We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations”
Review of The Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Villa
Ranked #180 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I alrrady expected the hotel to be great by the pictures on the website, but I was pleased to get there and find out they have really nice service from their employees. A very warmful weekend experience. Their restaurant is also very good and a good choice in case you feel like having dinner to a great view of the beautiful Rio de Janeiro.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gustavo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Having read the mixed reviews, I wasn't quite sure what to expect from Rio 180, but our overall experience was hugely positive. As others have said, the view is quite breathtaking - especially enjoyable over the excellent breakfast. As detailed on their website, there are 3 different standards of rooms - our one was excellent, with floor-to-ceiling windows allowing us to get the full view (from Sugarloaf to Christ). All the staff were really friendly, with extra-special mention going to George, who was the most welcoming person we encountered in South America. I would love to give this hotel 5 stars, but a couple of drawbacks were some construction taking place (about which the staff were very apologetic), and the fact that light-sleepers will notice the planes flying overhead.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boxman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo_Bulgarini, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Rio180° Boutique Hotel.

Your feedback is very important for us,
and is a great satisfaction for the whole staff, and for me.

We hope to have you here again, to enjoy your stay.

Best Regards,

Filippo Bulgarini d'Elci
Operations Manager - Rio180° Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Rio 180 is a nice boutique hotel with a great pool, nice breakfast and breathtaking views. We thought the value was just ok, but the staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay. Located in a nice little residential zone of the city, we thought the rooms were quaint and the stay overall very positive.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank eherzog888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo_Bulgarini, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Rio180° Boutique Hotel.

Your feedback is very important for us,
and is a great satisfaction for the whole staff, and for me.

We hope to have you here again, to enjoy your stay.

Best Regards,

Filippo Bulgarini d'Elci
Operations Manager - Rio180° Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The views must be some of the best in Rio - Guanabara Bay, Corcovado, and jungle covered hill sides. The staff are all extremely helpful and ready to advise on how to get the best experience of Rio. Neighbourhood is pleasant and fairly quiet. On the downside you need to get a taxi or bus to reach downtown. Buses take about 15 to 20 minutes when traffic is ok to get to the central Lapa area and you may have to wait a while for the bus. Taxis are not parked near the hotel - they have to be called. The pool was a reasonable size but so cold it was unuseable - although that was late afternoon so it may be warmer earlier on. Overall though a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Geoffkav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo_Bulgarini, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Rio180° Boutique Hotel.

Your feedback is very important for us,
and is a great satisfaction for the whole staff, and for me.

We hope to have you here again, to enjoy your stay.

Best Regards,

Filippo Bulgarini d'Elci
Operations Manager - Rio180° Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Rio 180 Boutique Hotel is an amazing place to visit Rio in a different way. It is charming, quiet, relaxing and with very nice facilities and staff. It is located in a residential area of the city, where you can enjoy the relax and romantic atmosfere of the hotel.

PROS:
- Amazing view from the rooms, swimming pool and restaurant to the Guanabara Bay, The Sugar Loaf and Corcovado!
- Very friendly staff. I do speak Portuguese, so I haven't tested their English knowledge.
- Large and very well decorated suite, equipped with a large bed, a Jacuzzi and a mini-bar (Pao de Acucar suite).
- Very romantic place! I was there for just one night with my boyfriend and we’d like to stay longer!
- There is a small restaurant with very nice food, where the breakfast is served. Breakfast was very good, with fresh fruits, fresh juice fruits, yogurt, granola, bread, ham, two types of cheese, butter, jelly… (typical Brazilian breakfast!) You can also have dinner at the restaurant, which was an awesome experience since the food was very good and the weather was great!

CONS:
- Not a big deal, but wine list in the restaurant was very limited. If you are very pick, I suggest you to bring your own wine!
- It is not easy to call a cab to pick you up there. The hotel suggests a private driver, what is ok, but it is overpriced comparing to a regular cab and the maintenance of the vehicle. In the way back it is quite easy to catch a cab to drive you there.
- It was not a problem to me at all, but if you would like to stay close to the beach or in a hotel where you can walk around, this may not be your place.

MY TIP: Save some time to enjoy the facilities of the hotel: the pool with an amazing view of the Sugar Loaf, Corcovado and the Guanabara Bay; the nice restaurant; the relaxing and well decorated suites.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the facilities in your room, make sure it has a view to the Sugar Loaf and Corc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tays O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo_Bulgarini, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Rio180° Boutique Hotel.

Your feedback is very important for us,
and is a great satisfaction for the whole staff, and for me.

We hope to have you here again, to enjoy your stay.

Best Regards,

Filippo Bulgarini d'Elci
Operations Manager - Rio180° Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed at 180 hotel for 2 nights and that's enough. The views are wonderful, especially from the terrace where delicious breakfast is served. The rooms though are tired and need renovation. When we entered our room (Copacabana), it smelled and was humid.The design is very nice, but the shower was leaking ( a lot of water on the floor) and no hot water in the great 2 person "hot" tub.
The hotel claims to be in Santa Theresa, it is not, it is the other side of the hill. We walked to town, about 40min, but you can't do this at night, it's too dangerous, so taxis are a must. We went out to Lapa Saturday night and no taxi wanted to drive us back there. We had to ask the police for help. When we called the hotel, there was no one at the hotel reception desk to help. That to me is totally unacceptable. I believe the owner wasn't present when we were there.
Too expensive compared to other hotels in Rio.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul-Muriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo_Bulgarini, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Rio180° Boutique Hotel.

Your feedback is very important for us, and we want to apologize for all the inconveniences
and problems you experienced at the Rio180° Boutique Hotel.

The problem with the leaking shower has been solved, and the hot water in the jacuzzi is working properly...

We're sorry for your bad experience with the taxi, but here in Rio this is a common problem...
We've no excuse about the fact that anybody at the front desk answered the phone.

We really hope you will come back to the Rio180° Boutique Hotel, to see and enjoy our renovation.

Best Regards,

Filippo Bulgarini d'Elci
Operations Manager - Rio180° Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

It was one of the most enjoyable says in my life. The view, as implied by 180 degree Botique encompassed Christ the Redeemer, Sugarloaf, and Cobacobana Beach. It was a short taxi ride to beaches and shopping, however, at days end it was quite and peaceful and a snug harbor for weary souls.

The day starts with breakfast in the lounge at the top of the hotel. The first day the coffee was a diffent taste than what we were used to. The following days we were going back for more. The owner was omnipresent and is conversant in English. The rest of people were very attentive and friendly. They handled our every want and need. Our hearts were heavy when we had to leave our new friends. We are trying to figure out how to return.

I never write reviews for anyone but this one experience in my life that I have to share with people of the world. Bruce A. Holmes, Maricopa, California, USA.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell they were all excellent. There was a spa/hot tub in our room. The view was e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filippo_Bulgarini, Gerente at The Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Rio180° Boutique Hotel.

Your feedback is very important for us,
and is a great satisfaction for the whole staff, and for me.

We hope to have you here again, to enjoy your stay.

Best Regards,

Filippo Bulgarini d'Elci
Operations Manager - Rio180° Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel
#220 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
88 reviews
Santa Teresa
Vila Santa Teresa Hotel & Spa
Vila Santa Teresa Hotel & Spa
#173 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
14 reviews
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#7 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
YOO2 Rio de Janeiro
#12 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
476 reviews
Leblon
Marina All Suites
Marina All Suites
#110 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
449 reviews
Mengo Palace Hotel
#145 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa

Address: Rua Doutor Julio Otoni 254, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-400, Brazil (Formerly Rio 180º Suites & Cuisine)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £45 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rio, in the historic and bohemian town of Santa Teresa, The Villa is an 11-room boutique hotel with a hilltop position and a million dollar view! From the hotels main terrace, guests can take in the sweeping vista over the Guanabara Bay and the green hills of Santa Teresa, while enjoying the view of world famous art deco statue Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf Mountain. The hotel is only 15 minutes away from the beaches of Copacabana and Ipanema, the samba clubs of Lapa and the Sambodromo stadium. Described by those in the know as the South American Montmartre and one of Rio's hidden gems, Santa Teresa is packed with local artists, galleries, cafes and some of Rio's best small restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio 180
The Villa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing