We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a classy area of RJ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Transamerica Prime Barra
Ranked #122 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Ronchi dei Legionari, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a classy area of RJ”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I've been in Transamerica several times during different periods of the year.Hotel is located in the best area of entire RJ,Barra da Tijuca a very classy, clean and safe zone.
Personnel in hotel is really nice,and fully available to fulfill your needs,rooms are kept tidy and clean and restaurant serves really good stuff.Actually is a business hotel rather than a hotel where to spend vacation with your family,anyhow I really reccomend it!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Corrado80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Mr. Corrado,
Thank you for your comments. It is very good to know you have been with us several times and that you recommend our hotel in Rio de Janeiro.
We are happy for your compliments, especially for the quality of our service and infrastructure. We hope to see you on future opportunities and come back soon!

Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    280
    142
    51
    26
See reviews for
90
103
24
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Rooms are not clean and they are incredibly noisy. When you give feedback you are told that the reason the converter was not working was because you dropped the converter. If all you want is a place to put your stuff this is a place for you. If you are looking for cleanliness and comfort go elsewhere. Also the food in restaurant is expensive and not good. There are many good restaurants in Barra. This is not one of them. Customer service is extremely lacking. They let other guests bud in front of you. Brazilians do not care about others and will not think twice about cutting the cue and the front desk allows it. After not be able to sleep for several days I checked out and went elsewhere. Last time I stayed I had a room with a carpet. The rooms with the carpets smell very very bad.

Room Tip: If you must stay....stay away from the fourth floor and avoid any room without a carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Ms. Marina
Thank you for your comments, which contribute to our development and improvements.
Sorry we have not met your expectations during the time time you were with us and we emphasize that we will evaluate each issue mentioned, to review processes and improve your opinion.
We're undergoing a retrofit process so as to improve our infrastructure and upgrade.
We would like to have the opportunity to receive you again and surprise you positively.

Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Cottbus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have arrived after midnight in the hotel, being a couple and not the announced single guest. No fuss was being made, we were simply upgraded into a room with a king sized bed (having a balcony with a great view to the beach). Nice thing, we only paid for the single room we have booked.
The shower was great, a lot of water pressure.
We did not order breakfast, but had lunch in the Hotel. It was great! Buffet style with a lot of choice (I especially loved the dessert buffet - amazing).
The staff was very friendly, they organized (and re-organized when we changed our plans) day trips and gave us lots of information. I can also highly recommend the day tour with the company the hotel has a collaboration with.
If you want to take a walk to the beach, you'll have to cross a little canal. There is a ferry which you can take free of charge as hotel guest.

There were also two draw backs. We could not figure out how to lock the balcony door. We weren't too concerned as we were so high up in the building and had a good safe in the room. The other draw back was that the toilet flush did not work properly every time. One had to try two or three times to get a satisfactory result.

We did not try out the pool. It looked great, but the weather was not inviting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlayM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We were happy to receive you and to meet your needs and expectations during your stay.
Though you were here for a short period, it is good to know you came to visit our city of Rio de Janeiro and enjoyed it!
We hope to receive you again in future opportunities.
Welcome and return soon!

Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

This is my second review of Transamerica on trip advisor. I changed my review by the way. The main two reasons are the fact the internet is faster on my mobile than in the room, to open my email takes 10 minutes, and this has been like this for a while already but I've never cared. The second reason for the bad review is the fact once you leave the Hotel they will not care about you at all. I have been staying in Transamerica for more than five years and threir agreement with reward cards pretty much do not work. Transamerica gives you points only, and not always, if you call and send them a lot of emails.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crsbrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Sir,
Your opinion is very important to help us personalize processes and procedures in order to improve continuously. We analyze each case individually to minimize issues arising in each stay. We are sorry we haven’t been able to live up to your expectations during your stay with us and we would like to clarify that the free Wifi is offered only in the common areas in the hotel. On the score for the Multiplus card, it is only sent on specific dates, since we accumulate scores from other customers for the bonus to be run together.
We wish we could have met your needs and we hope to see you on future opportunities.

Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at the Transamerica for 6 days while on a business trip. The hotel itself is nice but it suffers from being in a less than ideal location. It is inconvenient to get around in Barra at the best of times but the Transamerica is not in a place that makes it any easier if you are wanting to do any site seeing or spend time at the beach.
The hotel itself was very good. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food was all very good, and as a person who does not speak the language I did appreciate the fact that all the staff spoke English.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in the flats
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments highlighting our infrastructure. We are happy to know we were able to provide you a pleasant stay.
Feel free to count on us and return soon to enjoy the city even more.

Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

the hotel is very nice clean and in a good location for the beach , shops are a bit away but i do not shop anyway. also like the rest of Brasil not a lot of the staff speak English so it can be hard communicating

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19bruce82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments highlighting our infrastructure. We are happy to know we were able to provide you a pleasant stay.
Feel free to count on us and return soon to enjoy the city even more.

Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I've been in this hotel for 5 days. The room is a little bit old and some stuffs was not working properly. The bed was OK. The breakfast could be better. The restaurant is ridiculously expensive for the options available. This hotel has a good location, but far from malls and touristic attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transamérica G, Gerente at Transamerica Prime Barra, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Mr. Rodrigo,
We appreciate your comments, which will contribute to our continuous development process.
We are undergoing a retrofit to modernize our apartments and environments in the hotel. We will send your observations to the people in charge of the restaurant and we hope to see you soon in other opportunities.

Relationship - Transamerica Hospitality Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Bourbon Barra Premium Residence
#75 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
697 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
AC Hotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
AC Hotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da...
#148 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
61 reviews
Promenade Barra First
#106 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#60 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
561 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Hotel Laghetto Stilo Barra Rio
Hotel Laghetto Stilo Barra Rio
#95 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
56 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
BEST WESTERN Premier Americas Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Americas Fa...
#28 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transamerica Prime Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transamerica Prime Barra

Property: Transamerica Prime Barra
Address: Avenida Gastao Senges 395 | Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22631-280, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Transamerica Prime Barra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Transamerica Prime Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transamerica Flat Barra Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Transamerica Prime Barra Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing