We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #33 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

great location
pleasant staff
good internet connection (although paid)
No blackout at the window and there are not soundproof
Great breakfast
Clean but decoration is a little bit demode according to current hotel styles

Room Tip: Ask for front sea!! and high floor (because the avenue is noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelo_M312741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments.

We are in the process of renovating the hotel and the decoration will be lighter and more modern. We are surprised to hear about the lack of blackout and soundproof window in your room,
inasmuch as these items are present in all of our rooms.

We look forward to host you again during your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    612
    180
    40
    24
See reviews for
331
449
70
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel in August 2013. Booked online and were pleased with location, Its central and opposite Copacabana beach. Good breakfast buffet, and clean comfortable rooms (although at the price of Rio hotels one should expect that!)

The pool was adequate, but in reality we didn't use it as we were sightseeing. its good to have a dip to keep cool if you want to catch up on your tan, but too small for real swimming. The roof terrace (where the pool is based) is a good area to chill in the evening.

Location wise its on the Avenida Atlantica, right opposite the beach, so we found it great as Rio was our first stop in Brazil. There are some nice hotels a few blocks further in, and there are some not so nice ones! Basically all the hotels are high rise with a pool terrace at the top. Being on the beachfront is good for catching taxis, buses, and the mainstream (pricier) restaurants. But you do need to go a few blocks in to get to the shops, and a greater choice of food places, and the subway too.

The one thing that I found cheeky was the habit of all hotels to charge for WiFi- just another way of adding to the extras. Most restaurants have it for free so you can always use it when you are eating out, if you don't want to spend at the hotel. Also its restricted to the room, so that's another pain if you are wandering the hotel!

Room Tip: We asked for sea view, but they only have 4 windows overlooking direct sea view. The side gives a sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timeshareowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your important comments which we believe will help future guests chose our hotel.

We hope to have another opportunity to host you during your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at the hotel at the start of a tour of South America. No complaints at all. It is right on Copacabana beach, so we began our day with a walk along the beach before breakfast. Service and food were fine, and our room had a partial view of the beach. Wifi not cheap.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again during your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I had nothing but highly positive experiences with the Windsor Excelsior Hotel during my week of residence there. The property, people, and services were all first class.
In some respects, this reflects the quality of the Windsor hotel chain in Copacabana. I had originally booked at one of their other properties. When, on my arrival, they were unable to accommodate me, they arranged to transfer my reservation to the Excelsior without any change in the cost and conditions (including free wifi!). They took care of me seamlessly.
The Excelsior is right at the Copacabana beach, in a prime location next to the Copacabana Palace. The plentiful personnel are multilingual, pleasant, and extraordinarily helpful. While not on the cutting edge of design, my room was amply large, well furnished with chairs, working space, electronics, and a fridge. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom large, with a huge shower area and plentiful hot water. The housekeeping kept it sparkling clean, leaving chocolates every night in their wake. The mechanicals were all excellent.
The complimentary breakfast buffet was outstanding, with hot and cold, cooked and fresh, foods of wide assortment, which, while rotating in minor ways from day to day, was a dependably impressive start to every day.
Though located across the street from Copacabana Beach, the Excelsior is also proximate to a Metro station and good access to Rio's many attractions. The surrounding area is interesting and benign.
The way things turned out, I could not have expected more of any hotel.

Room Tip: I had requested a quiet room. Rooms facing away from the beach look into a large courtyard, with wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments, which are important not only to future guests who are looking for a hotel in Rio, but also to our staff who will be very happy about your notes.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again during your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The location of the hotel is great - right across from the beach. The hotel also has dedicated space on the beach with towels and umbrellas. DEFINITELY ask for an ocean-facing room - my room (302) had a view of a wall. Room was clean and basically comfortable, but not luxurious. Front desk service was generally fine. Bar service was not. I could never get a waiter or even a check unless I went to the bar myself. Could have been because I am a woman and was traveling alone, but it was unacceptable. As others have noted, the hotel charges for wifi, which is basically reliable, but not fast. It's about $14/day US. There is a free shuttle to/from the airport - you have to book it through a link on the hotel's website.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc95ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. With regard to the bar service, we will do our best efforts to improve it.

We hope to host you again during your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I liked everything about this hotel except my internet bill at the end of the month. Buffet and breakfast service was great. Staff was generally friendly and welcoming. The "good nigh" chocolate knock was a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again during your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

You MUST give wifi facility. The price u charge, doesnot leave room to scringe in this minor aspect. other than this, everything is good, breakfast, location, room, cleanliness etc etc. rooftop pool is really small but the sauna more than makes up for it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank garimab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments.

We would like to explain that in Brazil, in order to offer a good Internet connection, most hotels must incur in high expenses and for this reason we charge our guests for this service.

We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Rio

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#32 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
736 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,332 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#22 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#44 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,039 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,396 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#52 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Property: Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#30 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windsor Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Excelsior
Windsor Excelsior Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing