We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, brilliant location, amazing buffet breakfasts and top service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #37 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We came to Rio for 'Carnaval' not really knowing what to expect but were very happy with our choice of accommodation (thanks Tammy at Flight Centre, Perth!).

Ok - so hotels are outrageously expensive during Carnaval, about four times the price they are for the rest of the year if you want to stay on Copacabana or Ipanema. But this is everywhere and can probably be managed by booking a little more in advance or some of the package tours.

The location was absolutely brilliant, being right on the beach front with superb views from the roof top pool in both directions up and down Copacabana beach.

The rooms were clean and of a decent size with a very comfy bed. They do charge extra for Internet (R47/day or about US$27) which is pricy, especially given the 4-5 day room price premium during the festivities!

The buffet breakfast was massive and included in our price. So much fresh fruit and lots of pastries and other goodies to try. At least two of the hot sections were different every day to allow some variety.

Service staff were really helpful especially given the pressure they would have been under as the hotel was at full capacity for the entire 11 days we stayed there.

We had no noise from the streets / beach to speak of and the hotel was on the approved pickup list for all of the tours and activities we had planned. There are three Windsor hotels in Copacabana so be sure to tell the taxi drivers "Excelsior" so you get the right one (they are all within a few blocks of each other).

Room Tip: We got given a twin share room (two singles originally) but they fixed it in a second. Would pay to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerthPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear Phil,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is a well situated hotel on the beachfront on the famous Copacobana Beach in Rio de Janeiro Brazil.
It is a 3 to 4star property and has some good features. The rooftop pool and bar is very good with a good snack and beverage menu and great views over the beach.
The rooms are on the small side but quite comfortable - best rooms are oceanfront and the very best are corner suites ending in 6.
The breakfast is outstanding with an exceptional range of fare.
On the beach opposite the hotel they have a full time beach assistant who provides hotel guests with sun-lounges, towelss ans beach umbrellas - all gratis.
Like all places in Brazil tipping I'd not required as 10% is added to every check.
We'd recommend it for comfort and good value.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pottsy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

If the Windsor Excelsior was not in such a great location, it would only rate a poor. But its across the street from Copacabana beach, and as others have said, it's reasonably clean and comfortable. They provide umbrellas, chairs & towels at the beach, which is nice. Three concerns - first, we were warned to always let hotel doormen call you cabs, instead of hailing a taxi on the street. So we were surprised when we did that, and found that the doorman arranged a fixed rate car at a rip-off price. That is totally unacceptable. Second, the price for internet access was just nuts. Finally, they failed to tell us that breakfast was included when we checked in - sloppy! I'll certainly look for other properties when I return to Rio.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJG_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The one downside? They charge so much per day for wireless internet access it is shocking. You can buy it by the minute and I suppose the rates keep one offline and therefore out on Copacabana beach. Good clean rooms. Wonderful view from outdoor rooftop pool and glass-enclosed snackbar/bar. Great buffet breakfast (and buffet lunch and dinner, though not included). I don't mind a costly hotel in a worthwhile location, but in this case the massive extra charges (chosen, not hidden) seem beyond what I have experienced most anywhere else. And the wifi was not fast, strong signal, or impressive either, so not even justified on that front. On the plus side staff is great, security seems excellent, facility great, and paying much less per night than the Copacabana Palace essentially next door.

Room Tip: High floors have the best potential views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiowaVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear Kiowa,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I think the hotel is nice, and considering it's location and other hotels in the area, I found it reasonably prised. The room that we had had no view at all but Rio is so beautiful that u do not stay much time in the room anyway! The breakfast is very nice, much better than I expected and the hotel has nice beach area with towels and heplful stuff at the Copacobana beach across the road. Some guests mention that the staff steals (it is possible, PEOPLE - u r in Brazil, I hardly know anyone that did not get robbed in Brazil either on the bus, in taxi, in the subway, in the queue, in a restaurant, on the street etc - I actually expected to get robbed when i was there, however I am on of the few lucky ones that did not), if you do not want get robbed - do not go to Brazil :))) THe hotel has a mini safe in every room, it's a perfect way to keep your thing from being stolen.
The rooms are however not as nice and fresh as you expect from a 3-4 star hotel in Europe, but are of a good standard in Brazil.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aljono4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear Aljono,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I initially chose this hotel based on my Trip Advisor research of hotels in the area. I was celebrating my birthday and wanted to splurge. I initially booked the reservation via Expedia for 1 person but decided to bring my brother. The rate change for an extra person was $173USD (66 Reals/day) for my 4 night stay.
We stayed in the Deluxe King room (606; i think the rooms that end in 4-6 have ocean views) the view from the room was breathtaking. You can view the entire length of Copacabana beach, unobstructed. The room and hotel were very clean and pride was given to its care and maintenance. Although the room was a bit dated it was more than adequate and it was the largest room on our floor.
The rooftop deck had a small pool and outside seating. it was nice to have a caipirinha or three up there and watch the goings on at the beach below or see the Christ Redeemer Statue during the day or night.
The staff was extremely helpful and all the staff I interacted with spoke english and were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 4,5,and 6 have oceanfront views. Rooms ending in 6 have the 2 sided corner view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ReefWreckDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Esmerada atención de todos sus empleados. Ubicación muy central en el sector de Copacabana, con vista al mar.
Habitaciones normales no lujosas, lo propio para un edificio con bastantes años de construcción.
Reitero la excelente atención, un desayuno extraordinario.
Solamente dos pequeños inconvenientes: Cobran internet wifi (en pleno siglo XXI) y a mi cuenta le agregaron dos botellas de agua que nunca consumí. Es poca cosa pero cuando uno está de vacaciones desea que todo salga perfecto.

Room Tip: Insistir en que tenga vista directa a la playa. Sería estupendo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank argosorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016
Google Translation

Estimado viajante,

Muchas gracias por su tiempo para dejarnos un comentario sobre Windsor Excelsior. Me alegro de que nuestro hotel estaba a su gusto.

Atentamente,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,966 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#36 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
769 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#20 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#27 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,493 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#40 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,073 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Pestana Rio Atlantica
#66 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#30 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £84 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Excelsior
Windsor Excelsior Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing