We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a joke!”
Review of Mengo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mengo Palace Hotel
Ranked #142 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
432 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“What a joke!”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Lousy hotel, horrible rooms and unpleasant staff. And rooms over 90 euros per night.
This is how ridiculous the hotel prices are in Rio.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlyingTuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    141
    72
    13
    12
See reviews for
72
63
25
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This is not a great hotel, but it's OK for the price. Keep in mind that some rooms are pretty good, others are not good at all. I stayed in one of the rooms facing the back. The room was big, fairly well kept, good AC, a 32" flat screen TV, a comfortable queen size bed, good bathroom. As usual in Brazil, there is a shower, but no bathtub. The decor is dated, but the room is in good shape and very clean. A friend of mine stayed in one of those dismal rooms facing the side wall and asked to move the next day to a better room. If possible, ask for the room numbers ending in 4, 5 or 6. They face the back, are brightly lit and very quiet.
As for the rest of the hotel, there's not much. The dining room is very small, the food is passable, room service was quick, and the breakfast buffet is a bit below what you'll find in most hotels of this class in Brazil. The location is OK, there are many bars and restaurants within walking distance (just be extra careful at night); there's also a metro station nearby. The staff was very helpful. Overall, my experience at the Mengo Palace Hotel was good. I think the hotel is a bit overpriced, but hey, summer in Rio is like that: all hotels are kind of expensive, and this one was in the mid- to low-price range.

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in 4, 5 or 6 are sunny and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

the positives: good location.. around a 5 min walk form nearest beach and metro station (catete),,, lots of places to eat and shop nearby,,,very helpful staff... big bathrooms, clean towels,, a decent breakfast,,

We had some trouble checking in... given a wrong roon 3 single beds (had booked a luxury double)...then the AC didnt work and around midnight had to change our room to a smaller one..

but the behaviour of staff gives you a good feeling,, they help you arrange tours,,, and go to lengths to make your stay comfortable,,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atulwalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I was in Rio to work for 3 days and the travel agency booked this hotel for me. After a day of meetings, expecting to lay down and rest, they put me in a room with NO WINDOWS. That´s it, no windows, at all. There was a whole on the wall, there was a glass windown on it, but instead of a view to the street or something, there was a pit hole, with all the gas heater installed over this pit.
Rooms are so small the blankets are old and dirty. If you are alergic, run away.
I called the front desk asking for a room with a window and they said that only on the next day they could give me one.
I couldn´t stay and moved to Windsor Florida to sleep for one night.
If you are claustrofobic or alergic, run away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fabi076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We stayed at the Mengo Palace Hotel for the New Years celebration for 2011. The accommodation prices in Rio are over inflated during this period. This hotel promised the best value, however, one thing to bear in mind - some of the double rooms do not have any natural daylight, or windows looking out to the outside. (A nightmare for anyone who suffers from any form of claustrophobia) And in the heat of tropical Rio where fresh air is a necessity, a room with no natural ventilation is very unpleasant. To counteract this we had the air conditioning unit on throughout the night, which was noisy, and would occasionally send icy blasts. Whenever we'd ask the staff to change rooms, we'd be fobbed off. Both my partner and me ended up getting colds and chest infections, due to the lack of fresh air. The location of the hotel is a 30mins bus ride or subway ride to the beaches of Ipanema or Copacabana. The breakfast buffet is hearty and generous but the dining room is minuscule. If you want bargain basement prices with subterranean style rooms then the Mengo Palace Hotel is for you and do yourself a favour and request a room with window. However, when I return to Rio I won't be checking in to this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RheRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Mengo Palace was great. My husband and I chose Mengo Palace based on other reviews on Trip Advisor and stayed there for 4 nights. The service was excellent, they offer free breakfast and rooms were clean and quiet. As soon as we got there they found someone who spoke English to assist us and while we were waiting for our room to be cleaned, the front desk staff noticed that we were tired so just gave us a free upgrade to a suite with a hot tub. The bus boy was also very friendly and on our last day in Brazil kept our bags for us after we checked out so that we can enjoy Rio. When we were leaving Rio the staff made sure we were not charged more for a cab ride and came to spoke to the cabbie and wrote on a paper how much we should pay and not to pay extra or tip.

The rooms were very clean and amazingly spacious. It was also very quiet and the free breakfast was fresh and there were a good offering of diverse fruits and pastries. They offered good advice on travel within Rio and restaurant selections. We liked it so much that we initially only booked two nights and went to Igassu Falls on the third day and wanted to stay in another part of town but decided to stay at Mengo at the end when we told the staff this they made sure to book us for our last two nights at the same rate I found on-line instead of their listed price.

They are located 5 minutes walk from Catete subway station and 10 from Largo do Machado. Abundant restaurants are within walking distance. Copacobana is 3-4 subway stops away took us 15 to 20 minutes to get there by train. Central and lapa is also 3-4 stops from Largo do Machado. You can also catch the 107 bus two blocks away for the Christ the Redeemer.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcvcarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2010

The blanks in the room was stinks and i guess that it never has been washed or changed because this was very dirty ,dark and a lot dirst!!!I`m alergic so i had horrible night on this hotel.The reception is ok and the food is normal,not delicious and not to bad.The shower haven`t HOT WATER so you have to deal in taking COLD shower!!I don`t recommend this place for someone which is refined and which have good financial condition in paying something better than that and for the same price,It`s to expensive for the quality!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Flamengo
Hotel Rondonia Palace
Hotel Rondonia Palace
#159 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
158 reviews
Hotel Regina
#40 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
730 reviews
Elegance Praia Hotel
#43 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Novo Mundo
#94 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
648 reviews
Scorial Rio Hotel
#69 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
403 reviews
Flamengo
Argentina Hotel
Argentina Hotel
#135 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mengo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mengo Palace Hotel

Property: Mengo Palace Hotel
Address: Rua Correa Dutra 31, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22210-050, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mengo Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mengo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mengo Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing