We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average on Barra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Transamerica Prime Barra
Ranked #125 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Average on Barra”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 13 days with family and must say it is a fairly average place to stay. Only highlight i might give away is the very kind and professional staff, for the rest rooms, restaurant, food are all average so do not expect a 5 star location. Pool is decent and kids had fun. It is not near the beach either, although, there is a shuttle boat service to cross the channel nearby and walk to the beach (20 min walk after crossing). Hotel is in the middle of a residential area and only nearby shopping center is 30 min walk away. Located in Barra da Tijuca is at least 1 hour away from Zona Sul where Ipanema and Copacabana are located. We personally had several problems with the room access cards, we had to go to reception to reprogram again nearly every day..(no.... cards were not close to cellphones!).. so going to the room was a pain since we had to take the elevator down again to reprogram cards and finally get access to the room! Quite expensive for what it is...

Room Tip: High floor rooms so you can enjoy view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your comments, because, besides being very important for us to receive feedback from our clients related to their stay with us, we believe this shows that you trust we will improve our services.
We are sorry for the inconvenience related to the magnetizing of the access cards.

We apologize for not having met your expectations during your stay and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you once again on your return to Rio de Janeiro.

Customer Relations – Transamérica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    280
    143
    51
    27
See reviews for
90
103
25
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Working off shore in Brazil. We ended up in this high rise on the city outskirts.
Nothing spectacular about a 2 star hotel in London standards.
Food is reasonable but I don't know how this country will cope with the Olympics

Room Tip: Not easy but get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerryriddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Mr.,
The Transamérica Hospitality group network is grateful for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We consider our customers observations as being of the upmost importance for our process of continuous development.
You can always count on us and we hope to see you again soon!

Customer Relations – Transamérica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stay at this hotel usually for one or two nights a month. Have always found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The rooms with balcony overlooking the pool area are exceptional, good sized rooms with TV and free wireless internet. all rooms have a small mini bar with a good selection of cold drinks and beer.
The hotel boasts a small gym as well as sauna and steam room located on ground floor. Due to the erratic times I arrive ], I usually make use of room service and always find it to be quick and efficient. All in all a good hotel for short term stay, situated in a nice area but a bit far from any nightlife.
Happy to stay ther when visiting Barra.

Room Tip: try and get a room with a balcony, front desk are always happy to assist if one is available...great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieBrigid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Mr. Charlie,
We would like to thank you for your comments and compliments, especially regarding the hospitality and friendliness of our team. We are pleased to welcome you as a regular guest and to know that you are pleased with our facilities and services.
We hope that each stay with us is an improvement on the last in meeting all your needs and expectations.
You can always count on us and we hope to see you again soon!

Customer Relations – Transamérica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Given some of the abysml reviews, and the fact it was the ONLY hotel available in Rio when we booked, we had very low expectations - needlessly so!

PROS
1. Location - it's outside central Rio (taxi to Copacabana is 15 minutes and USD $15-20), BUT it's also a short walk to one of the nicest beaches in Rio - Barra da Tijuca, a much nicer beach than Ipanema, Leblon, etc. And Barra is a safe area!
2. Value - we paid £140/night for a suite on New Year's - an absolute bargain for Rio standards!
3. Services - staff tried to be helpful, especially Patrick.
4. Pool - very nice! Great poolside drinks!
5. Beach - right on top of a lovely beach with plenty of beachside kiosks.
6. Rooms - well-equipped, nice beds, and unsurpassed water pressure.

CONS
1. Distance from the centre - but Rio is a big city, and Barra da Tijuca is a lovely, safe area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
The Transamérica Hospitality Group would like to thank you for your comments. We are pleased to receive such detailed feedback expressing your opinion and the experience you had during your stay with us. We are glad to receive our clients’ opinions, which are very important to us, especially when they pay compliments to the hospitality, infrastructure and quality of our services. You can always count on us, and we hope to welcome you next time you are in Rio de Janeiro.

Customer Relations – Transamérica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

Segunda vez que me hospedo neste hotel. Desta vez ocorreu um problema: havia um vazamento em meu banheiro. Ao sair pela manhã pedi a manutenção que foi feita, no entanto ao retornar às 00h30 encontrei o quarto sem ser arrumado e sem toalhas para tomar banho. Enviaram um funcionário que arrumou tudo no momento.
It is the second time that I stay in this hotel. This time I've had some trouble: there was a leakage in the bathroom. When I left the hotel in the morning I've asked to fix it, fact that was currently solved. But when I returned to my room at 12:30am I found that the room wasn't cleaned and without towels. They sent an employee that solved the problem.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f_r_mattos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Google Translation
Prezado Sr.,
O Transamérica Hospitality Group agradece o comentário e pede desculpas pelo transtorno.
Houve uma falha de comunicação, uma vez que a limpeza e arrumação devem ter passado no momento em que a manutenção estava operando no apartamento, o que ocasionou a ausência do serviço.
Lamentamos não termos correspondido a todas as expectativas desta estada e esperamos que os pontos positivos lhe permitam retornar a se hospedar conosco nas próximas oportunidades.

Relacionamento - Transamérica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Used to stay here alot as its near the heliport , came back again rescently and its still the same.

Rooms are OK but not great , resturant Ok , pools pretty good.

Check in and check out can be slow .

It is safe and well looked after by the staff and there is a taxi stand by the front desk. There is also a little mini mail only a couple of hundred meters from the entrance to the right

You can get to the beach from here as well by using one of the little ferries across the little river.

If you have to stay in this part of Barra its not the worst. Not to bad to the airport or into Ipenema either.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Normthefisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know that we were able to offer you a good stay and that you are pleased with our location.

We are continuously working on improvements in order that we may offer the best services, and we are pleased that you appreciated the hospitality of our staff despite the delay you experienced on this occasion.
We hope you will stay with us once again when you next have the opportunity.

Relationship – Transamérica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed here recently on a business trip and this hotel certainly lived up to its reputation. When you enter the hotel there is a really strong musty smell. There was a long line at front desk and several times during the week I just gave up waiting. My room was pretty awful, the bed was big but the blankets had seen better days. My toilet was leaking water all over the floor and the smell from the shower area was overpowering. I did order room service one night and it was inedible. When I got back to Canada I had to leave my suitcase outside for two days just to get rid of the musty smell! Take my advise, if you value cleanliness go elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaoirseD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
"The Transamérica Hospitality group network is grateful for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We consider our customers observations as being of the upmost importance for our process of continuous development and modernization, so that we may provide better service to our future customers.
We will be sure to address the issues brought up in your comments and will take immediate steps towards improvements.
We apologize for not having met your expectations during your stay and we hope that our other qualities will mean that we have the pleasure of receiving you in the near future. You can always count on our services!

Transamérica Prime Barra"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Bourbon Barra Premium Residence
#70 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
717 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Hotel Laghetto Stilo Barra Rio
Hotel Laghetto Stilo Barra Rio
#90 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
63 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
AC Hotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
AC Hotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da...
#147 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Promenade Barra First
#116 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
535 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#63 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
569 reviews
Recreio dos Bandeirantes
Americas Barra Hotel
Americas Barra Hotel
#168 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transamerica Prime Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transamerica Prime Barra

Property: Transamerica Prime Barra
Address: Av. Gastao Senges 395 | Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22631-280, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Transamerica Prime Barra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Transamerica Prime Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transamerica Flat Barra Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Transamerica Prime Barra Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing