We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”
Review of B&B Yaya Rio Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Yaya Rio Hotel
Ranked #154 of 343 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We stayed in the Yaya hotel for two nights, at the end of our holiday. The previous nights we had stayed closer to the beach, so this was the only..problem. About 4 blocks from the beach is close enough though, near the main street in Ipanema, restaurants and shops, not bad. Internet access, but not free. No tv in the room, but a shared tv lounge. Shared bathrooms, not an issue. Good value, but a few ants running arround our room's floor. The rooms have a little terrace, and aircon. Ok for 2 nights, not sure I would stay longer, if I did, it would only be for the price, good value.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2009

Yaya is very central for everything in Ipanema, the section of beach at the end of Rua Farme de Amoedo is very nice and safe. Go see ANA on the beach for your umbrellas etc.

We (2 guys 2 girls) really liked Yaya, yes it is basic and you share bathrooms, but it is very good value for money. Sometimes the staff had communication problems with each other, not passing on information to different staff taking over shifts, but all in all where very helpful and friendly.

Safety has become an issue for travelers to Brazil in general. But me and my friends felt very safe at all times and didn't have any problems, whether that was luck, common sense,? combination of both !!

We would definitely stay there again. and can't wait for another chance to visit Brazil.

One more tip, try and get as much small notes as possible for the beach and markets as changing a 50 or even a 20 real note became an issue at times.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Yaya is a good deal for Ipanema. It is pretty clean too (I saw a place for the same price and it was not nearly as clean). It doesn't have much charm, and the rooms are bland. Of course, who wants to just sit in the room. The service is terrible, though, and one guy in particular consistently had his ear phones in and made it seem as though we were interrupting him when we asked for help.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank corbitt26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Well what can I say, a pleasant surprise. After deciding to stay in Ipanema I checked out a few hotels, only to find the majority too expensive for my stay.

I came across Yaya through Tripadvisor although found no reviews and so did some research of my own before staying here. I made a good decision given how cheap it was and the fact that all I needed was somewhere modern and decent enough to rest my head whilst exploring Rio.

Yaya is more of a small guesthouse that felt more like a family home with a TV room and lounge. During my stay there were a number of different guests who stayed which made the place all the more interesting.

The location was great with the beach only 5 minutes walk away, a number of cafe's and restaurants just round the corner and a taxi rank just outside the hotel. My bed was made daily along with the room being cleaned and the area was also very safe amongst other residential properties.

The staff were very friendly most noticeably Dan, Marcella and Roberta. For any females considering staying here, Dan has been known as the ladies man so be careful not to be taken in by his charms and his (apparent) good looks :-)! Guys, Marcella and Roberta are two very nice and pleasant ladies!

The only downsides of this place were the shared bathrooms (sometimes I had to queue), the cold shower and the small size of some of the rooms (I was lucky with my room). They also had problems accepting my MasterCard.

If you're a traveller, on a budget, or a couple who are not fussed about all the luxuries of a normal hotel then this place is for you.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kwadwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabete d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thaisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#77 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,210 reviews
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#78 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
493 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,792 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#90 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,595 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Yaya Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Yaya Rio Hotel

Address: Rua Farme de Amoedo 135, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-020, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Yaya Rio Hotel
B&B Yaya Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing