We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the special plate you can take home”
Review of Sawasdee Bistro

Sawasdee Bistro
Ranked #135 of 13,745 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Leblon
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Get the special plate you can take home”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Sawasdee is a member of the restaurants of Boa Lembrança. Order the special plate (it was a shrimp curry while we were there) and take home a fabulous souvenir plate. Try a couple appetizers and share a main dish which are big enough for two. We received prompt and polite service during our visit. Highly recommended while in Buzios.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    247
    77
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Thai food in cozy bistro”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Nice place to go if you're in the mood for some Thai food. The mussaman curry could've been spiced up a bit, but nonetheless was very nice. I had the grilled duck breast with tamarind sauce, sauce was a little too overwhelming for me but, meat was good. I didnt take dessert but the banana flambee with icecream looked very appealing at the table next to us!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Yummy curry”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I had chicken with curry and it was a simple yet wonderful dish! Second time i went we just had appetizers and it was also great!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank evyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food with Brazilian influence”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was one of the best meals I had on my week long stay in Brazil. Our appetizers, main dishes and dessert were wonderful. Excellent service and I will return on my next trip. Great atmosphere on a lively street in Leblon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Big disapointment. Go somewhere else”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

The food did just not taste good. Had several plates, but no one did stand out and a two where really horrible one was the mussels that was recommended as fesh was cleary not fresh at all. The other was a pork meet . Not worth it. Whant good thai in Rio go to Nam Thai.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristianDelRioOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sawasdee Bistro also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Sawasdee Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing