We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best ways to eat as a Carioca”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Galitos Grill

Galitos Grill
Ranked #561 of 13,625 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Ipanema
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
150 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of the best ways to eat as a Carioca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very informal place where they offer tasty and perfectly cooked galitos, in different recipes. Lively area, cheap prices, I really like this place!! My suggestion is to go there at lunch on saturday or sunday, to be mixed with all brazilian families that give this place a very special feeling.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry-Janko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    107
    47
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Galeto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Wonderful restaurant not far from the beach at Ipanema. I have been going here for 20+years. Galetos are small but tasty. I recommend you order one per hungry person.

Draft beers (chopps) are ice cold and capirnhas are wonderful. Order the French fires (fritas) and white rice (arroz branco). Most times the place is packed - lunch and dinner. I usually get a table on the street, but I have eaten at the bar. There is a Portuguese/English menu and the order is taken electronically. Service is very fast and I have never had a problem.

Bathroom is clean.

My family and I usually get dessert at another place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John_07006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great chicken, but not my favorite "galeto" in Rio”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Chicken was good, portions were not large (both galetos and main dishes). There are several other galeto restaurants in Rio which serve better and larger portions. I'm not saying it was bad, but I guess the high rating it gets is due to the fact that the area is sort of expensive and this restaurant offers less expensive meals. If you want to try something better, Copacabana has better options for that style of food. Last but not least, chicken was, indeed, delicious.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnFromBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“For the money it can't be beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

After a day at the beach you want a simple supper with a good drink. This place fits the bill. Buzzy atmosphere and outdoor tables feels exciting. The succulent grilled chicken with chips or broccoli rice (I know, sounds odd but my favourite) is really good and you will be sucking the bones for extra morsels. They have excellent Caiprinhas to wash them down with too. Have been here several times and will be back next time I'm in Rio.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Extremely tender chicken makes the dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This relaxed place certainly has character. And the waiters are friendly and attentive. The Caipirinhas have a nice balance between a strong alcohol taste, lime, and sugar. And the chicken is fantastic, which is enough for me. The rest of the dish is average, but I am not too bothered by that after another Caipirinha.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank makkipakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galitos Grill also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Galitos Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing