We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis Budget Rio de Janeiro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro
Ranked #154 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 July 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank fnassel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 2,976 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

It refers to Ibis Budget: better cost-benefit in compare to its neighbor. Simple but clean room; friendly staff; internet is good and almost free but few options on cable TV channels; excellent location (walking distance from good attractions and offices in downtown). Despite being 'safer' nowadays, be careful while walking around.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gil3e4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My G/F and I with baby used this for late night arrival to sleep and get showered. Good location. Very cheap and cheery. Probabaly ideal for younger people on budget - but not so great for young families. Breakfast disappointing. But we slept well!

Room Tip: Go higher up - much more peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Cheap and cheerful and great location for Rio centro and nightlife but on a Saturday night you get an earful. Great view from the room but also faces directly onto a v lively and loud nightclub playing until 7am. Avoid if you aren't planning to stay out most of the night and aren't a heavy sleeper.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomwood1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Me and my sister stayed here for a couple of nights when we visited Brasil last year. The hotel itself was very easy to find when using public transport because there is a massive main square nearby and a few landmarks such as a police station that you can familiarise yourself with. The Carioca train station was about 1/4 a mile away and takes you to all of the tourist attractions / near the beaches.
Check-in was very easy and the staff were very pleasant.
Our room was very basic but I must say more than I expected for the price! Very clean with a double bed bunk and a small shower but we spent a max of 5/6 hours a night in the hotel so we wasn't too fussed!
Next door (as part of the same building) was the Ibis which was a little pricier but still in the Accor hotel group. I have heard that this hotel has now merged with Ibis to form an Ibis Budget hotel. I'm sure it is the same if not, a touch better.
We didn't have breakfast here as we flew out to another town for a few days but they allowed us to pay a small fee to leave our bags in their storage room every night in which we were grateful for.
As for the surroundings there are quite a few clubs nearby. Across the street is an electronica club where the queues go around the block! This is for the younger scene.
If you walk a little further into Lapa then you can find clubs/bars where they play authentic Brasilian music and find a buzzing samba scene. Take note, you will not get in unless you bring your passport. We queued for an hour to discover this (although they kindly let us skip the queue when we returned!). Also, drink prices are not cheap. Think london prices.
Finally I would like to add that the neighbourhood where the hotel is located in is perfectly safe. This is coming from two 19-20 year old girls who spent two weeks alone traveling around Brasil. Lapa has a bad reputation for safety but you just need to keep to the main roads and be smart!
Without a doubt I will be returning here on my next visit to Rio!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank antoniolima1956
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil3e4t
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
#113 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,130 reviews
Centro
Hotel Puma
Hotel Puma
#272 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
30 reviews
Centro
Belga Hotel
Belga Hotel
#145 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Ibis Budget Copacabana
Ibis Budget Copacabana
#60 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
524 reviews
Centro
Rios Presidente Hotel
Rios Presidente Hotel
#195 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
190 reviews
Hotel ibis budget RJ Nova Americ...
#102 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro

Address: Rua Silva Jardim 32 | Torre 2, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20050-060, Brazil (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £12 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Ibis Budget Rio De Janeiro Centro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing