We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtakingly beautiful and serene” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros
Ranked #19 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful and serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our stay at the Casa Amarelo could have only been better if it had been longer! Such a beautiful and charming home with breathtaking views of the city from the house, gardens, and the pool. Beautifully decorated and appointed rooms with original designs. Our stay was topped off with the excellent staff, who were most helpful, gracious and made us feel like we were with friends. Our breakfast was abundant and wonderful. We only wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely stay here again, every time we are in Rio and hope that it is very soon! Best hotel experience I can ever remember!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marthagranito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    54
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
55
148
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We greatly enjoyed our time at Casa Amarelo. It felt much more like staying in an old home. It's not for everyone (as evidenced by some of the negative reviews), but for us quite charming, quirky and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting up at the pool sipping a Cachça while watching the birds, riding the old elevator up to our room, having breakfast in the sun room, and being half way between the hipness of Santa Teresa's central area and Lapa's Samba bars. When the trolley is up and running the location will be perfect. But for now, be warned, there is a bit a walk up to Santa Teresa or down to Lapa. But if you like places with a unique personality, friendly staff and a relaxed ambience, you may well like Casa Amerelo. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Two suites have private elevator access. We did not see those, but heard they were quite special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leeeveretthunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

What a great architecture and interieurs in the lovely district of Santa Teresa. Very close to the centre and Lapa. Great view from the community room. The staff at the Hotel was excellent and very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raycitotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night over carnaval and were able to walk to and from the sambadrome (and felt safe). We felt it was quite expensive, but understand that everywhere is around carnival!

The staff were fantastic, so lovely, friendly and welcoming, it was like going to stay with family!!

The building itself is quite unusual as it's an old colonial building and you enter via a tunnel and old school elevator. But we loved the fact it was so different from the norm!

The rooms were clean and tidy and had been decorated well, but obviously as this is an old building, we were able to hear people in the next room very clearly and also people walking about in the room above us. However, the bed was really comfortable and a great shower.

We ordered room service, which I wouldn't recommend. We had panninis and they were really dry and resembled the food we had got on the plane. Breakfast wasn't included in the rate and based on the food we had, we didn't think it was worth it.

The pool was clean and the garden area was lovely. And the seating areas in the reception were comfortable.

I would recommend this place, but maybe not the best for light sleepers.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MeetTheEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a remarkable building. It's one of those old houses during the colonial times that has survived and been renovated back to its loveliness. The interaction of its original features with contemporary interiors is done nicely and subtly that it still comes out quite homely. We had our dinner here which was amazing and drinks are offered here too. Shame that we didn't manage to get to stay here for the night so it was more like a few hours respite and shower etc as our local flight times got changed last minute (which is infamous within Aerolineas Argentinas!).

I would recommend this place if you want something different than a normal hotel. It does have a pool but I don't think this place will be sought for that as Copacabana Palace can provide that better! But it's a different experience, it does have some places nearby that you can walk to town and does offer a spectacular view of the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babydoll_Nexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our stay at Casa Amarelo was a highlight during our trip to Brazil. A visual feast for the eyes, high in the hills of bohemian St. Teresa with stunning vistas of Rio, rooms that are enticing making you not want to leave them as they're exquisitely decorated. The staff is very attentive taking care of our every needs. Especially Lucia who stayed late one evening to personally look after us. So helpful, warm and friendly. We take away fond memories from our sojourn at Casa Amarelo. and we will never forget this remarkable experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We loved our stay at Casa Amarelo! It is a beautiful villa in Santa Teresa, tastefully decorated and an unforgettable view over the city. Within walking distance to Lapa. It felt like home away from home with a beautiful private pool area in a tropical garden. The staff is extremely friendly, kind and helpful. The best rooms are upstairs or in the tower. Highly recommendable as a special place in Rio.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaGehlhaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Geranio
Casa Geranio
#10 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#4 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#21 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Santa Teresa
Guesthouse Bianca
Guesthouse Bianca
#18 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros

Property: Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros
Address: Joaquim Murtinho, 569 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-320, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The French designer Robert le Heros has created a place of festivity, both poetic and colourful, thus inventing a seductive "art de vivre". Casa Amarelo is a beautiful home, refined and authentic, built in 1904 on the heights of Santa Teresa, an historic area, where artists' studios border beautiful Brazilian homes and museums. It is a magical place, a mixture of the charm of an ancient building and the modernity of contemporary fixtures and fittings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Amarelo By Robert Le Heros Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing