We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
124
49
13
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
49
13
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa teresa colonial house taxi rio ipanema
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2012

a great place in rio- we will defently come again!
our morning startet with a nice breakfast on the balcony with fresh fruits, caffe, juice, self made cake and everything you can wish for. the location is in the heart of santa teresa, the lovely artistic suburb of rio. it is very easy to get around, just take to historical "bondinho" to go to the centre and from there you can use the metro, or just take a taxi in front of the hotel.
the rooms are all unique, very cleen and we slept very well.
if u need a break from this city that never sleeps, just relax a day at the hotelpool and enjoy the huge tropical garden...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Owner at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thanks for your kind and important words!
We hope to see you back at Villa laurinda at the near future!

All the best,
The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We booked Villa Laurinda 3 weeks in advance and paid the 50% deposit via Paypal as requested.
The day before we arrived in Rio, after travelling around Brasilia and looking forward to a relaxing weekend before flying home, we received an email from their admin informing us they had over booked. After many emails they eventually found us alternative accommodation. Unfortunately this turned out to be totally unsuitable and dirty. To cut a very long story short, we ended up spending hours searching for accommodation (it was Easter and everywhere was booked), wasted a whole day, felt ill with the stress of it all, and it cost us a fortune as we ended up at the Sheraton.

Villa Laurinda itself may be charming, and one of their staff,Vera, tried her best - but all in all the management need to ensure their admin staff don't ruin anybody else's holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank HandC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Owner at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016
Google Translation

adshioZHJHJHDhnsdydowjhh
xsbdjknfjhwklfwjhrijkwjrklj
dfhashdfjhjhdfjkahdhfj3k
0000000000000000000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Is important to remember that there's a difference between a B&B and a hotel. After the managers leave at 5.00 pm you are pretty much on you own, and oh yes - there's a family living downstairs, so keep it down at night. With that said, Villa Laurinda is charming and nice B&B in Santa Teresa, an area that seems to slowly be waking up to tourism. The two managers, Vera and Regina, are Villa Laurindas biggest assets. Very helpful in general and great with restaurant reservations, taxi pick ups, laundry etc.

The pool area is great, with a honesty bar, shower and bathroom. A little light at night would have been nice, but again - this is not a hotel. Stay out until you're ready to go to bed.

The only, albeit small, downside to the area in general, is that can be hard to get taxi drivers to make the trip from the beaches up to Santa Teresa. It usually works out in the end, but make sure you have phone numbers to the local taxi companies (provided by the managers) or book in advance. The upside is that you get a different experience and a chance to see a side of Rio that you might miss is you just stay by the beaches.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Offtherecord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Manager at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thanks for your kind and important words!
We hope to see you back at Villa laurinda at the near future!

All the best,
The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed here for four nights in two double rooms, with a shared bathroom across the hall. The rooms were adequately sized, but not spacious, with very comfortable beds and lovely shuttered windows. The whole building was beautiful, inside and out, if a little crumbly in places (in a charming way). The shower room was well appointed, and always clean. A yummy breakfast was (somewhat erratically - one day a buffet, another day brought to our table...) served on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the garden. The terrace sometimes seemed to be open for guests to use and sometimes not... As other reviewers have noted, the managers are only around during office hours, so are not always on hand to answer questions or sort out problems.

The only real problem we had was with our transfer from the airport - the large car booked to collect us had broken down and a regular taxi was despatched instead - a bit of a squash with us and all our luggage, and we felt a rip-off for the premium price charged for a transfer. However, Vera and Regina (the managers) were apologetic when challenged, offered us a discount, and the car was fine for our return to the airport. They also organised taxis to take us to Corcovado and Pao de Azucar, which was really helpful. We did walk down (and up!) the hill to the metro at Gloria, but it is a bit of a test of the leg muscles, especially in the heat. We ate in Santa Teresa on a couple of evenings, and felt perfectly safe walking back to the villa well after dark. It is a bit of a maze though - the map given to us upon arrival at the villa was very useful.

There was a pc for guests to use in the lobby, and free wifi throughout the building.

However, the main draw of this place is the garden and pool, a slice of lush tropical paradise. We spent at least an hour or two each morning or evening lazing by or in the pool, enjoying the sounds of the cicadas, and soaking up some sun. A real haven from the busy city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Owner at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thanks for your kind and important words!
We hope to see you back at Villa laurinda at the near future!

All the best,
The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This villa located in the older city of Santa Teresa is a short ride to the Tijuca National Park and to the Copacaban/Ipanema beaches. Although the villa is dated, it is well maintained. Regina, the manager, is charming and very accommodating to her guests. She is also fluent in English. The breakfasts are outstanding, with fresh fruits, juices, bakery goods and cheeses. Don't forget to ask for Junior to pick you up at the airport. He also speaks English very well. We found out that he also gives private tours which we signed up for. He as well a Regina are very easy going and willing to go out of their way to help. The pool/patio area is very relaxing and a great place to have a happy hour. Beer and wine are available for purchase. Also, you can see monkeys scrambling on the rear wall. My wife and I truly enjoyed this villa and highly recommend it for travelers if you want to see what the "homeys" live like. It is quiet and near restaurants and bars within walking distance. It is safe to walk in this town at night.

Room Tip: If available request the owners room. It is newer and near the pool
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aztec60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Owner at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thanks for your kind and important words!
We hope to see you back at Villa laurinda at the near future!

All the best,
The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews