We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The LightHouse or Bust!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The LightHouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The LightHouse
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The LightHouse or Bust!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

WE just had such a fabulous stay at The Lighthouse. We currently live in Buenos AIres and wanted to take a vacation and ended up here. If you want to be close to the beach, an amazing lake, hang with awesome staff, and meet amazing travelers, then look no further. What I liked most about the hostel was that it was a fairly older crowd (25-40), and a smaller hostel of a total of 10 people, a really cozy setting. Breakfast was great, accompanied by hot coffee...need I say more.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
18
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

The hostel is in Ipanema, a quick walk from the beach, which is really nice, and not too far from the next metro station.
Unfortunately the room we stayed in was really tiny, just beds, no space for anything else, and the hostel had in total only 2 bathrooms with each one shower and one toilet inside of them, which is in my opinion too few for about 10 people staying there and getting up at a similar time to get breakfast. Also, because the space is so limited, you have no privacy to even change your clothes...
But the staff working there was really nice, and in a city like Rio you shouldn't spend that much time in the hostel anyway. And it had airconditioning! The only hostel on my trip through Brazil!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here the week before Carnival in Rio, in the 8 bedroom dormer. I have to say, I am really happy with our stay at the Lighthouse. The staff was truly a delight and each of them were so helpful to us, especially the owner, Sylvia. She really cares about the experience of her guests; it is more than just a business to her. When it comes to service, I don't think there is a better quality to have than that.

The size of the space is perfect for the amount of people (up to 12 at a time) and allows you to feel really comfortable. There was always space to cook in the kitchen (plus plenty of cookware and they even provide basic supplies like oil, vinegar, salt and pepper), it was never too loud at night, and I don't think I ever waited more than five minutes for the bathroom. Breakfast was good (bread, ham, cheese, lots of fruit, tea and coffee), they have a huge selection of travel books you can borrow, and there are lots of activities you can opt to participate in (but they do NOT push them on you, at all).

I wouldn't call it a "party hostel," if that is what you are looking for, but it is really east to get to know everyone else staying there. The only thing I can think of that was a slight negative is that the bathrooms can get messy throughout the day, but I feel like this is pretty standard for anywhere where the cleaning person comes in the morning. It was never gross though, just wet floors from people taking showers.

Overall, a really great stay that made my experience in Rio an enjoyable one. Thanks so much, Lighthouse!! :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

This place is in a great spot, down a lovely little alley filled with hostels and plants in the centre of Ipanema. The hostel has super friendly staff and the small size means you can get to know the other travellers well. The staff know everything there is to know about tours and things to do in Rio so they will help you with everything. We felt very safe there. Hope you're lucky enough to meet Sylvia's amazing dog, the cutest thing ever. We'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihearttraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend in the beginning of December. The hostel is located in an alley with a number of other hostels such as casa 6 and harmonia. The area feels very safe. As the hostel is quite small with one dorm and one private room it has a very personal and welcome feel, which is also enhanced by the friendly staff working there - we liked the place a lot. Breakfast is adequate.
What could be improved is a separation of toilet and shower. I can imagine that with a full house 2 combined bathrooms are not enough. Also towels and sheets could be cleaner, and AC could be added to the private room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IMH-Rdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed there for 11 nights... and I think in the end I chose wisely. A series of unfortunate events happened to me, none of which where the hostel's fault, but all of which the staff tried to mitigate as much as possible.

Some key things to note:

-Location:You cannot beat the location. Walking distance to everything in Ipanema, including the metro, which will take u all over the city. There is a great fruit fair a block away and a hippie market on sundays.
-Staff: Karina and Pedro are AWESOME!!! They take care of you as much as possible, and are also great company.
-Security: Both Milton and Sergio, the night guys, are awesome, and accomodating. They speak no English, but that's ok... they still take care of us.
-Price: Great price for the location.
-Internet: The hostel charges R$5 per hour to use a very slow internet connection... go to internet cafes in copacabana that charge R$2 per hour, have AC and great internet speeds. Wifi works great unless someone watches an internet movie on the computer.
-Laundry: Its done expediently and they fold your clothes, but $R20 may be a bit much. I didn't explore how much it cost to do it outside, but I just did it.
-Sylvia: She deserves a bullet of her own. She's very accomodating, really takes great care of her business, the house is always clean, and when she's around she will take care of whatever it is you need. When I got stiffed by a tour company, Sylvia more or less worked the issue out for me. When my cologne bottle broke, Sylvia figured out a way to rescue the remaining liquid.When my camera was 'lost', she had the staff look diligently for it. She's a bit heavy handed at times but that's probably necessary when it comes to taking care of a hostel where people are constantly going in and out and leaving their stuff everywhere.

Overall... a great experience, and I can't wait to come back to Rio and stay there again. I don't think I'd want to stay anywhere else.

I didn't give it an excellent rating because the last night I was there the AC exploded and I slept in a puddle of my own sweat. Contingency plans need to be drawn for those types of situations... the owner needs to have a couple of cooling towers on hand for those types of things.

Room Tip: Choose a bunk bed next to the window if at all possible. The AC blows there during the night, and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jd_murcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We spent 5 nights in the dorm here and really enjoyed our stay. Having explored Rio, we're glad we picked Ipanema as it's a safe area with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops and it's close to the beach and at the end of the metro line with good bus links. The Lighthouse is clean and has good facilities, wifi and the staff keep it quiet outside at night. The only downside would be that there wasn't enough hot water in the showers during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
The Mango Tree
The Mango Tree
#32 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema B&B
Ipanema B&B
#92 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Ipanema
Mojito Hostel
Mojito Hostel
#109 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach Hostel
Ipanema Beach Hostel
#19 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Ipanema
Mojito Hostel & Suites Rio de Janeiro
Mojito Hostel & Suites Rio de Ja...
#118 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#3 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LightHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LightHouse

Property: The LightHouse
Address: Rua Barao da Torre 175 | Casa 20, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 756 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cute, small and quiet place located within Ipanema, one of the most beautiful and well-known areas of Rio de Janeiro. Only 3 blocks from the beach surrounded by a wealth of restaurants, shops and of course bars and clubs. We have a gorgeous double room and 8 bed mixed dormitory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The LightHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Hotel Rio De Janeiro
The LightHouse Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing