Dinner in RIO and beyond!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

OMG... I not only stayed at this Fabulous Hotel, I ate here.... (Arnold Swartzenager did as well the day I was here)....
Beyond a doubt, the best meal I had in RIO... the atmosphere, the service, the attention was not over bearing but at the same time, never waited more than ten seconds for an attendant when I wanted one.
The Food was BEYOND fabulous...... the atmosphere, lived up to it's name (appropriately named after the Finest Hotel in Venice!)
I can't say enough!! LOVED THIS so much, I may return sooner than not!! (all the way from CA!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MagicalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We had dinner at Cipriani and enjoy every moment.
The food is very tasty and elaborated and properly presented.It has impeccable service. For most of us this is a special occasion restaurant and they deliver it. Yes the room is on the cold side as many guest wear a jacket (it is not mandatory). We had an unforgettable experience at a lower price than at a comparable restaurant in North America.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank babygranpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Isidro, Argentina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We had a fantastic dinner, wine expensive, but food is worth the money
Try the set menu, it includes a tasting of several plates

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Cipriani Restaurant also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Hotel Cipriani Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing