We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & Friendly staff ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #30 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location & Friendly staff ”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We just spent 2 nights on a stop over in Rio and had a great time at this hotel. Location is right on Copacabana beachfront, almost next door to Copacabana Palace. We had a superior room on 7th floor with sea view in a spacious very comfortable room - beds are good, shower very powerful - even mini bar prices are reasonable !

Breakfast is very good quality, extensive and well organised. I'd recommend the view from rooftop pool of Christ the Redeemer & Copacabana Beach - also nice for a. Sundowner - caprivodka of course!

Finally staff were all very friendly

If you get time see Rio by bike, organised cycle tours or just go your own way.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank meesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comments and opinion. We are glad to hear that you had a nice experience at our hotel and look forward to receiving you again in your next trip to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    603
    179
    39
    24
See reviews for
326
443
70
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Was in Rio for Carnival 2014.. It was our first time in Rio, Booked The Windsor through AAA travel agency over 10 months in advance requested a room with a view but that did not happen.. The check in went very smoothly it did take an extra few mins to register. They were very helpful by making copies of our passports and making several suggestions on how to safely enjoy Rio. Room was small but very clean. Two twin beds had to be pushed together to make a queen size. The bed was very uncomfortable probably the worst I have ever slept on. Air Conditioner worked fine. The shower was excellent. Breakfast was excellent everyday everything was good and everyday there was something new from the previous day. One of the gentlemen at the front desk was extremely helpful in helping us acquire tickets and transportation to and from the Sambadrome for the Parade. He was very attentive to our needs, very professional and made several suggestions that made it a trip to remember.. Right across for Copacabana Beach, and well within walking distance of plenty restaurants, grocery stores and pretty much whatever you would need for a comfortable stay. I would stay at the Windsor again. It was excellently located, clean and safe.

BE AWARE!!! while there I sent out at least a dozen post cards. The Front desk said that they would be responsible for mailing them out with the proper postage, for a fee of course. So I paid the fee and handed them to the front desk staff... This was done the last week of February (during Carnival). It is now April and no one that was sent a post card has received them yet including myself. I don't know if it is normal for post cards to take over a month to be delivered and I have just not received them yet, or if my money was taken and post cards placed in the trash… So just be aware..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Sir:

Thank you for your detailed comments which are very useful.

We apologize for the bad experience you have had with the bed. The hotel was renovated less than six months ago and we have new furniture including beds. We will pay attention to any other complaints like yours because the beds are new and should be comfortable.

With regard to the post cards, we are very disappointed to hear that no one has received them so far. It is our policy to train our employees in the best possible way and we will check to see what happened. For this purpose, please send me an e-mail (elusoli@windsorhoteis.com.br) with your full name and period of stay with us.

We look forward to hearing from you and would like to thank you for chosing the Windsor Excelsior Hotel.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here in February 2014 at the end of a tour of South America and enjoyed our stay. The location is great for the wonderful beach and travelling around Rio wherever you start from is not easy at times. But you are in Rio and what a great place this is to visit and see the sites.
The environment is very clean and rooms where comfortable with very efficient and courteous service from staff. The amount of ever present security staff is a little disconcerting at first but is very normal throughout Rio. Enjoyed and would recommend but my only moan is having to pay for daily Wi-Fi connection only discovered this on checking out!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest:

We thank you for your useful comments and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Not the greatest hotel but the location is absolutely brilliant......a stone's throw from Copacabana beach !! The room was adequate, clean but a tad small. However, food was aok, albeit a little pricey, and the staff were both friendly and very helpful. A cracking place to explore Rio from. I'd use again when visiting this absolutely wonderful city !!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Sir:

Thank you for your useful comments.

With regard to the size of your room, we would like to explain that we have six categories of rooms with different sizes. Whenever our guests are not happy with their rooms, our suggestion is that they immediately contact the front desk or one of our managers who will certainly find a solution. Our pleasure is to make sure that our guests feel well and happy during their stay with us.

We look forward to hosting you again at the Windsor Excelsior during your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Best thing is the location without a doubt. Good beach in front of the hotel and centrally located for tourism. The pool on the top floor is small but the view is great. Breakfast is good and varied and the service was very good for Rio. The rooms are the low point with old beds and furniture and housekeeping employees also less than good (often saw them watching TV in vacant rooms). Front desk average and trying to sell services where they get commissioned. Don't have the guest best interest in mind. But for Rio where service in general is lacking and everything is overpriced, this is a good deal.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom-SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Sir: Thank you for your comments.


With regard to the old room you have mentioned, we are disappointed to hear about your opinion. This is because all rooms of the hotel were renovated less than six months ago and we did our best to please our guests with comfort and brand new furniture.

We hope to have another opportunity to host you in Rio during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights during the 2014 Carnival
Pros:
- Great location right on the Copacabana beach
- Large and very clean and comfortable rooms and bath rooms
- Very helpful and English speaking front desk personnel
- Small pool at the top floor with a beautiful view of the Copacabana beach, Sugar loaf and the Corcovado (Christ the redeemer statue).
- Full and varied breakfast buffet (7 kinds of fruit juice, best one being the green Avocado juice !!!)
- During the carnival it was one of the few hotels in Copacabana that offered a fair price for less than the seemingly mandatory 4 nights stay
Cons:
- No real concierge to help. Front desk people were doing a good job helping out but were always busy with other tasks.
- No free wifi which I was told is unusual in Rio's hotel
- Very noisy A/C in 1018 room. Was not fixed and we could not be bothered to move to another room.
- The shuttle to the airport might be free - but it's being provided in a broken down van driving on a not great road infrastructure which makes you half incapacitated by the time you reach the airport.
All in all it was a good experience and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli_Ashke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for having chosen the Windsor Excelsior Hotel and for having sent us comments about your experience with us.

Your comments are very helpful because they refer to different aspects such as location, restaurants, breakfast, staffs and clean rooms, all of which are important to future guests.

We look forward to hosting you again in your next visit to Rio.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We made a short stay at this very nice property. Right across the street from the beach and one of the main New Years stages. Rooftop terrace has a very small pool so it is crowded during the day but it was a perfect place to watch the fireworks as only registered guests were allowed. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you for having chosen the Windsor Excelsior hotel.

We appreciate your comments which will certainly be useful to future guets who are looking for a hotel in Rio.

We hope you stay with us again during your next visit to RIo.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#15 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,306 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
725 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#20 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#44 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,027 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Palace
Hotel Astoria Palace
#102 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
977 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#52 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Property: Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#30 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Excelsior
Windsor Excelsior Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing