We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, high prices”
Review of CabanaCopa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CabanaCopa Hostel
101 av du marechal de lattre de tassigny, saint andre
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service, high prices”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights in this hostel and have been really disappointed by hotsl's management.
Location is good and the facilities in the bar are nice and comfortable but hostel policies are really bad. Everything is done to get maximum amount of cash out of you
1. Price of washing  30 reais. 3 tile more than in the lavatory next door. Of course it is prohibited to dry the laundry you could have made by yourself inside the hostel
2. Fluctuation of room price in fonction of demand ( 3 time more expensive in the week end)
3. The hostel is not willing to provide normal help to travelers. We ask then if they can print our boarding pass, the answer was "we don't have printer" even though we were able to see that they had one working at reception 
4. Information provided by employee about public transportation is incorrect. They were incapable to provide us the good number for the bus to go to the airport ( they gave us 4 number, none of them was going to the airport, and they even mixed up the bus stop number), but they are really motivated when provided information on the tour the hostel sponsor ( by the way those tour were extremely expensive)
4. Rooms couldn't be smaller, just the space for 2x2 beds and one corridor and lockers
5. There are quite lot of variety in the breakfast, but it is really not well organized. There is always something missing, milk, coffee, fruit, cereals, so you spend your time to ask and wait for the ladies to supply the product missing. Quality of product are not good, ham is cheap one, we had frozen cheese
6. Cleaness is ok but some day toilets were really awful ( too much people compare to toilets number)
7. Rules were changing all the time, like breakfast hour, kitchen usage hours ( only from 2pm) and the indication were not all the same.

Last but not least, we tried to book another hostel on hostelworld.com, it was impossible. The firewall of the hostel prevent you to visualized the content of others hostels search engine! Indeed, they have been receiving best atmosfeer hostel award on hostelbooker, therefore we immagine  that those 2 the hostel and hostelbooker.com must have very good commercial relashionship!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clecarpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
There's not enough open space for all guests to dry their clothes in the hostel, therefore we sell washing and drying together. We have a pretty high water consumption already due to showers etc, since we're a hostel and not a laundry business we do charge more than an actual lavatory does. Hostel and hotel prices naturally fluctuates due to demand and will understandably go up during busier times as holidays and weekends. We're sorry if our receptionists didn't let you print your boarding passes, perhaps the printer wasn't working that day. We are sorry if our staff wasn't knowledgeable enough to give correct answer all your questions, we will try to give better information next time. The breakfast staff usually does a good job at refilling, although some mornings after many guests have been out the night before, there is a lot of pressure, especially later during the breakfast hours which makes it harder to keep up. Some of the files were not updated but now they're all the same and accurate, you can find them on our site. There are many ways to book other hostels through our computers, but our system has connectivity to all hostel websites which might make access restricted to some sites.

CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    152
    75
    24
    53
See reviews for
11
58
137
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

What makes this place awesome is the people. They are willing to go the extra mile for you. It is literally four blocks from the beach! What more could you need?!? Great people, cheap drinks, and great location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are happy to hear you found the people helpful and that you like our location. We hope you will stay with us again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I really enyojed staying in cabana copa, its tiny, clean, and they have an amazing breakfast buffet with pineapple, scumbled eggs and juice all this in the price incl. nice and friendly stuff, helpful adives...thank you for everything, i will definetly come back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonatanSupertramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad you like our cleanliness, breakfast and staff. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Cabanacopa hostel was the best! The location was prime time, atmosphere was safe, clean, and so much fun! The staff were excellent! Staff Agata, Pablo, Enya, Evelyn, and all the others were so friendly, informative, respectful, funny, helpful with directions...and more! I even played a game of fudbal on the beach with staff Pablo! I would recommend this hostel to anyone, anytime, any day! I am so grateful for staying in Cabanacopa hostel and wish I could stay longer. I will cherish the beautiful memories from my experience at Cabanacopa hostel and will definitely come back if I decide to come back to Rio! Voleu!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our location. atmosphere and cleanliness. We are also very happy you recommend our hostel and that you have gathered some nice memories from your time here. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hostel itself is nice- great environment, friendly staff, good breakfast, and enjoyable night atmosphere. Unfortunately the hostel is giving away free FIFA 2014 t shirts for everyone who leaves a positive review of the hostel so you can't help but think it's going to be amazing. The bedrooms are absolutely disgusting. My pillow and mattress was covered in large patches of mould and as a result the entire room smelled terrible and everything felt beyond moist. I was previously in a hostel in ipanema that was fine so I'm sure that isn't a problem in Rio. When I brought it to the staffs attention that my bed was mouldy they did not even look me in the eye when they bluntly told me there isn't anything they can do. I understand that this is a hostel and I'm staying here to save money however my health should not be compromised and there should still be some standard level of clean. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanaCopaHostel, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, 14 January 2015
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad you like our staff, breakfast and atmosphere. Cleanliness if a top priority for us, what you are writing about was a specific room, one that doesn't have as good circulation as the other and is more exposed to smelling moldy (mostly due to guests tendency to hang wet towels in it). We have never had issues with mold at our hostel before this incident and it is completely removed now. We're sorry the staff reacted this way, they of course should have looked in to the issue more closely, we would never want to be liable for putting guests health at risk. We had some new staff during your stay and they were not knowledgeable to deal with this issue themselves, they should of course have consulted with the more experienced staff about this before disregarding you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

From the picking you up at the story service to the location this place is a hidden been in copa cabana. Be open minded and great place to meet other travelers. I stayed during the world cup and we were 19 minutes away from the FIFA Fan Zone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I really enyojed staying in cabana copa, its tiny, clean, and they have an amazing breakfast buffet with pineapple, scumbled eggs and juice all this in the price incl.
nice and friendly stuff, helpful adives...thank you for everything, i will definetly come back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Guest Relations Manager at CabanaCopa Hostel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our cleanliness, breakfast and staff. We are also happy to hear you'll return! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#140 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
483 reviews
Arcos Rio Palace Hotel
#129 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
389 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#60 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
#95 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
804 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Parque Olimpico
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Parque Olimp...
#110 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
427 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#48 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CabanaCopa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CabanaCopa Hostel

Property: CabanaCopa Hostel
Address: Travessa Guimaraes 12 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 21721-560, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 798 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — CabanaCopa Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three blocks from the famous Copacabana beach, next to the metro and a beautiful national park, CabanaCopa is a new quality backpackers hostel in a street w/ 24hrs security with a warm & welcoming atmosphere of our friendly & helpful staff.A large colonial house fully renovated with clean spacious dorms and bathrooms, excellent social areas (indoor and outdoor) that include our CabanaBar w/ Live sports & music, a Games room w/ Pool table, cards etc., a Cinema room w/ 52” LCD HD Cable TV & DVD, a Computers lounge w/ Free 20Mbs Internet & Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your CabanaCopa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanacopa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
CabanaCopa Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing