We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best options at Barra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Transamerica Prime Barra
Ranked #156 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Hotels in Rio have become ridiculously expensive in the years and Transamerica is no different. Having said that, I will not evaluate the price, as there are no cheap options in the city and being expensive is not a particular problem for this Hotel.
The location is good, far from most of tourist attractions but next malls, restaurants and ten minute walking from one of the most beautiful beaches in Rio de Janeiro (clean by the way), also the best surfing and kite surfing spots around.
The rooms are clean and fairly new. Bear in mind most Hotels in Rio have old rooms and “new price”.
I’ve been in Transamerica dozens of times in the last five years and the breakfast and quality of service has improved. My only complaint however, which has not changed in the last five years, is the fact that when the Hotel is full the service quality falls and you may wait hours to have someone answering the phone at the reception.
There is a nice swimming pool, a tennis court and a small gym.
It is one of my favorite hotels in Rio.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crsbrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know that we were able to offer you a good stay and that you are pleased with our location.

We are continuously working on improvements in order that we may offer the best services, and we are pleased that you appreciated the hospitality of our staff despite the delay you experienced on this occasion.
We hope you will stay with us once again when you next have the opportunity.

Relationship – Transamérica Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

The hotel is reasonable and it would be ok if it weren´t for the absurd rate (which is common in Rio these days). They charge you approximately 800.00 BRL (almost 500.00 USD) for a large room with a partial view of the beach. The room is poorly maintained, there is mold in the ceiling and is full of mosquitos. Another inconvenient item in this hotel is the fact they make a small "lobby" for every two doors, so, from time to time, you are surprised by your "neighbor" right at your door. Talking about neighbors, the hotel is supposed to be non-smoking, however, they allowed my "neighbor" to smoke all the time, even after my complaints. They said they couldn´t move me to another room either, because the hotel was full. As the doors are close to each other, all the poisoning smoke of my "dear" neighbor was contaminating my room. For $400.00 a night, that is definitly not a good deal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments, for besides it being very important for us to receive feedback from our clients regarding their stay, we understand this to be a form of trust in our ability to improve our services.
We apologize for any inconvenience we have caused with the maintenance of the room. On this matter, we would like to inform you that all of our rooms will soon be modernized and retrofitted. With regards to the smoking guest, we would like to inform you that this does not normally occur in our hotel.
We are sorry to have not met your expectations during your stay and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again next time you return to Rio de Janeiro.

Customer Relations – Transamérica Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Nice hotel and friendly staff. Clean rooms and a good size. Nice swimming pool and bar. Nicely located. Cabs are readily available. Not far from the international airport about 30 minutes away. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is buffet style and adequate but if you like a nice cup of tea take your own tea bags as these are not available in the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine as far as I could make out. Over looking the pool s nice though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaginaBanstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Ms. Regina,
The Transamérica Hospitality Group thanks you for sharing your experience with us, and we are pleased to know that we were able to offer you a pleasant stay.
It is very good to receive feedback from our clients and to know that we have met their expectations and needs.
You can always count on us and we hope you will return soon!

Customer Relations – Transamérica Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 13 days with family and must say it is a fairly average place to stay. Only highlight i might give away is the very kind and professional staff, for the rest rooms, restaurant, food are all average so do not expect a 5 star location. Pool is decent and kids had fun. It is not near the beach either, although, there is a shuttle boat service to cross the channel nearby and walk to the beach (20 min walk after crossing). Hotel is in the middle of a residential area and only nearby shopping center is 30 min walk away. Located in Barra da Tijuca is at least 1 hour away from Zona Sul where Ipanema and Copacabana are located. We personally had several problems with the room access cards, we had to go to reception to reprogram again nearly every day..(no.... cards were not close to cellphones!).. so going to the room was a pain since we had to take the elevator down again to reprogram cards and finally get access to the room! Quite expensive for what it is...

Room Tip: High floor rooms so you can enjoy view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corrysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for your comments, because, besides being very important for us to receive feedback from our clients related to their stay with us, we believe this shows that you trust we will improve our services.
We are sorry for the inconvenience related to the magnetizing of the access cards.

We apologize for not having met your expectations during your stay and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you once again on your return to Rio de Janeiro.

Customer Relations – Transamérica Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Working off shore in Brazil. We ended up in this high rise on the city outskirts.
Nothing spectacular about a 2 star hotel in London standards.
Food is reasonable but I don't know how this country will cope with the Olympics

Room Tip: Not easy but get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerryriddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Mr.,
The Transamérica Hospitality group network is grateful for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We consider our customers observations as being of the upmost importance for our process of continuous development.
You can always count on us and we hope to see you again soon!

Customer Relations – Transamérica Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stay at this hotel usually for one or two nights a month. Have always found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The rooms with balcony overlooking the pool area are exceptional, good sized rooms with TV and free wireless internet. all rooms have a small mini bar with a good selection of cold drinks and beer.
The hotel boasts a small gym as well as sauna and steam room located on ground floor. Due to the erratic times I arrive ], I usually make use of room service and always find it to be quick and efficient. All in all a good hotel for short term stay, situated in a nice area but a bit far from any nightlife.
Happy to stay ther when visiting Barra.

Room Tip: try and get a room with a balcony, front desk are always happy to assist if one is available...great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieBrigid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear Mr. Charlie,
We would like to thank you for your comments and compliments, especially regarding the hospitality and friendliness of our team. We are pleased to welcome you as a regular guest and to know that you are pleased with our facilities and services.
We hope that each stay with us is an improvement on the last in meeting all your needs and expectations.
You can always count on us and we hope to see you again soon!

Customer Relations – Transamérica Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Given some of the abysml reviews, and the fact it was the ONLY hotel available in Rio when we booked, we had very low expectations - needlessly so!

PROS
1. Location - it's outside central Rio (taxi to Copacabana is 15 minutes and USD $15-20), BUT it's also a short walk to one of the nicest beaches in Rio - Barra da Tijuca, a much nicer beach than Ipanema, Leblon, etc. And Barra is a safe area!
2. Value - we paid £140/night for a suite on New Year's - an absolute bargain for Rio standards!
3. Services - staff tried to be helpful, especially Patrick.
4. Pool - very nice! Great poolside drinks!
5. Beach - right on top of a lovely beach with plenty of beachside kiosks.
6. Rooms - well-equipped, nice beds, and unsurpassed water pressure.

CONS
1. Distance from the centre - but Rio is a big city, and Barra da Tijuca is a lovely, safe area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
The Transamérica Hospitality Group would like to thank you for your comments. We are pleased to receive such detailed feedback expressing your opinion and the experience you had during your stay with us. We are glad to receive our clients’ opinions, which are very important to us, especially when they pay compliments to the hospitality, infrastructure and quality of our services. You can always count on us, and we hope to welcome you next time you are in Rio de Janeiro.

Customer Relations – Transamérica Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Bourbon Barra Premium Residence
#83 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
814 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Promenade Paradiso
Promenade Paradiso
#155 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
479 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tij...
#53 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#56 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
615 reviews
Plaza Barra First
#126 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
559 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#28 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transamerica Prime Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transamerica Prime Barra

Address: Avenida Gastao Senges 395 | Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22631-280, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £41 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Transamerica Prime Barra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Transamerica Prime Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transamerica Flat Barra Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Transamerica Prime Barra Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing