We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming in almost every respect”
Review of Roberta Sudbrack - CLOSED

Roberta Sudbrack
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Lagoa
Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Underwhelming in almost every respect”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was disappointed by this restaurant. Most dishes were OK, some excellent (I particularly liked the beef diaphragm), and one was almost airline-quality. The desert of Brazilian sweets was unimaginative and no better than what you can find in any small town fair. The wine list is extensive with good options at different price points, but the drinks menu is very limited. Also, annoyingly for a restaurant of this calibre, they do not have lemon slices! (I had asked for one for my sparkling water.)

The service is good and friendly, but not as attentive as you would expect from a restaurant that charges Roberta Sudbrack's prices. Ditto, with regards the décor and general ambiance.

Overall, there are much better high-end restaurants in Rio. This one is far from offering value for money and I would not return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank EmilRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    77
    74
    55
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dissappointing in every way.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Dined here as a group of 3, we opted for the 3 course menu. The first starter arrived one hour(!) after we decided on our menu, the dishes that followed also took around 40 minutes between each. This glacial pace alone along with the slow service are enough to make what could be a great dinner boring.
As for the food it was nothing special, well prepared yet simple and boring, no wows will be had at this restaurant.
The modern dinner scene is very weak if this is one of the 100 best restaurants in the world. ( It isn't, there are probably 100 better ones in new york city alone.)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Morbidius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I don't understand why this restaurant has 3 stars...
The food is ok, but nothing amazing, so it's really not worth what they charge you for.
I will not return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank flavinha_br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great dinner in Rio”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

After arriving 25 min late for our reservation due to traffic they welcomed us warmly into the restaurant. We chose the five course tasting menu which was very good. The main course was steak. Note you only have a choice of starter so if the main isn't something you like I could see it being an issue. They had an expansive wine menu to choose from. Overall we really enjoyed our meal here and the woman who welcomed us (didn't catch her name) was very sweet and helpful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holly620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I had a great dinner experience there with the tasting menu. I had the best lamb ever and the whole dinner experience was superb. We had a chance to sit really close to the kitchen watching chef Roberta on action and that was a plus.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank fernandabuonafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roberta Sudbrack also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing