We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't know from where to begin...”
Review of Rio Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Backpackers
Ranked #209 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We booked the hostel nine months in advance through Hostelbookers - and got the confirmation straight away, but two weeks before our trip, checking about airport transfer to the hostel we found out that our booking never existed with Rio Backpackers...
So instead of having a private double, we had a shared 6-bed dorm with no locked door and people coming in and out to get to the balcony even during the night. The mattresses looked dirty and mouldy.
And thinking that our missing booking had been an isolated incident, on the day of our check out there was another traveller really fed up at reception, as it seems they had lost his booking too - or something else, and wouldn't refund his money.
The place has great potential, but it would need to close down for a while for total refurbishment.
There's another bed & breakfast across the road that looks really beautiful and clean. Otherwise, find somewhere else to make your time worth in Copacabana.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zulleika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here or 5 nights in August. Unfortunately we left biking a place to stay in Rio until the last minute which I wouldn't recommend and as most people know it is quite an expensive place so our options were limited and we wanted to stay in Copacabana or Ipanema. Rio backpackers is in a good location in Copacabana, easy to walk to the beach and lots of shops around and we felt safe. It is also very close to the metro station. We booked a private room and compared with other places we have stayed (we are backpacking around Latin America so have a fair bit of experience) it is below average and also probably the most expensive place we have stayed. The room was small with no room for our bags or bech space to put things so everything getss spread across the floor. There is no hot water which is okay for most of the year in Rio but it was only in the low 20's(degrees celcius)when we were there so it wasn't pleasant to shower. The TV was good and the bed was fairly comfortable. Free breakfast is very basic just a bread roll with either ham and cheese or hot dog and a piece of fruit with juice, coffee or tea.

There isn't much 'atmosphere' at this hostel, we did go in low season but it was full of people mostly in their 40s and 50s who only spoke portugese so not that exciting. The hostel was however quite good with organising activities like going to football matches etc and were quite friendly. If you are going to checkout early in the morning settle your bill the day before because we got a guy at 6am on reception who didn't know how to use the credit card machine and tried to demand cash and in the end we just took it off him and change ourselves, it was rediculous- and unfortunately we even overcharged ourselves a bit!

Anyway it isn't too bad if you are like us and run out of options but don't have high expectations. It is probably more fun and lively in Summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hcrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Nice street, close to Copacabana and supermarkets, bars and restaurants. Rooms with airco are okay, the others very poor. Worst thing is the staff at the front desk. They wouldn´t help us with anything. Sent us to a laundry service that took four days. Pointed us to main street where lots of agencies forbus tickets should be. We had to look for more than an hour to find out there is only one. They should have known that. Most of the time they just ignore you being busy watching Youtube or Facebook. Also the hostel charges for everything, from use of internet to bagage storage and sometimes even double for they don´t keep good administration. The lady that makes breakfast is really nice but a hotdog with hot sauce is no breakfast for me. With lots of choice in Rio, choose another one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed in a private double. The room was tiny but fine and had its own en suite. We loved the building and location. It was very close to everything in Copacabana and on a quite side street. The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the free Caipirinha.
We just looked at the other reviews on the site and think many are unfair. We thought it was actually good value for money and a much better and authentic experience than many of the more expensive hotels we stayed in during our trip to South America.

Room Tip: Get the private double. I forget which number but it is on the right when you come through the gate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Rio Backpackers location is a quiet street only a few blocks from the beach. However you may never actually make it into the hostel as the stairs you climb on the street outside are old broken and dangerous. The building is old and furniture is broken and most lights and power points don't work. A couple of the staff were very friendly and helpful, however most were rude and imposed on our privacy. Forget having guests in this hostel, your not even allowed other rio backpacker guests in your room aswell. The bar that is supposed to be open 6 nights a week was closed 6 nights a week, and the two times it was open we could not access our drinks that we had in the fridge.

The rooms were all very basic and the beds were uncomfortable. All of the bathrooms were very dirty and had no hand soap or towels. I did not feel safe in the bunk beds either they were old and poorly constructed. The staff at this hostel that didn't speak English were VERY strict and there is no reasoning with them if you didn't speak Portuguese. They would spy on us after dark hiding the pool balls from the pool table, banning anyone from accessing the kitchen and lowering the volume on the tv/ radio. The guest fridge didn't work properly and the staff would lock away the hostel ice. We drank warm drinks all week. Furthermore the hostel wifi was terrible and only worked downstairs where only a few of the dorms were located.

The downfalls at this hostel really ruined our new years in Rio De Janeiro. We were expecting a fun lively hostel with plenty of people to meet. But instead we arrived to a strict poorly maintained, boring hostel with more guests over the age of 40 than under. If you plan to sleep all day with no social interaction at all then please book at Rio Backpackers otherwise avoid at all cost!

Room Tip: Choose another Hostel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yasper_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The location is good and the staff friendly but the room was damp and next to the reception so very noisy. Everytime someone rings to enter it wakes you up. The hole place is not very clean and far too expensive for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudiemily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Believe nothing that the site says, especially the breakfast (which is quite disgusting: limp bread, coffee seems "gracha" with flies and nope all you can eat).

To get there, even with only a small backpack, a rise has nothing nice. Although it has some good restaurants and places nearby. But to give you an idea, when we returned to the hostel one night, nor the taxi driver wanted to go up the street, he was halfway.

The bathroom was not in the room how we think and looks like a concentration camp bathroom.
But as we were in the female room downstairs, we had to use the shared bathroom (used by both men and women) and had hair in the drain. A choke bathe there.

Our room had no key and was behind the "reception". Reception that is no good for nothing. Several times we came back at night (and it was not too late), we had to ring the doorbell several times, there was the guy who was sleeping evidendently. In a second time, I saw that he was asleep, but then we wake up, went climbed a few flights of stairs, then he descended just to pretend he was up there .... Tsc. Zero safety!

Well, I could continue to speak of the defects of this place, but I prefer to give you some advice: keep out! Do not waste your time and money here! It's traumatizing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Erica_PP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#79 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,069 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#75 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,208 reviews
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#81 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,393 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,786 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#90 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Backpackers

Address: Travessa Santa Leocadia 38, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 21640-280, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £13 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Rio Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Backpackers De Janeiro
Rio Backpackers Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing