We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro
Ranked #152 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
GreenLeadersSilver level
Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Cheap but not worth it”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel thinking that even being "budget" it would be at least decent - not really. The room for two people (males, heterosexual, not married :-)) was actually a double bed with a tiny bunk bed above with no linen (if you want some, get back to the CROWDED reception to ask for it and get it yourself), the working table is TINY and the lights are simply not enough for working at it. Front desk is kind of lost sometimes though friendly. Wi-fi works. Not enough space to move around in the room. Noisy youngsters all around and thin walls. Bad neighborhood, scary to get out for dinner, filth everywhere as is the case in every less touristy area in Rio. All in all do choose some other Ibis if you want a budget-like hotel, this one is not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTPalazzoJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    1,066
    1,070
    296
    145
See reviews for
620
482
329
952
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Hi,

Well like the name suggests IBIS Budget hotel, i was expecting it to be a regular ibis sorts very basic and minimal room! But to my surprise it was even worse than that, very very compact and a room in which a smallest of the living being would feel suffocated. The lobby is nice and swanky giving you a feel that it wouldn't be that bad, but as soon as you open the room door you would be surprised how small it is.
The bathroom and the toilet are two separate sections again very very tight on space, one can maybe just stand straight to have a shower. The TV in the room just have 4 channels, not even one in english!! They have a dinning area which servers breakfast, lunch and dinner at a very high price! They have a vending machine in the lobby with a server who helps you with your order incase you are looking at a take away.
I was there for just a night as had reached via a night flight and had no other option. The very next day i moved to a much better hotel
I would strongly would not recommend any one this hotel unless they can't find any other place to stay in Rio and trust me you would get much better places around. Don't fall for this at all

Hope this helps

Thanks,
Saurabh

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixelpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Curitiba, Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

When I arrived with my group (7 girls - athletes of synchronized swimming) I couldn't stay. Earlier at the afternoon, I had called to the hotel that we will arrived late, because the traffic at the road, the hotel has canceled our reservation. AND WHAT THE HOTEL DID FOR US? NOTHING! Simply put us at the street...Great Hotel....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Josiette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is very very very basic, in the middle of downtown.
There´s no restaurants or nice places nearby.
The rooms are smaller than you can imagine and there isn't phones.
The wifi don't work and the employees wasn't able to help me... they just didn't care and ignored me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Tahyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
#114 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,114 reviews
Hotel ibis budget RJ Nova Americ...
#101 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
405 reviews
Gamboa Rio Hotel
#180 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Rio Backpackers
Rio Backpackers
#203 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
146 reviews
Botafogo
Ibis budget RJ Botafogo
Ibis budget RJ Botafogo
#86 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
166 reviews
Hotel Carioca
#154 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro

Property: Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro
Address: Rua Silva Jardim 32 | Torre 2, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20050-060, Brazil (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Ibis Budget Rio De Janeiro Centro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing