We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rica Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #54 of 331 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good budget hotel”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I thought this hotel was an excellent budget hotel. The rooms were very clean, the staff were very helpful, the location is central, and the breakfast was huge! It was a little strange having the breakfast sent to the room (with no table), but there was plenty of food and the hotel itself is well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cement2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    101
    81
    21
    14
See reviews for
60
57
47
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
202 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Quit close to the center, but in outworn surroundings. No breakfast hall, but 10 minutes after calling the reception, breakfast was served in the room - where there was no table nor chair. During the carnival this is probably one of the cheaper hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohusby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

After reading some of the reviews about this hotel, I was a bit nervous about being there. However, my experience was great. The daily breakfast was delicious and made the start of each day special. I was there with my friend. We were in Rio de Janeiro for the Carnaval Festivities and some site seeing. We felt very safe in the hotel. Yes, there are bars around the area because it is Lapa and that's where the main night time entertainment is. It was also loud, but the air conditioning in the rooms drowns out a lot of the noise from the streets, but it was most loud during the Carnaval events and not so loud when Ash Wednesday came. The staff was friendly and helpful and we practiced our Portuguese with them. They knew the area and looked out for us in terms of making sure we didn't take our valuables out in public or walk without protecting out belongings. All of Rio can be unsafe and has pick-pockets, but if you're careful and remain aware, you'll be fine. I love that fact that this hotel is close to ATMs, two subway stations (Gloria and Cinelandia), and many small and wonderful restaurants. The power in the rooms is US 110, so your electronic will work fine. We brought transformers and realized that they were unnecessary. There are no three prong outlets, so bring an adapter or break off your ground from the plug. This hotel has a lobby computer area with two computers and a printer accessible 24/7. The WiFi is free and depending upon your room location in the hotel, works at solid strength 90% of the time. The room had a small refrigerator where we kept our bottled water and Matte Leao (Mate Iced Tea - my favorite beverage there). Our bathroom sink got stopped up, but after we let them know, they fixed it immediately. The office has a safe to keep your passports or other valuables, which we found useful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank recorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I spent one night at the hotel, because I thought the location would be great to go to the US Embassy the next day. I took a cab at the airport, and the driver didn't know where the hotel was located. After a call, he took me to some narrow streets and I got to the hotel. The place is horrible, it seems like a motel. And it's important to say that a motel in Brazil have a different concept of the rest of the world: it's a place where people go to have sex. There was a big mirror on the ceiling. I was afraid of going out to have something to eat, since there were a lot of bars and people dancing and screaming outside. I could hear music, people screaming and breaking bottles all the night. I was on the first floor and the window was broken, I was afraid that someone could get into the room! At the morning, I decided to leave the hotel directly to my appointment at the Embassy (I had to be there at the beggining at the afternoon, but I was afraid to leave my stuff at the hotel to go to somewhere, and the surrounding area was so poor that I was also afraid that someone could robber me at the streets). I will not recommend. Ah, and the breakfast is served in the room (so strange?!). The unique positive thing is that I could arrive at the US Embassy by a short walk (10-15 min).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poly_Rafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schleswig, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Oh.Italianos are what a difficult people.This hotel is in the commercial center of Rio. Very near to metro station also near to Santos Dumont Airport (around ten minutes by taxi) which is plus.Though sorroundings are bit iffy but, not too dangerous.I will not recommend to be out after 10pm.Clean ensiute-rooms are small but not too small and all the furnishings are italiano style.Beds are comfy, bathroom was decent.A/C is working enough and there was a fridge and sometimes can be noisy related with the street.Breakfast is nice and filling,only coming to your room.Get ready for the never smiling italiano management is everytime, everywhere and do not expect a friendly hospitalty.I think their policy is looking like angry but, the hotel is O.K. and rooms are in western style, leave the management alone.In my opinion the reception will make wonders, If they can speak english but only the famous manager can speak.Though Villa Rica is not looking an family or holiday hotel but,an alternative who is looking to near to city center or airport SDU and not far from the famous beaches by metro and bus.They are giving free internet/pc for the guests.Worth to go, If you can find a budget price, (decolar.com) will be good idea.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
13 Thank Engelhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Hotel Vina Del Mar
#172 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
214 reviews
Centro
Hotel Galicia
Hotel Galicia
#262 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
123 reviews
Hotel Carioca
#155 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pompeu
#226 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
121 reviews
Gamboa Rio Hotel
#175 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
81 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Ref House Barra da Tijuca
Ref House Barra da Tijuca
#27 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rica Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rica Rio de Janeiro

Property: Hotel Villa Rica Rio de Janeiro
Address: Rua Conde Lages 2, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-080, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Rica Rio de Janeiro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Rica fica na Lapa, bairro boemio carioca, e oferece acomodacoes simples, com acesso gratuito a internet sem fio (Wi-Fi). Ele esta localizado ao lado da Estacao de Metro da Gloria e a 2 km do Aeroporto Santos Dumont.Os quartos em Vila Rica tem moveis simples, com temas em cor verde-escuro e banheiro em granito marrom. Todos possuem com ar-condicionado, frigobar e banheiro.Quanto a entretenimento, voce pode contar com muito samba no Sambodromo, que fica a 2 km do Villa Rica. Alem disso,o hotel fica a 700 m do Museu de Arte Moderna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Rica Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Rica Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing