We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff!”
Review of El Misti Botafogo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Misti Botafogo
1 review
“Very friendly staff!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The staff were very friendly! The hostel is in a great location right next to the underground, great for getting to Copacobana. The breakfast was amazing, great way to start the day. The only problem was the wifi was awful!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Michel
Thank you for sharing with us the experience you had at El Misti and to rate our services, there is no higher reward than to know that our efforts resulted in you having the perfect stay. It is our commitment to make the service as personalized and attentive as possible, making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, exceeding the expectations.
Hope to see you again in sunny Rio de Janeiro.
Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    252
    144
    71
    70
See reviews for
35
58
282
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great place, really good location, near everything and have a great view of the christ.The staff is great (lucia, mariano and nico) they help me with all, is awesome to find help in the city. Botafogo is one of the best places in rio, good bars, restaurants, shoppings, you have principal streets to go everywhere

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Joha
First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon.
Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Right in the middle of Copacabana, Lapa, and Santa Teresa. Right next to the metro too with access to lots of bars and restaurants. Mariano, Clemente, Carolina, and the rest of the staff...awesome!!! Really good for the value, too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Nick!
First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon.
Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The rooms here are way to small, 6 people but basically only one can enter at a time, no space for opening bags etc. The toilets are the worst feature. Each one only contains one toilet and shower leading to long waits each morning and evening. Wifi is also very poor.
Good location and cheap enough during the world cup but there are much better hostels in Rio.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luko9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Google Translation
Estimado...
Agradecemos por escrever sua opinião sobre sua recente estadia em nosso hostel. Já que o mais importante para nós como hostel é melhorar nossas facilidades e serviços.

Lamentamos não ter atingido suas expectativas, vamos procurar seguir seus comentários e sugestões.

Esperamos que você nos visite novamente, para assim nos proporcionar outra oportunidade de não apenas lhe atender, mas também de superar suas expectativas.
Atenciosamente
A gerência
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

every body was GREAT......
nice service.....
awesome managment and staff.....
real good foooooddd
every body was GREAT...
nice service.....
awesome managment and staff.....
real excellent delicious food

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mistihostel, Gerente at El Misti Botafogo, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Dear
First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon.
Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Too expensive and too crwoded!

Too many beds compared to the provided bath rooms and area to hang out. I never stayed in such an overcrowded place for such a price.

The stuff was friendly though and compensated a little for the rest...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDolinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

While this hostel was not the worst I have ever stayed at, it was far from the best. the staff was overall more concerned with their computers and cell phones than with travelers. There where times I came home at night and the one staff member/security was asleep with his cell phone in his hand. The rooms were musty and dirty, the beds had dirt on them when we arrived at the hostel. I could not wait to leave this hostel and move on from my trip the whole stay there. There were no major problems, it just overall was not a pleasant experience and I would not go back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandonangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
#22 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Rio
El Misti Hostel Rio
#15 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#4 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#3 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti House
El Misti House
#16 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Botafogo
Injoy Hostel
Injoy Hostel
#9 of 765 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Misti Botafogo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Misti Botafogo

Property: El Misti Botafogo
Address: Rua Praia de Botafogo, 462, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22250-040, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 765 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — El Misti Botafogo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Misti Botafogo is a cozy hostel that runs in a colonial mansion from 1913 retaining some original features. Located in the traditional neighborhood of Botafogo, only one metro stop from Copacabana, it is close to bars, restaurants and also public transportation to all areas of the city. The Sugar Loaf is the postcard that can be seen right at the entrance of the hostel's street, which makes us feel even more present in Rio de Janeiro. We offer a large common kitchen, a cozy living room, TV and computer available for guests. At the bar we offer delicious tropical drinks and our barman promotes the famous El Misti Hour, where the guests can socialize with each other drinking fantastic caipirinhas. We have comfortable private and shared accommodations with individual lockers and bedding, dining service and buffet breakfast both at a low cost fee, free internet connection and also a delicious barbecue every Friday. In addition, it offers a complimentary arrival transportation for reservations of 4 nights or more * and the El Misti Experience ** a combo of trails through the main viewpoints of the Wonderful City. It is the perfect place for those traveling on a budget and wants to make the most of this lively city. The trilingual receptionists will give you excellent options on parties and exclusive tours in Rio de Janeiro that occur every day, in addition to the friendly, fun and welcoming treatment. Do not miss this opportunity and book your bed at El Misti Botafogo. * You must reserve the service with the hostel at least 48 hours in advance. For bookings of 1 to 3 people - The total amount of the reservation must be equal to or higher than R$ 250 - Service available from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm For bookings of 4 to 6 people - The total amount of the reservation must be equal to or higher than R$ 500 - Service available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. ** Subject to availability ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your El Misti Botafogo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Misti Botafogo Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing