We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Transamerica Prime Barra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Transamerica Prime Barra
Ranked #117 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stay at this hotel usually for one or two nights a month. Have always found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The rooms with balcony overlooking the pool area are exceptional, good sized rooms with TV and free wireless internet. all rooms have a small mini bar with a good selection of cold drinks and beer.
The hotel boasts a small gym as well as sauna and steam room located on ground floor. Due to the erratic times I arrive ], I usually make use of room service and always find it to be quick and efficient. All in all a good hotel for short term stay, situated in a nice area but a bit far from any nightlife.
Happy to stay ther when visiting Barra.

Room Tip: try and get a room with a balcony, front desk are always happy to assist if one is available...great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieBrigid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Mr. Charlie,
We would like to thank you for your comments and compliments, especially regarding the hospitality and friendliness of our team. We are pleased to welcome you as a regular guest and to know that you are pleased with our facilities and services.
We hope that each stay with us is an improvement on the last in meeting all your needs and expectations.
You can always count on us and we hope to see you again soon!

Customer Relations – Transamérica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    277
    139
    50
    26
See reviews for
87
100
24
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Given some of the abysml reviews, and the fact it was the ONLY hotel available in Rio when we booked, we had very low expectations - needlessly so!

PROS
1. Location - it's outside central Rio (taxi to Copacabana is 15 minutes and USD $15-20), BUT it's also a short walk to one of the nicest beaches in Rio - Barra da Tijuca, a much nicer beach than Ipanema, Leblon, etc. And Barra is a safe area!
2. Value - we paid £140/night for a suite on New Year's - an absolute bargain for Rio standards!
3. Services - staff tried to be helpful, especially Patrick.
4. Pool - very nice! Great poolside drinks!
5. Beach - right on top of a lovely beach with plenty of beachside kiosks.
6. Rooms - well-equipped, nice beds, and unsurpassed water pressure.

CONS
1. Distance from the centre - but Rio is a big city, and Barra da Tijuca is a lovely, safe area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
The Transamérica Hospitality Group would like to thank you for your comments. We are pleased to receive such detailed feedback expressing your opinion and the experience you had during your stay with us. We are glad to receive our clients’ opinions, which are very important to us, especially when they pay compliments to the hospitality, infrastructure and quality of our services. You can always count on us, and we hope to welcome you next time you are in Rio de Janeiro.

Customer Relations – Transamérica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
184 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

Segunda vez que me hospedo neste hotel. Desta vez ocorreu um problema: havia um vazamento em meu banheiro. Ao sair pela manhã pedi a manutenção que foi feita, no entanto ao retornar às 00h30 encontrei o quarto sem ser arrumado e sem toalhas para tomar banho. Enviaram um funcionário que arrumou tudo no momento.
It is the second time that I stay in this hotel. This time I've had some trouble: there was a leakage in the bathroom. When I left the hotel in the morning I've asked to fix it, fact that was currently solved. But when I returned to my room at 12:30am I found that the room wasn't cleaned and without towels. They sent an employee that solved the problem.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank f_r_mattos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Google Translation
Prezado Sr.,
O Transamérica Hospitality Group agradece o comentário e pede desculpas pelo transtorno.
Houve uma falha de comunicação, uma vez que a limpeza e arrumação devem ter passado no momento em que a manutenção estava operando no apartamento, o que ocasionou a ausência do serviço.
Lamentamos não termos correspondido a todas as expectativas desta estada e esperamos que os pontos positivos lhe permitam retornar a se hospedar conosco nas próximas oportunidades.

Relacionamento - Transamérica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Used to stay here alot as its near the heliport , came back again rescently and its still the same.

Rooms are OK but not great , resturant Ok , pools pretty good.

Check in and check out can be slow .

It is safe and well looked after by the staff and there is a taxi stand by the front desk. There is also a little mini mail only a couple of hundred meters from the entrance to the right

You can get to the beach from here as well by using one of the little ferries across the little river.

If you have to stay in this part of Barra its not the worst. Not to bad to the airport or into Ipenema either.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Normthefisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know that we were able to offer you a good stay and that you are pleased with our location.

We are continuously working on improvements in order that we may offer the best services, and we are pleased that you appreciated the hospitality of our staff despite the delay you experienced on this occasion.
We hope you will stay with us once again when you next have the opportunity.

Relationship – Transamérica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed here recently on a business trip and this hotel certainly lived up to its reputation. When you enter the hotel there is a really strong musty smell. There was a long line at front desk and several times during the week I just gave up waiting. My room was pretty awful, the bed was big but the blankets had seen better days. My toilet was leaking water all over the floor and the smell from the shower area was overpowering. I did order room service one night and it was inedible. When I got back to Canada I had to leave my suitcase outside for two days just to get rid of the musty smell! Take my advise, if you value cleanliness go elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaoirseD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
"The Transamérica Hospitality group network is grateful for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We consider our customers observations as being of the upmost importance for our process of continuous development and modernization, so that we may provide better service to our future customers.
We will be sure to address the issues brought up in your comments and will take immediate steps towards improvements.
We apologize for not having met your expectations during your stay and we hope that our other qualities will mean that we have the pleasure of receiving you in the near future. You can always count on our services!

Transamérica Prime Barra"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Buna, TX
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed the last week of September 2012 here for a business trip. The hotel property is fairly nice and well appointed. I had no problems with any of the staff. The hotel is pretty expensive, but I didn't pay for it so that wasn't a factor for me. If I were paying, I would probably look elsewhere, as the location is a bit out of the way; especially if it were a vacation. In regards to vacationers; beware, this hotel is a considerable trek away from the beach. From the Transamerica, you have to walk a block, catch a free boat shuttle, (green platform), across the canal, and then about another 5 minute walk through some backstreets and across a major roadway to get to the beach. My room, (2103.1), was very large, well-appointed, and very nice. The bed was huge and comfortable. My only gripe about my room was in the bathroom. The toilet is small, square, and too close to the shower. It is very uncomfortable and awkward to "do business" there. In addition, the toilet does not flush well at all. Also, the shower door in my bathroom did not close well enough, so water got all over my bathroom floor on a nightly basis. The breakfast at the hotel was very nice; good selection of fruits, breads, cold deli meats, as well as scrambled eggs and some sort of bbq sausages. Also, they had different cereals and plenty of choices for breakfast drinks. The orange juice was DELICIOUS! My only gripe about breakfast was the flies ALL OVER the fruit tray. There has to be something that they can do to combat that problem. Other than that, breakfast was great. Also, the free wireless internet was nice and very much appreciated. It was very good quality internet; I never had any issues with slow connection or disconnects. One more thing; the hotel corridors could use some updating; wallpaper falling off of the walls, carpet coming up or buckling, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-floor room, with the end numbers 01 or 03. These rooms should give you the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
" Dear Mr. Joel,
Thank you very much for your comments and observations regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you were satisfied with our facilities and the quality of our service, as well as the breakfast and internet access.
We are continually working to improve our services and we are pleased to receive feedback from our customers. We are undergoing changes with a view to meeting the needs and expectations of our customers, and we hope to welcome you again soon for an even better stay.

Transamérica Prime Barra"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

I stayed on business for a week and was initially very worried given the reviews I'd seen.

However, it wasnt quite as bad as I'd feared as all staff were courteous and helpful and my room was ok.

My low score is because the room service cellophane wrapped food was below par so I suggest you eat out. Be aware the location is poor and you need to get a taxi everywhere.

I'd recommend that the Hotel covers the breakfast buffet in the morning to keep the flies off the food. Two of these things could be sorted quite easily.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Unders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
"Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback and
above all for your positive comments about our staff members who are
especially trained to make sure our customers have
a pleasant stay.
It is very useful for us to receive feedback
about our services as it gives us the opportunity to continue to improve. We hope you come again soon.

Transamérica Prime Barra"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Bourbon Barra Premium Residence
#77 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
AC Hotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
AC Hotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da...
#149 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#22 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Promenade Barra First
#102 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#58 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Oceanico
Windsor Oceanico
#17 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transamerica Prime Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transamerica Prime Barra

Property: Transamerica Prime Barra
Address: Avenida Gastao Senges 395 | Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22631-280, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Transamerica Prime Barra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Transamerica Prime Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transamerica Flat Barra Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Transamerica Prime Barra Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing