We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probablay One of the best hostels I stayed in- Thanks to Amazing Crew”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Walk On The Beach Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probablay One of the best hostels I stayed in- Thanks to Amazing Crew”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was a guest for 8 eight days last April and had an amazing time there.

This was at the end of my 7 Months backpacking trip in South America (so I had a chance to stay at dozens of hostels).
As the name suggests the hostel is really close to the beach (5 minutes walk).
Aside from being clean, serving great breakfast, having an awesome bar and a cleaning crew of
Nice old ladies who work around the clock, what's truly unique about this hostel is the most friendly coolest staff I have ever met in a hostel who creates a homelike feeling.
Stefanie at the reception , Felipe at the Bar, and most of all Dominique the manager will make you feel at home(ask dominique about brazilian Funk parties :) ).
They know the city like only true Cariocas know it (Carioca is the knickname of local residents of Rio).
They will connect you with all that's cool and beautiful in Rio- from parties to secret culinary gems to hidden spots to the best places to buy native musical instruments .

If you happen to be in Rio don't miss out this great hostel !

{ { { {>~o/\o~< } } } j

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    50
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
3
14
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was traveling by myself so having friendly, helpful hostel staff was my main priority. Having read the previous reviews I decided on WOTB - and I was not disappointed!
From the minute you walk in the door, all the staff know your name and make you feel extremely welcome. They gave me advice way beyond "book this tour", and went out of their way to make my experience of Rio one of the best travel experiences I've had. In the end, they gave me so much info I didn't take a tour, but explored with new friends.
Sure, the beds and rooms are simple - if you're looking for luxury comfort, this ain't the place! But who sleeps in Rio?! That said, although there is a bar upstairs, it's not a "party" hostel, so when you need to sleep it was always pretty quiet.
The location is great, too - just a short walk to Copacabana beach, and bus/metro stops. They also have a very rigorous security system, so it is very safe.
I can't say "obrigada" enough to the staff at WOTB!

Room Tip: It's all pretty much the same - 3-tiered bunks are common in Brazil, so don't get freaked ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wzr393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I was mortified when I saw the size of this room and could not believe they thought it was ok to put 6 bodies in there!!! If we hadn't already paid I would have walked out straight away. Triple bunk beds with tiny lockers big enough only for day packs which means big backpacks take up the little existing floor space. Having said all this... The room had aircon, good wifi, staff that try and a very good breakfast... Maybe just avoid the 6 bed dorm!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyY86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Great hostal! Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, perfect location! Showers are noce, have cold and hot water. Rooms have lockers at your disposition, so just bring a lock with you. Without a doubt I recommend it! Always people from all over the world, so it's fun to meet new people and enjoy Rio!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauraidma
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed here for one night in a 12-bed dorm after a mix-up with my pre-booked accommodation. The staff were super lovely and willing to give me a booking on the spot. This was my first ever hostel experience and I was really impressed. The hostel is in a great location not far from Copacabana beach and is very secure. As the other reviews state, the beds were uncomfortable, but it was fine for one night. Good value for money, too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephange12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

great hostel, excellent staff, great location, bar upstairs. what else can i say? if

if you are a social person and want to make the most out of your time in Rio i recommend this amazing hostel. I've stayed in many hostels around the world and many in South America. this is one of the best ever.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloocan, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Most accommodating and super cool hosts and staff. They really know what their guests need and are hell bent on making sure their guests are comfortable and having the grandest time. Perfect location - it's situated in a quiet neighborhood, yet it's just a few blocks from the beach, public transportation, convenience stores, food stations, etc. It doesn't hurt that they serve filling breakfast and refreshing caipirinha (among other drinks) at the bar cum kitchen uptairs. The best hostel I've stayed in so far :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naojisoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Chill On The Beach Hostel
Chill On The Beach Hostel
#86 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
70 reviews
Copacabana
Brazuca's Hostel
Brazuca's Hostel
#65 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
107 reviews
Copacabana
Secreto Hostel
Secreto Hostel
#139 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#4 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
635 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
#21 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
976 reviews
Copacabana
Villa Budget Hostel
Villa Budget Hostel
#45 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walk On The Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walk On The Beach Hostel

Property: Walk On The Beach Hostel
Address: Rua Dias da Rocha 85 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22051-020, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 783 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Walk On The Beach Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a place to call HOME in Rio? You just found it! Great atmosphere, best location near the beach and the best staff you could wish for. We will make you feel at home, help you organise your trip and introduce you to other fellow guests, so you will feel part of a big family. Our multilingual staff will recommend the best tours during daytime and the best parties at night. We are located in a quiet and safe area in Copacabana, and yet just a short walk away from Copacabana and Ipanema beaches. We are also close to shops, restaurants, cafes, bus stops and metro. At Walk On The Beach Hostel you will find low-priced rooms, a guest kitchen, free Wi-Fi, a TV room, chill-out rooms, a living room, a cafe and a bar area. All in a nice, cozy and safe environment where you can relax at the lounge or party at the bar. All our facilities are air-conditioned. Come to Walk On The Beach and be part of our Walk Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Walk On The Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walk On The Beach Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Walk On The Beach Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing