We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on Copacabana - new”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #32 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Grimstad, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Right on Copacabana - new”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The location on Copacabana is really great. It is as close to the beach as you can get and the hotel has deck chairs and service on the beach itself. The top roof has a small pool and a great view. Not too many places to sunbath, but that does not seems to be a problem.
The hotel has everything you need. The rooms are new, clean and comfortable. There is safe and a fridge. The cost of internet connection was expensive (Reas 35+tax per day). And the speed was not impressiv for that price. If you have several devices, you have to inform the reception. The staff at the hotel is efficient and professional, but not "friendly". You miss the feeling of beeing welcome, beeing recognized and appreciated as guest. The security in the lobby reminds you that you are in a criminal dangerzone, with many none smiling black dressed secturity people with earphones. I am sure they scare off many criminal elements too. The guys in the bar were nice and in here we even found a lady with a big smile.
The check out was quick. There was a few errors on my bill, but the fixed it without any trouble. They also gave me a late check out on a Sunday. Very nice of them. The hotel taxi is comfotable but from 40-100% more expensive than Yellow Cabs you get from the porters. Some of them try to convince you that the price is almost the same - but that is bad. I was quite dispointed in this fraud from the hotel staff. The cost of the hotel was a little on the high side, but I have not compared with other options.

Room Tip: A view of the beach is nice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventureseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2016
Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    607
    180
    40
    24
See reviews for
327
447
70
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Rooms need definitely a refurbishing job as well as the bathrooms that are too small to stretch your arms horizontally without touching the walls. Fridge seems to be a white dented 1950 model which was still working properly. Noise insulation did not seem to be invented here as we woke up in the morning as from 6 a.m. caused by neighbours' activities.
Rooftop pool small with little or no place around but the view is great and prices for food and drinks acceptable.
Definitely not the best value for money on Copacabana beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2016
Dear Mr Patrick,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire, england
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Not much to add to previous reviews but the key positive features of this hotel are: location (hard to improve on); breakfasts; roof garden with pool and great views; helpful and plentiful staff. The restaurant looks very formal and appeared to have very few diners; most residents seem to eat out and there are plenty of places within a short stroll. But a good choice for a stay in Rio - on the expensive side, but you get something for the money.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank oldvole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2016
Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The hotel is giving on Copacabana beach and is well located not far from the main mall in Rio, Rio sul. Also the restaurant is quite nice for its buffet in the morning with fresh pastries and croissants. Service is good but a smile would be nice sometime. Also the rooms are small so are the beds. A hotel I will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2016
Dear Gribe,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

small but cozy rooms. nicely decorated. bed a little soft for me but comfortable. right across the street from the beach. plenty of food places, local shopping, bars nearby. metro isn't too far either.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chopstick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2016
Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

For our final days on our South America trip we stayed here on Copacabana beach. Great location just across road from centre of beach and some great beach bars where you can sit and watch some wonderful beach football. We saw a team called Leverpool win 3-1 so I was well happy! Hotel is big and busy but well run with a great choice at breakfast. Downside was that many business people use this hotel so lots of early morning noise from around 7a.m. One bonus was the Italian restaurtant opposite the front door of hotel, it's called 'La Trattoria' and serves amazing food at reasonable prices, lots of local people eat here which is always a good sign. This was thefinal stop on a wonderful trip arranged by Imagine Latin America, a company I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2016
Dear Peter,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We came to Rio for 'Carnaval' not really knowing what to expect but were very happy with our choice of accommodation (thanks Tammy at Flight Centre, Perth!).

Ok - so hotels are outrageously expensive during Carnaval, about four times the price they are for the rest of the year if you want to stay on Copacabana or Ipanema. But this is everywhere and can probably be managed by booking a little more in advance or some of the package tours.

The location was absolutely brilliant, being right on the beach front with superb views from the roof top pool in both directions up and down Copacabana beach.

The rooms were clean and of a decent size with a very comfy bed. They do charge extra for Internet (R47/day or about US$27) which is pricy, especially given the 4-5 day room price premium during the festivities!

The buffet breakfast was massive and included in our price. So much fresh fruit and lots of pastries and other goodies to try. At least two of the hot sections were different every day to allow some variety.

Service staff were really helpful especially given the pressure they would have been under as the hotel was at full capacity for the entire 11 days we stayed there.

We had no noise from the streets / beach to speak of and the hotel was on the approved pickup list for all of the tours and activities we had planned. There are three Windsor hotels in Copacabana so be sure to tell the taxi drivers "Excelsior" so you get the right one (they are all within a few blocks of each other).

Room Tip: We got given a twin share room (two singles originally) but they fixed it in a second. Would pay to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2016
Dear Phil,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
730 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,323 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#42 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,030 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#53 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,867 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Palace
Hotel Astoria Palace
#101 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Property: Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#30 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Excelsior
Windsor Excelsior Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing