We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
124
50
13
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
50
13
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa teresa colonial house taxi rio ipanema
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed 2nights with family and friends for 2 days sightseeing in rio. Owners and staff v friendly and helpful. Useful bar area by pool and we could drink our own beer of a night. No air con but fan in room fine. Only downside of our twin room was it was small and if you stay longer than a couple of nights would like a wardrobe and room to put suitcases. Also would be good to be able to make your own tea and coffee on waking as I found 8am quite long time to wait for my first caffeine hit when waking at 6.30am! Advise you always take cab when going out even in day if u can. But recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJL64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, General Manager at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thanks for your kind words!


All the best,
The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We had the last 2 nights of our trip here. It was nice but the room was very small with a futon style bed, there wasn't much room for bags and to be honest it felt a bit cramped. The villa itself is beautiful and has a lot of potential when it is developed- i assume it is a work in progress. The ceilings are high, nice decor and features. The staff did their job and that was about it, it felt a bit like they didn't want to be disturbed sometimes.
The garden is nice and the pool was lovely after the walk back up from the metro.
Santa Teresa is a nice place to stay. We definitely recommend the area.
I think i'd say watch this space there is real potential here, but i get the impression they aren't very experienced in hospitality yet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Britishgoabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Manager at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thanks for your kind words!


All the best,
The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mauriciodias, Manager at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Villa Laurinda is like an oasis in the busy city of Rio. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the others guests were also polite. The breakfast was filling and generous, and we received good advice on what to do with our time in Rio. Santa Theresa is an up and coming district of the city, with a parade of art shops, cafes and bars to explore. It really is one if the hidden treasures of Rio. We stayed as a couple, which was was ideal. I am sure they could cater everyone though, so just check in advance of your booking. The room was very tidy and clean. Although there was no safe, the rooms are locked. They have never had any trouble with break-ins, hence no need for a safe, which was fine. The pool is regularly cleaned, and there is an honesty list with the adjacent bar/fridge, which made us feel trusted and valued. If we ever go back to Rio, we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Manager at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thanks for your kind and important words!
We hope to see you back at Villa laurinda at the near future!

All the best,
The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I guess one of the best places to stay in Rio. Beautif surroundings of Santa Teresa district - nice bars with great atmosphere, cozy streets.
The Villa itself is a mixture of the interiors of 19th century and modern equipment. Tasty breakfasts, super common areas - indoor and outdoor. English speaking helpful staff.
I can say, it's one of the best places I stayed at.
You can get to the center by bus or by taxi - not more tham 30-40 min from any attraction.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Owner at Villa Laurinda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Thanks for your kind words!


All the best,
The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews