We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 star hotel for 4 star price.”
Review of Hotel Ingles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ingles
Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“1 star hotel for 4 star price.”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

After an overnight flight we wanted a place to recover for a couple of nights and booked this place as being well located near Rio city centre. Thats about all this hotel has going for it.
On arrival we pointed out that there were no batteries in the room safe and were promised some the following morning but they never arrived, neither did the second bath towel we were promised. The towels we did get were worn and grubby looking.
Breakfast was simple and the room it was served in was small, only 12 seats, and the view was of a hole in the wall where the aircon unit was missing and of a yard outside with stained mattresses and junk. On the second day there was no bread for toast and we waited for 20 mins after asking for some before giving up on the idea.
The hotels website and the entry on bookings.com is misleading as the photo is of a much bigger room and has been distorted to make the room look bigger.
The location is good and if we had paid much less we would not have been so disappointed with the place which overall was fairly clean and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t&a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    23
    45
    13
    17
See reviews for
16
25
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Ratty is the only word to describe this place: grubby & stained towels, lumpy mattresses, raggedy sheets, dirty corridors, slimy shower, plus the traditional poor service of Brazilian hospitality-service staff (I was born in Brazil, so that part didn't faze me). Very good location, but by no means this aspect compensate for the rest. The only reason for staying in this place is to be skint to the point of desperation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curupira_enfezado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed in a triple room for 2 nights.. the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. Out of the 3 beds we had one that was very hard and uncomfortable, but all clean. The breakfast was a small buffet, not a great selection but still nice. The hotel had free internet in the lobby. All in all the hotel was okay, the location was a 5 minute walk to Flamengo beach and a few minutes walk to the nearest metro staion, so it was very handy to get around. Apart from one of the beds being uncomfortable i dont have any other complaints regarding this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love-postcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

This is the WORST hotel that I've ever stayed at. On the first night, we found that the hot water did not work in the shower. The entire room was old, run down, and disgusting. On the second night, we found BED BUGS in the bed. We checked out immediately. They refused to reimburse us.

**STAY AS FAR AWAY AS POSSIBLE**

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveltheworld093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Forget about the promises you read in the website where you booked it. We stayed there for 5 days and were charged on arrival, which made perfect sense when we saw the room... it was dirty and the bed covers had white stains that we did not dare to elaborate on. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the sheets did not fit the mattress. As a consequence we were constantly lying on the mattress itself. The shower stall was so tiny that my partner could not face the shower - his shoulders did not fit the width of the shower stall, and he's hardly the bodybuilder type... Cable was always meant to start working the following day, but along the 5 days it never did. There was no internet and the elevator broke down on our 2nd day and never got fixed while we were there, and our room was on the 4th floor... We even established a countdown to leave that place. Hotel ingles, never again!

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mb0nnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Conveniently situated near Catete metro station and overooking Parque Catete. The rooms are a bit cell-like and what from the outside is an elegant building, has been drastically converted inside. No major complaints however; it's clean and the price is no more than you would expect for a big city.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamescollenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall,
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

This hotel is good value for money for those who require fairly basic accommodation. The building is old, with some character, but is clean and tidy. The staff speak some English and are helpful.
Breakfasts are adequate but lack variety and imagination.
The redeeming feature of this hotel is it's central location within Rio, opposite a small park and only 1 block away from the beach.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CDLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Flamengo
Hotel Rondonia Palace
Hotel Rondonia Palace
#157 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
158 reviews
Golden Park Hotel
#165 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
220 reviews
Hotel Novo Mundo
#94 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catete
Hotel 1900
Hotel 1900
#35 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
367 reviews
Hotel Rio Claro
#247 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
37 reviews
Hotel Flamengo Palace
#69 of 329 in Rio de Janeiro
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ingles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ingles

Property: Hotel Ingles
Address: Rua Silveira Martins 20 | Flamengo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22221-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 783 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ingles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ingles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ingles Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing