We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Rio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #30 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for Rio”
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We spent 4 nights in the hotel last month. And it is a good Hotel for Rio. Fantastic location, good breakfast, nice rooms, comfy beds, clean bathroom. Lovely top-terrace with a pool.
I will recommend to book only see-view units (better double), high floor. It is not so big difference in a price, but very big difference in a quality. We had a nice room, but I saw NOT see-view rooms - and just will definitely NOT recommend them.
Of course this hotel is over-priced for what they offer - but so all the hotels in Rio. For the same money you will have fantastic choise in Buenos Aires, for example. And super choise in Europe. Of course they dont have very good service in Reception - but it doesnt exist in Rio in general.
So - it is a very good option in Rio.
p.s.: very personal opinion: 3 days in Rio - it is a must, but its enouhg ))

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tolsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2016
Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    602
    179
    39
    24
See reviews for
325
443
70
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newyork
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2010

The hotel has great air conditioner! The pool area has a great view of the entire Copacabana beach and Corcovado. The rooms are very clean and the showers are great!

The people who work there are very friendly and professionals. Our group had a wonderful time by the pool area. At night there is a very nice breeze and you can see Copacabana all lit up. the buffet breakfast is to die for with all kinds of fruits, juices and pastries. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivabrasilNewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2016
Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The West Country
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Stayed here for a few days in late March. It is a very busy hotel on Copacabana. The staff are very polite and attentive. However a couple of minor issues prevent me from giving a five - my laundry got left in my room so had to wait another 24 hrs for some work clothes and I asked the reception staff to arrange for my (twin) beds to be made up into one and this never happened.

The location is great for the beach, shopping and some bars although the nearest bar is wall to wall with ladies of the night. Main shopping street is to the rear of the hotel. Close to a night market on the beach. Only ate breakfast there and bar food by the pool. The barfood was poor - not very appetizing burgers and sandwiches.

The pool is on the roof with spectacular views of the beach and the Christ on the mountain. Rooms comfortable with a good bathroom/shower. Free wifi/broadband. The hotel facilitates tourist-type trips out - a bit of a mark up for them but takes away the hassle factor.

Excellent business centre with good facilities and rooms. The business centre manager was extremely helpful.

Would recommend this hotel for business, couples and families.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWestCountryNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2016
Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We used Trip Advisor to pick the hotel and were not disappointed. Good quality rooms, good AC, good location right on the beach next to the most expensive hotel in Copa. Staff friendly without being amazing, Good breakfast. Do yourself a favour and use Impanema beach not Copa, much better and a short cab ride. Only complaint is they mixed up our room and gave a nice double when we wanted a twin and moved us to a less nice twin. CHECK ahead of time to avoid this randomness.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grande_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2016
Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2010

A group of us stayed at the Excelsior for a business meeting with colleagues coming from Sao Paulo, US and UK. Five out of twelve people went down with food poisoning and were out of action for 3 days of the 5 day meeting. Food is buffet style, left out in the heat. Air conditioning also smells dreadful in the rooms, which have little natural light. Internet is over 50 reais a day to use, nearly £20 which is extortionate. We were testing the hotel for a big event later in the year and will definitely not be using it again or recommending it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundtheWorld37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2016
Dear traveler,

Thank you for coming to Trip Advisor and leave your experience in Windsor Excelsior Hotel. We work diligently care and receive this sensational return.

It makes them happy!

His considerations are very important for us to verify where we make mistakes and we can improve to maintain service excellence. Thank you.

I look forwards to see you back in Rio.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

It´s a very good hotel. They have a nice breakfast service with different kinds of the best brazilian foods. You can see all Copacabana beach. Around the hotel area you can find many types of transport like bus station, cabs, subways. The rooms are clean and the service was very good. You have many police cars around the hotel and that makes you feel comfortable about security. It´s a great place to stay and Rio de janeiro was a beautiful city to visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2016
Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

This hotel has an outstanding location on Copacabana Beach...one block from The Palace. The hotel itself is a bit dated and the room was average by American standards; although the shower and bathroom were very nice. Service was adequate and I was expecting an unexcelled breakfast buffet. I've seen better and more plentiful....very crowded. They will never offer airport pickup/return unless you specifically inquire; although it is complimentary. I sent an e-mail requesting pickup and they never responded. The "New Years Package" was nothing but overcharging given the time of the year. Would do it again; but would be more demanding of the hotel for better service, room and amenities.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilianoLusoli, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2016
Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your time to leave us a comment about Windsor Excelsior. I am glad that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#16 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,304 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
725 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#44 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,027 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Palace
Hotel Astoria Palace
#102 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
977 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#53 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Excelsior Hotel

Property: Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1800 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#30 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Excelsior
Windsor Excelsior Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing