We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“need wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #36 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

You MUST give wifi facility. The price u charge, doesnot leave room to scringe in this minor aspect. other than this, everything is good, breakfast, location, room, cleanliness etc etc. rooftop pool is really small but the sauna more than makes up for it.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank garimab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments.

We would like to explain that in Brazil, in order to offer a good Internet connection, most hotels must incur in high expenses and for this reason we charge our guests for this service.

We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Rio

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
There are newer reviews for Windsor Excelsior Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

This hotel,has a good location and a very good breakfast with excellent. waiting staff but that's about all the good I can find to write about.
The staff at reception were ok. Some very good but many couldn't care less and service was a foreign word to them. Some were downright rude.
The tours arranged from the desk are only ok and the hotel will not accept credit cards so you must get cash. They are not cheap.
Yes, the hotel is across the road from the beach but that does not make up for the poor tired rooms, the miniature bathrooms, the late room cleans and the absolutely shocking Internet service which the hotel charges for.
Tis hotel may be only 3 stars but it does not give value for money and they really should pull their sox up.

Room Tip: Looking across to the beach is beautiful if you must stay in this hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments.

We are very sorry for your disappointment during your stay with us.

We hope to have another opportunity to host you in Rio during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

With the right room you can see the Copacabana beach and the statue of Christ, or go to the roof top. The Buffet for lunch or dinner is good but the same all day every day.

Shower worked, bed was ok, air con about coped with winter tempratures, good light proof curtans, safe in the room. The wifi throughout the hotel is very unreliable and very expensive and it lasts from when you connect to 2300 - bizarre. It worked best in the business centre but that isn't saying much.

A beer on the roof top was the highlight of the hotel but it is really really convienient for the beach and everything else. its basically next door to the Palace hotel.

As a footnote - Its disconcerting when told matter of factly "wrap a 20 around a bunch of 2s and keep it in your shirt top pocket, if someone mugs you dont make eye contact and take the money out your pocket they'll see the 20, take the lot and run"

Journey to airport at 5pm is a llllooooonnnnnnggggggg sit in traffic so leave lots of time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Sir:

Thank you for having chosen the Windsor Excelsior hotel.

We appreciate your detailed comments which will certainly be useful to tourists or businessmen who are looking for a hotel in Rio.

We hope you stay with us again during your next visit to RIo.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed here for five nights with my MBA class. The good things are the location, which is right by Copacabana Beach, and the breakfast was great. The coffee that they serve was the star of the stay. I asked for the name, but it was not provided.

The is not a luxury hotel. The service was what you would expect at a mid-tier hotel. There is wi-fi and the hotel is functional. If you are looking for a mid level experience with a good breakfast at a good price, this hotel would be a good choice for you.

If you are used to a 4.5 to 5 star experience, keep looking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

Dear traveler,

Thank you for coming to Trip Advisor and leave your experience in Windsor Excelsior Hotel. We work diligently care and receive this sensational return.

Your considerations are very important for us to verify where we make mistakes and we can improve to maintain service excellence. Thank you.

I look forwards to see you back in Rio.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Its a really nice hotel, but remember its a 3 stars hotel, so don’t ask for more…GREAT LOCATION, its ubicated just in front of the beach and nearby many restaurants… by taxi is about 20 minutes from lapa area (great area to party)… its walking distance from Ipanema beach (about 30-40 minutes).

Its really simple but nice, service is outstanding, everyone has always a smile and they do their best to help you and made you stay a unique experience.

The hotel count with buffet breakfast, which I must say was very very good, quality was excellent and they have variety of stuff to eat.
Another good point of this hotel is that they count with beach service, which is amazing, you just cross the street into the beach and you will see a person from Windsor hotel who is going to provide you with towel, chairs and all you need, its really nice cause this way you don’t have to worry about anything…

Finally the count with a free service of transportation from and to the airport, which is great cause it can be a bit expensive.

Overall great hotel, great food, nearby everything and located in copacabana… very safe place to be and amazing views!!! I totally recommend it!

Room Tip: try to get a room with views to the beach, we got a standard rom but we got an upgrade and views to...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear traveler,

Thank you for coming to Trip Advisor and leave your experience in Windsor Excelsior Hotel. We work diligently care and receive this sensational return.

I look forwards to see you back in Rio.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel is across the street from Copacabana beach. The view from the rooftop pool and bar is outstanding both during the day and the night. My room had two beds which felt a bit crowded. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very friendly. My only complaint is the internet. It is expensive and I had a very hard time logging on and staying on. It is not worth the purchase. There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear traveler,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Good price for a hotel in Copacabana, in front of the beach. However, my room had really bad cigarette smell (and it was non-smoking!). I had 2 beds in the room, soooooooo small I almost didn´t fit.
Really good breakfast, good variety.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

Dear Carolina,

Thank you for coming to Trip Advisor and leave your experience in Windsor Excelsior Hotel. We work diligently care and receive this sensational return.

Your considerations are very important for us to verify where we make mistakes and we can improve to maintain service excellence. Thank you.

I look forwards to see you back in Rio.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#33 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
741 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,903 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#17 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,424 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#43 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,046 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Pestana Rio Atlantica
#62 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#30 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £84 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Excelsior
Windsor Excelsior Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing