We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my time here and came back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vila Carioca Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 January 2014

It is easy to find and the street is very secure with its own security guards. There are small monkeys in the trees outside and from the end of the road is a glorious view of Cristo Redentor. It is a three-minute walk from Botafogo's metro station, making it only 20 minutes from the beaches at Copacabana and Ipanema, and a five-minute walk from the shopping centre, across the road from which is a bus service that takes an hour to the main international airport.
The rooms have the fans going non-stop to keep cool, so you can sleep really well in spite of the rooms being very crowded, but I didn't find that a problem, and nothing went missing (there are also lockers). A bit disgusting was that my mattress clearly had a dried diarrhoea stain, but this is a hostel and they do provide sheets.
The staff are friendly and will chat with you. They speak very good English and are happy to arrange trips for you or do extras like order food to be delivered.
I didn't think much of the breakfast because I'm used to cakes and mousse for dessert, but there is a supermarket nearby.
The WiFi works perfectly throughout the place, and there is a large communal area with TV that plays either news or music throughout the day (not that you should be in a hostel during the day when you're in Rio!).
I must commend the hostel too. On New Year's Eve, the whole neighbourhood apparently lost water. The hostel provided us each with bottles of water so that we could at least have a shower. The only problems otherwise with the toilet facilities are fellow guests who don't flush or don't use the facilities courteously, as the bathrooms themselves are cleaned each morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iliterati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
There are newer reviews for Vila Carioca Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights. Amazing location, staff, facilities and, above all, amazing price for the quality. If you're looking for a cheap bed in a nice hostel in a great Rio neighbourhood, this is it. Toilets, kitchen and dorms are clean, staff is helpful and really friendly. The buffet breakfast is also very good. As the hostel is situated in the end of an alley, it's also quiet so you can sleep without your earplugs (provided your roommates are not heavy snorers!). It is clearly one of the best values in the area. Be sure to watch for monkeys in the trees in front of the hostel! It comes strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancoisDansereau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I have been quite annoying but they always gave me what I needed.
Big place, perfect to meet very nice people if you don't want to be alone in this big city !
It is a very clean hostel and almost everybody speaks english, which are qualities not so usual in Rio.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great hostel, friendly staff, well situated near Botafogo metro station and a lovely atmosphere. The breakfast was also delicious. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling alone or in a group as the atmosphere is friendly and inclusive.

Room Tip: Choose a smaller dorm for a better shower and nights sleep.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKingaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

since the RESERVATION, everything goes wrong; we ask to book for 5 nights, they says it's ok, then tell us that we have to change room for 2 nights, then tell us they only have availabilities for 3 nights!
the ARRIVAL. staff is not greetful, barely polite! but wathever! people who prepare the breakfast are just the most antipathic we met in brazil, they we're only nice with locals.
the ROOM was not clean, we found a lots of hairs in the shower, in the bathroom, in the bed! the door of the bathroom was broken (apparently since a long time!) and the piece of the door was lying against the wall.
on the third day, there was no more cold water in any tap of the guest-house (they says that's everywhere in rio!). we had to take a shower with a bucket of cold water because the hot water was just burning water. (they were not enough buckets for everyone!).
As there is no water, it was impossible to use the flush in any toilets, I let you imagine the smell...
the INFORMATION: most of the information they give you are wrong (we take twice the wrong bus following their information).
PROFESSIONALISM: we book with them the transfer to go in Ilha GRande on the first day, they told us they will make the reservation. we came back the last day to check if that was done and ok, and we discover that they have forgotten to make it!!!
our last day at breakfast time, we ask (cause we were leaving the day after before breakfast time) if we need to save food for the following morning or if they can make an earlier breakfast. They say ok and we reconfirm it on the evening.
we wake up to take the breakfast the day of our departure, nothing was ready, people who made the breakfast were telling us the breakfast was later and they don't want to prepare something for us, we complain at the reception, she tell them to prepare for us, they say ok, and then hide the cake who was ready and just seat to take their coffee!! incredible!!!
for 150 reais a night, so 50 euros, it is a robbery!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roundtrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Hats off for this hostel!

They are truly amazing.

The breakfast wins all prices, some mornings you even get home baked cakes, as well as cereal, bread, cheese, ham, coffee, cakes, fruit, the list goes on.

They also keep pet monkeys outside the door which they feed with bananas every morning. A real Kodak Moment.

The rooms are large and you can sleep up to 30 people in one dorm, so bring a high tolerance threashold. However, I found people very respectful and quiet. The common room is also so great that people never spend much time in the rooms. Extra credit for the lockers that are provided cost free.

The most credit goes to the staff in this place though! They are friendly, helpful, energetic and keen on showing their guests a good time. They brought some of us out to a favela party one night, and also helped us finding the cheapest way to do some of the tourist attractions.

Really, I cannot say how fun it was to stay in this hostel. If you want to make friends, have a good time, sleep well and have your effects kept safe while you are in Rio, stay in this hostel!

Room Tip: Ask for the bottom part of a bunk bed.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Couldn't be happier with this hostel! It's immaculate, in an excellent location (botofogo metro is just 3 minutes walk away) and the staff are very helpful, speaking excellent English. The shared spaces and rooms are rustically decorated and full of character. We stayed in a private room which we booked in advance and also ended up staying in a 15 bed dorm as we wanted to extend our stay, both were excellent. Lots if showers, great breakfast, good WiFi connection... what more could you want!?

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikzstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Botafogo
Injoy Hostel
Injoy Hostel
#14 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
260 reviews
Botafogo
BotaHostel
BotaHostel
#22 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
82 reviews
Santa Teresa
Beers Five Hostel House
Beers Five Hostel House
#17 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Babilonia Rio Hostel
#15 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
146 reviews
Botafogo
Gaia Comfort Hostel
Gaia Comfort Hostel
#12 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
145 reviews
Botafogo
Hospedaria Rio
Hospedaria Rio
#60 of 815 in Rio de Janeiro
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Carioca Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Carioca Hostel

Address: Rua Estacio Coimbra 84 | Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 815 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £11 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vila Carioca Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Carioca Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Carioca Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing