We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's good....but it could be better.”
Review of Villa Laurinda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Laurinda
Ranked #33 of 340 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

It is a great place. Right into Santa Tereza, a cool neighborhood in Rio. It's an old house but it is in a very good state.
Staff are great, friendly and kind.
But nothing is perfect.
The towels were kind of old...they could be better...
The pool boy didn't have to clean the pool at 7 am and wake us up with the noise.
The breakfast could be better...it's good....but could be better.
And you can listen to every thing that's going on...steps, door shuts. So you better wake up early or be a heavy sleeper.
But I still recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, General Manager at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thanks for your kind and important words!
We hope to see you back at Villa laurinda at the near future!

All the best,
The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed 2nights with family and friends for 2 days sightseeing in rio. Owners and staff v friendly and helpful. Useful bar area by pool and we could drink our own beer of a night. No air con but fan in room fine. Only downside of our twin room was it was small and if you stay longer than a couple of nights would like a wardrobe and room to put suitcases. Also would be good to be able to make your own tea and coffee on waking as I found 8am quite long time to wait for my first caffeine hit when waking at 6.30am! Advise you always take cab when going out even in day if u can. But recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJL64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, General Manager at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thanks for your kind words!


All the best,
The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We had the last 2 nights of our trip here. It was nice but the room was very small with a futon style bed, there wasn't much room for bags and to be honest it felt a bit cramped. The villa itself is beautiful and has a lot of potential when it is developed- i assume it is a work in progress. The ceilings are high, nice decor and features. The staff did their job and that was about it, it felt a bit like they didn't want to be disturbed sometimes.
The garden is nice and the pool was lovely after the walk back up from the metro.
Santa Teresa is a nice place to stay. We definitely recommend the area.
I think i'd say watch this space there is real potential here, but i get the impression they aren't very experienced in hospitality yet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Britishgoabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Manager at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thanks for your kind words!


All the best,
The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marie et Vianne... M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mauriciodias, Manager at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Villa Laurinda is like an oasis in the busy city of Rio. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the others guests were also polite. The breakfast was filling and generous, and we received good advice on what to do with our time in Rio. Santa Theresa is an up and coming district of the city, with a parade of art shops, cafes and bars to explore. It really is one if the hidden treasures of Rio. We stayed as a couple, which was was ideal. I am sure they could cater everyone though, so just check in advance of your booking. The room was very tidy and clean. Although there was no safe, the rooms are locked. They have never had any trouble with break-ins, hence no need for a safe, which was fine. The pool is regularly cleaned, and there is an honesty list with the adjacent bar/fridge, which made us feel trusted and valued. If we ever go back to Rio, we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Manager at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thanks for your kind and important words!
We hope to see you back at Villa laurinda at the near future!

All the best,
The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I guess one of the best places to stay in Rio. Beautif surroundings of Santa Teresa district - nice bars with great atmosphere, cozy streets.
The Villa itself is a mixture of the interiors of 19th century and modern equipment. Tasty breakfasts, super common areas - indoor and outdoor. English speaking helpful staff.
I can say, it's one of the best places I stayed at.
You can get to the center by bus or by taxi - not more tham 30-40 min from any attraction.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Owner at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thanks for your kind words!


All the best,
The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

First of all: if the villa would have been the only place I had stayed in Rio I might have rated it higher but having the comparison to other B&Bs I have to say it is just average. Nothing more or less!

After arriving at Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo in Santa Teresa we were greeted by a lovely architecture with an old world charm from the 1920's. Matching the outside the interior is reduced and underlines the vintage ambiance.
Nevertheless, I was quite astonished running into linens and towels that apparently saw better times and some run down furniture. That left the impression to stay at a place where they try to make fast money without any concessions to their guests.
Another point underlining my impression was next morning’s breakfast. Despite the fact that the tables were full with leftovers from the other guests there was hardly anything left at the buffet for us. After sitting there for 15 minutes we had to ask for refills since no one of the staff paid attention.

Since decoration is not everything and B&B's are living from the owners' commitment and passion the innkeepers should think of some improvements. First of all I would encourage the whole staff (not only the two managers) to be friendly to the guests even if they do not speak the same language. A smile sometimes opens doors!
Furthermore I highly recommend the innkeepers to stay in other B&Bs to experience what kind of personality and service is missing at their place.

Overall my stay was ok since we had the only room off the main tract, where all other rooms seem to be located. Furthermore we were able to store our luggage for the day and could shower before leaving to the airport but I might recommend other places to friends and followers.

Important facts to know when staying here:
The villa is located in the domestic airport’s entry lane. There are some bats that are living in the garden, flying low (!) and many dogs in the neighborhood that bark with every little movement.
And finally it is difficult to get a taxi during night! There is a taxi stand close by but as soon it is getting dark the cabs are gone same applies to the police. It seems that they are afraid of getting in trouble with activities in the close by favela although this part of Santa Teresa is known to be safe. I am not sure about the reason but I was surprised how easy you can get around at Copacabana, Ipanema or Leblon and how difficult it was in Santa Teresa during night!

+ Lovely architecture,
- outworn lines and towels,
- inattentive staff

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinmatecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Manager at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thanks for your kind and important words!
We hope to see you back at Villa laurinda at the near future!

All the best,
The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Casa Nova Hotel
#38 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
72 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Santa
Casa da Santa
#31 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
57 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Palazzo
Rio Palazzo
#32 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa da Gente
Casa da Gente
#18 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
256 reviews
Botafogo
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
337 reviews
Solar do Cosme
#15 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Laurinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laurinda

Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 98 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £40 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Laurinda 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Laurinda is a small hotel-boutiqu, run by artists, set in a gorgeous original 1888 Victorian house and two anexxe buildings of fine contempoarary architecture, in a luscious tropical garden with a large swimming pool in the neighbourhood of Santa Teresa, one of Rio de Janeiro's oldest and most charming neighbourhoods, located between the city centre and the beaches.The house holds a comprehensive art library, an exclusive guest lounge and terrace, free wifi internet access throughout the premises. We also offer sauna and a self-service minibar with cold drinks and snacks at the pool kiosk. As a small business, we try to match as far as possible the individual needs and requests of every guest in a place with peace, joy and charm for very reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Laurinda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Laurinda Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing