We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little spot in rio”
Review of Rio Dolphin Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rio Dolphin Inn
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little spot in rio”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just stayed In the dolphin inn for 22 days during the World Cup and had a great time
The dolphin inn is quirky but in a nice way it is in a little gated and safe area with shops, restaurant s and a metro station just mins away.
Our hostess Elaine was great she gave us a little walking tour of the area when we arrived and in general could not do enough for us a genuine Rio Angel .
If you need any tours her friend and taxi driver Palua is very good and speaks English
So to sum up we had a great time in the Rio Dolphin and would recommend .
It's better than staying in a big boring hotel

Adam & Les
Jersey

Room Tip: We had the dolphin room wich has a on suite facility's
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamlaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
55
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a great experience at Rio Dolphin Inn and highly recommend it. We stayed here for 4 nights at about US $130 per night. John was traveling, so we did not get to meet him, but his friend Elaine was there and she was a great hostess. She took us around the neighborhood, explained how to get to the beaches, recommended restaurants, and tourists attractions. She also invited us to join her and her friends for lunch, so we met a few more fun locals. Elaine had some basic healthy food in the refrigerator for us to use - eggs, bread, tea, coffee, fruits, juices. The location is excellent - it's in a gated community, just a couple blocks to Copacabana, Ipanema, and Arpoador beaches. The rooms and bathrooms are small by American standards, but the house is very clean and pleasant, and the beds are very comfortable. There is an AC and a ceiling fan in every room, which helps to keep it cool. The house has an indoor-outdoor feel to it, which we liked. Also John's dogs were not there, so this was not an issue at all, although we are dog lovers and were hoping to have them around, as we missed ours. There are lots of guidebooks and maps of Brazil to use, which was very helpful. The house is very thoughtfully decorated in a funky beach/surf style with lots of interesting and unique details, which aref fun to explore. Overall it is a charming place and Elaine made our stay here very warm, pleasant, enjoyable, and definitely with more care and a personal touch than any hotel would have. We highly recommend Rio Dolphin Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinochka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at Rio Dolphin Inn for about five days in early August 2013. We had an excellent time staying here and wholeheartedly recommend it. The hosts, John and Cindy, were extremely helpful, friendly and gracious. This groovy little place was way way better than staying at a larger, more impersonal and more expensive hotel. There are many positives, here are just a few:
1. It is located in a quiet and very safe gated area within about 10 minutes walk to both Ipanema and Copacabana beaches, and various shops and eateries.
2. It was only about $AUD120 per night, a lot less than anywhere else we checked nearby.
3. Our flight from Australia was delayed and we missed our first night of accommodation at Rio Dolphin - which we had booked. This was on problem, we were not charged for the night.
4. John and Cindy personally took us out when we arrived, to orient us in the neighbourhood, point out recommended bars and eateries, sites, etc. They even had brunch with us, giving us heaps of useful info.
5. John allowed me to borrow some very useful maps and books on Rio, and a inconspicuous beach bag in which to carry my camera around.
6. The rooms are all upstairs, but it was always quiet upstairs, no problems.
7. We were free to use the kitchen each morning, with free tea , coffee, fruit.
8. John and Cindy has a small party one night, with cake and champagne, downstairs in the living area, which we were invited to join (and we did).
9. The room we stayed in was the Dolphin room, was fine. Good bed, the en suite bathroom fine (I liked the fact that it was partly open to the outside at one end). No mosquitoes, no street noise.
Yes, there are three dogs on site, but we rarely heard or saw them. (we were out during the day anyway, and never heard them at night, where ever they were !).
I would counter the few negative comments here about Rio Dolphin Inn by saying that we had a great time and the great help we got was way beyond what you would expect from a hotel or B & B.
Craig and Ross in Melbourne, Australia
p.s. John and Cindy even sent us a gift that arrived in Australia just as we returned home. A lovely bakit with birds on it - they remembered that we love birds. Really, what more could you ask for ?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

You can't go wrong with over 100 5* reviews and it's hard to say what hasn't already been said! Although, cliche, you DO feel like you're visiting an old friend! The location is fantastic, you have an abundance of food choices and you're right in between Copacabana and Ipanema Beaches so it's easy to take your pick and arrive at great spot to relax within 5 minutes. I think the BEST part about staying with John was his personal recommendations. I love to do research on the internet (ie. usingTrip Advisor) but 2 of his recommendations are, surprisingly, not on Trip Advisor!

1) Hang gliding: I had never heard of Ruy Marra on these forums but it was a personal rec. from John (Rio Dolphin Inn owner) that lead me to him!! One of the most amazing experiences of my life!

2) Favela walk with John's surf friend Jefferson, a kid from a local favela.

Can't say enough great things about this place. I enjoyed it so much I blogged about JUST the accommodations.

Thanks again John!!!

http://my30before30.com/raising-the-bar-on-bed-and-breakfast-accommodations-rio-dolphin-inn/

Room Tip: I stayed in the Little Prince Room - it has 2 two beds so we used the extra bed to lay out our cloth...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank poymeetsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Thanks to a creative décor that mixes surfer-beach themes with Old Rio touches, plus a modern hot, powerful shower, my stay at the Rio Dolphin Inn scored five stars. Tucked in a cozy block at the point where Ipanema and Copacabana just about meet, the inn was close to both beaches—minutes away. With access to the kitchen, I was able to buy the freshest pineapple, bananas and atemoya at the street markets and store them in the refrigerator. My cheerful room had a dolphin theme and shutters on the windows that looked down on a quaint brick-lined street. The American innkeeper and his Brazilian wife made me feel very welcome and shared helpful tips for getting around the city. John even had a map on the wall so I could get the lay of the land. The maid came everyday so the place was spotless. If you prefer the intimacy of getting to know a destination by staying with locals in a very local setting, the Rio Dolphin Inn is the place.

Room Tip: The Dolphin room had a view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The best location - a beautiful and peaceful place hidden like a pearl. 10 walking minutes from both beaches. You are both in the city with all kinds of nice restaurants nearby - and at a beach. It works perfectly well wandering between those two worlds. Very generous and supportive hosts who will show you around, help out with maps and network and let you feel at home within marvellous books and the relaxed atmosphere of flower power (only much cleaner), a big love for nature and a good sense of humor. You will want to come back to Rio mostly because of this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankenwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed in rio dolphin inn for carnival. We are backpacking around south america for 5 months and planned to be in rio for carnival. After a lot of research before we left, I booked rio dolphin inn. Was it the right choice? Most definitely yes! The inn is located in a very secure street with gated access. We felt completely safe there. We knew rio would be expensive at that time but you pay for what you get. We got really nice accommodation and 5 star service. On second thoughts you would not get the service in 5 star hotels. John was super helpful and gave us loads of suggestions on what to do, where to eat etc. On the afternoon we arrived, john spent perhaps 2 hours with us walking around showing us where the best juice bars, restaurants and supermarkets were. We thoroughly appreciated this. The accommodation was absolutely spotless. There was plenty of juices in the fridge which were stocked up daily. The most gorgeous homemade cookies, nuts and chocolate were always stocked up. Every type of herbal tea and lovely coffee.Regarding the dogs, unless you asked to see them you would think they were never there.. We would love to return to rio one day and would most definitely stay in rio dolphin inn. John-thank you , we had an amazing time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AimeeC186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnMaier, Owner at Rio Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
We just want to thank everybody who takes the time to comment on the Rio Dolphin Inn, and to let all our friends and guests know that our beloved Dalmation Genki, who was mentioned in several reviews, is now in doggy heaven frolicking with his friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
South American Copacabana Hotel
South American Copacabana Hotel
#118 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#68 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#15 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#5 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#119 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Copacabana
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacaban...
#69 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Dolphin Inn

Property: Rio Dolphin Inn
Address: Rua Bulhoes de Carvalho 480 Casa 6 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22081-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 765 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rio Dolphin Inn is a top quality yet quaint and cozy home on a quiet cobblestone street on the border of Ipanema, Copacabana and Arpoador beaches. You will not find a better location: you can actually see the beach from the entrance, the metro station is a block away and the main city bus lines pass right in front of the gate. This exclusive home has 2 bedrooms, both of them comfortable suites with modern bathrooms, air conditioning, fans, new comfortable beds and large bright windows. It's the perfect spot for couples, families, friends and single travelers. The inn is acclaimed as one of Rio's best bed and breakfasts. It is rated 5 stars and was winner of Trip Advisor's Excellence award in 2012 and 2013. We pride ourselves in taking care of our guests and helping them get the most of their visit. Check out our reviews on bedandbreakfast and TripAdvisor. We were closed for renovations but opened in April of 2014 with new lower rates starting at US$120. World Cup dates still available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rio Dolphin Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Dolphin Inn Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing