We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Laurinda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Laurinda
Ranked #27 of 328 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Coming to Rio can be a very unsettling experience, unless you have a warm welcome. Before I came to Villa Laurinda, I had the unfortunate experience of a very expensive and very unfriendly "4 star" hotel on Ipanema Beach (Praia Ipanema Hotel). At first, Villa Laurinda may be hard to find, precisely because it's off the tourist circuit.... but once you are in this private villa, it becomes home. Santa Teresa is one of the most delicious and exquisite locations of Rio. So, for anybody who wants a very exceptional and intimate experience of living in Rio, and feeling the warmth and hospitality, plus the silence and joy of a relaxing and real holiday, this is a truly secret trove. Please don't spread the word... it's too good to be true.

Room Tip: I stayed in the "Imperial Suite", but all the rooms seem to be equally perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaSloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Manager at Villa Laurinda, responded to this review, 14 March 2016
Thanks for your kind and important words!
We hope to see you back at Villa laurinda at the near future!

All the best,
The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    48
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
36
96
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I recently stayed at Villa Laurinda and really enjoyed the experience. Walled off from the madness of Rio, this sanctuary has a large outdoor swimming pool, a sauna and a charming old building that manages to maintain modern comfort without compromising its historical feel. I loved the shutters on the windows and the high ceilings, although it's not what I'd call 'light and breezy' - it depends on what you're looking for.

The bed was comfy, the bathroom felt basic, I would have liked a fridge in the room - other than that, we enjoyed the great location in Santa Teresa - it was only a short walk to the bustling heart of this gorgeous neighbourhood. The hotel felt secure too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Manager at Villa Laurinda, responded to this review, 14 March 2016
Thanks for your kind and important words!
We hope to see you back at Villa laurinda at the near future!

All the best,
The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I leave in São Paulo but I travel very often all over the world to do conferences, workshops, etc. so I have many diferents hotel experiences. Last week, I spend 4 days at Villa Laurinda and it was just worderful. I decided that I'll always choose it to stay in Rio; even more, I decided that I'll go there offen, to rest and to write, instead of going to beaches or montains near São Paulo, as I use to do in that case. Each detail of this place has the refinement of an artistic soul (it belongs to Dias and Riedweg, which collaboration produces one of the best art creation in Brazil). And the people who work there have the same kind of soul being, at once, professionals and sweet.
It is a very beatifull place: an old house from the beginning of 20th century (which is very rare in Brazil, where everything is constantly destroyed in order to make new buildings). The house has been renovated, just enough to become totally confortable, cozy and cushy, but preserving the architecture memory.
It is surrounded by a big tropical garden with swiming pool and dry sauna. They have built a new room outside, in the garden, where I stayed.
The breakfast is generous and bio (totally different of those havy, stupid meals of tourist hotels) and it is dished in a charming terrace, from which we see the garden.
Another quality is that it is located at Santa Tereza, one of the most charming and silent neighborhoods in Rio, inhabited by artists, writers, musiciens, etc, and full of nice restaurants. This environemnent is much more interesting and agreable to stay then the beaches. Altogether, I totally recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderfull. Those inside the house are charming because they have the atmosphere o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suelyrolnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Manager at Villa Laurinda, responded to this review, 14 March 2016
Thanks for your kind and important words!
We hope to see you back at Villa laurinda at the near future!

All the best,
The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The tripadvisor reviews looked good. Their website looked good. Their friendly and efficient correspondence when we booked was good. So we had high expectations of this hotel.
Sadly on arrival we were very very disappointed.
We were shown to the Tuijca Suite which turned out to be little more than a glorified pool house. The room had exposed stone walls (the room was built on the side of the hill) - a nice idea, but the walls had not been treated so water ran down them. The room was therefore VERY damp.
The bathroom had ants crawling all over it. The furnishings were OK but basic.
However, the room was too damp for us to sleep in so we asked to move rooms. We were moved to the very basis Viradouro Suite. This room was at least clean and not damp but the beds were very old and creaky. The furnishing was strange - a book case was the main item! The room was dark and the noise from the owner's dogs was loud.
The staff were friendly, unfortunately the owners weren't - when they opened the gates to us on arrival they didn't even say hello!
The property has so much potential, it could be a beautiful hotel. It is such a shame that it is not being made the most of.
If you are looking for something that is a step up from a hostel then I guess this place is OK but during our 9 week stay in South America this was by far the worst place we stayed.
We were due to return to Villa Laurinda again during our trip - we cancelled.

Room Tip: Tuijca Suite is damp and basically the pool house. Viradouro Suite is dark and a bit like a prison...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandyand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Owner at Villa Laurinda, responded to this review, 14 March 2016
Thanks for your kind words!


All the best,
The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We loved Villa Laurinda! The pictures don't really do it justice - the ceilings are really high, with huge old shuttered windows, and old oak floors. It's absolutely beautiful. The garden is incredibly peaceful and it's lovely to have a pool. The rooms aren't huge, sure, but that is reflected in the prices, which are seriously low for Rio. Fantastic value for this city, which is often overpriced. Breakfast is lovely with lots of fresh fruit, and Vera and Cleiton couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Manager at Villa Laurinda, responded to this review, 14 March 2016
Thanks for your kind and important words!
We hope to see you back at Villa laurinda at the near future!

All the best,
The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

a taxi from the airport to santa Theresa should be 40/45 reais.the staff on reception are only there 8.30ish till early afternoon,then its no-one to help with anything until next day.brekkie was ok,but it got less as the week wore on tbf.room wasn't made up everyday.we paid $100 a night for a very basic double bed and single bed in a room with a window looking onto the back of the next building,as we were the only 2 people staying surely we could have had a room overlooking the pool?sauna and pool/garden very nice,little fridge in bar area with drinks etc to help urself and put in a log book.very safe area,no problems with walking about at night,enjoyed this neighbourhood.the room was quite honestly awful though,just a very very small wardrobe and nothing else in the room,not even a tv!,I stayed in Copacabana at a youth hostel for $15 a nite in a private room which was much better tbh!.also as your quite high up near a tropical forest the mosquitoes are very busy!!we both got bitten loads(I hope it was not bedbugs?).so I wouldn't recommend this villa at the prices they charge,there is much better hotels for lots less money!.shame as santa Theresa is a great place,its a bit of a trek down to the metro at GLORIA but about 7/10 reais in a cab back from LAPA.really must look at your prices charged for a basic 4 walls and a bed!!dogs are very noisy in the vicinity but that's not the villas fault just is noisy area in the morning.

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking the pool/garden area.not much choice though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Owner at Villa Laurinda, responded to this review, 14 March 2016
Thanks for your kind words!


All the best,
The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Where to start? Positives - great location, good pool, pick up from airport worked perfectly.

Negatives - staff not very approachable, the room was probably the worst I've stayed in for a very long time. It was tiny! Admittedly it was the cheapest room, and I believe the more expensive rooms were much better, but I can only rate what I experienced. There was literally no room for luggage in the room as the double bed filled it, completely. Nowhere to hang anything either, including towels.

Breakfast was OK, but compared to elsewhere portions were smaller.

Room Tip: If you go for the cheapest room expect to feel packed in. Can't comment on the other rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJJChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriciodias, Owner at Villa Laurinda, responded to this review, 14 March 2016
Thanks for your kind words!


All the best,
The team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#7 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#22 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Laurinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laurinda

Property: Villa Laurinda
Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 98 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Laurinda 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Laurinda is a small hotel-boutiqu, run by artists, set in a gorgeous original 1888 Victorian house and two anexxe buildings of fine contempoarary architecture, in a luscious tropical garden with a large swimming pool in the neighbourhood of Santa Teresa, one of Rio de Janeiro's oldest and most charming neighbourhoods, located between the city centre and the beaches.The house holds a comprehensive art library, an exclusive guest lounge and terrace, free wifi internet access throughout the premises. We also offer sauna and a self-service minibar with cold drinks and snacks at the pool kiosk. As a small business, we try to match as far as possible the individual needs and requests of every guest in a place with peace, joy and charm for very reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Laurinda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Laurinda Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing