We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay in Rio - if you are on the top floor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terra Brasilis Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terra Brasilis Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Rio - if you are on the top floor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

This hostel is really very nice. We stayed here twice. First time in suite 1, highly recommended! It is a spaceous room with beautiful terrace and the best view ever. Even the view from the bathroom makes you want to stay there. On our second stay this room was unfortunately booked so we got another room, on the lowest floor. Even though it was nice and clean and cutely decorated, we felt a bit as if we were staying in a basement. Also it was less quite because it is located next to the kitchen and the terrace for breakfast. So if you stay there make sure it is on the upper floor, even if it is a room without bathroom, because the shared facilities are fine.
The breakfast was fine, similar to other places we have been to in brazil, with fresh papaya shake, fresh fruite and cake etc.
The guys at reception were all very nice and helpful, a real pleasure.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    29
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
22
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Molde, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed at Terra Brasilis Hostel at the end of our winter(/SA-summer) vacation last year.

All in all it was a good experience, the staff was friendly, the room was lovely, the internet was fast and the view from the (large) terrace is STUNNING!

The only minor drawback was that the hostel was located a bit away from the attractions we were most interested in visiting and there was a bit of a walk up a hill from the nearest supermarket. On the other side the staff arranged for us to be picked up at the hostel for the excursions we went on so that was perfect.

The price for our stay over new years was steep and the hostel did send us a last minute email asking us to confirm that we would be coming or if they could sell the room to someone else - we were on the road by that time and we do consider us lucky to have seen it and had the opportunity to respond in time.

Would consider this hostel again if ever in the area.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SigurdurMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

After a month's stay in Rio and it's different neighborhoods and hostels I would definitely mark "Terra Brasilis" as -Número Uno-. The panoramic view of this place, looking down from Santa Tereza onto Rio, makes you want stay here all day and just watch. This place has managed to find the perfect balance between a romantic paradise for solitary couples and a social haven for the lone backpacker. Its clean, secure, comfortable, great teras kitchen and TV lounge, free wifi and somehow the nicest people end up here, away from the hustle and bustle of Copacabana and Ipanema gringo-turist trap. Even the excellent staff seems to be enjoying themselves amongst friends and are willing to help out with a smile with just about anything. And the location is perfect: Lapa, the place where the real Rio nightlife sizzles is a 5 min walk down the beautiful "Escadarias Selaron" stairs! And to top it all, you also get the most charming smile, every time you walk in, from the gorgeous norwegian receptionist at the desk!... :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed here with my parents at the beginning of July. Staff very friendly and helpful. The Hostel was clean and comfortable. Our room was ensuite and the shower was really good. The decor is quirky and lots of thought put into every detail. We requested extra pillows and blankets and these were provided really quickly. Breakfast was great and served at a good time. The view is amazing day and night!
We stayed in a room that looked onto the main veranda which meant we could hear everything. People were good at keeping to the no noise after 11pm but in the morning one couldn't sleep much past 7:30/8. Otherwise a great stay. I will be coming back... but sleeping in a room upstairs!
p.s. I would definitely visit the parque das ruinas on a clear day the view is beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I highly recommend this hostel! The staff were great and very friendly. I had a few issues getting back to the airport and the staff were extremely helpful in informing me what to do- one of the guys even waited with me at the bus stop. The breakfast served was delicious- a yummy, healthy breakfast of fruit, toast, egg and baked goodies. The bedrooms are cool and the beds are comfortable.There is a lovely terrace with a efficient kitchen which guests can used. The view from the terrace is spectacular, overlooking the city, whilst you're hidden in the quiet hills. Walk into Centro takes approximately 15/20 minutes however there is a bus too nearby. The walk up to the hostel is steep so if arriving with heavy luggage it may be best to take a taxi or bus up.
This is the nicest hostel I have stayed in so I highly recommend it. Hope you enjoy your time as much as I did :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
316 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

The auberge is a bit of a bother to find, but it is worth the effort. Just tell the taxi driver to go to the Parque das Ruinas in Santa Teresa and he will drop you right at the door of the hostel. Although the building is well aged, rooms are spacious and comfortable with lovely wood floors, strange founts in the bathroom and a view of Rio de Janeiro centro that is simply beyond belief. You will be captivated, and won't be able to resist drinking it in along with a cold Bohemia long neck. Prices are reasonable, amenities are adequate, and staff will rub the sleep from their eyes to phone a taxi for you early in the morning for your flight to another city from nearby Santos Dumont airport. Exploring the shops and restaurants of nearby Largo do Guimaraes is easy when you stay at Brasilis, and a short walk downhill leads straight onto the colorful escadaria Selaron. Also don't miss the Parque das Ruinas across the street. It is a most unusual restoration/artistic interpretation of what was once the residence of one of Rio's leading glitterati.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, I think, as they open onto a back balcony as well as a front facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Me and my friend stayed at Terra Brasilis twice. We started our Brazil trip from Rio and we finished it in Rio at Terra Brasilis. We absolutely felt (still feel) like it is our home in that city. The famous terrace is amazing, the location (yes you have to go up the hill, but..) but the view when you stay there is so worth it (also you can always come up with a bus or a taxi). Personally for me Santa Teresa is the most beautiful neighborhood to be at. The personnel is really friendly. I believe I was a good guest, so once even waking up after the breakfast time, I got the last sandwich that was "saved" for someone who works there (I love breakfast, so I appreciated this service extra high :)). Clean rooms, beautiful views, safe and cozy atmosphere, friendly people, good breakfast = super good value for money. See you soon Terra Brasilis.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vitalija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Sante Hostel
Sante Hostel
#28 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Forest Hostel
Rio Forest Hostel
#7 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#2 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Mambembe Hostel
Mambembe Hostel
#42 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Discovery Hostel
#1 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Santa Teresa
Bossa in Rio Hostel
Bossa in Rio Hostel
#10 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra Brasilis Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Brasilis Hostel

Property: Terra Brasilis Hostel
Address: Rua Murtinho Nobre 156 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-050, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 756 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most charming and attractive neighborhood in Rio, Terra Brasilis is just the right choice for art and bohemia lovers. Positioned a little bit above the region, Santa Teresa has incomparable views of the city. The great atmosphere in middle of centenians mansions and art ateliers are welcoming everyday hundreds of visitors and locals by trail! Our hostel is an ancient 19th century house with two large balconies to provide us a stunning view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Terra Brasilis Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Brasilis Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing