We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Oasis in the hills below the Christ Redeemer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Caminho do Corcovado
Ranked #13 of 331 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Oasis in the hills below the Christ Redeemer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent 2 nights at Casa Caminho do Corcovado. The house is a real gem, built at the beginning of the 19th century. The garden is well-cared for. And the rooms were nicely decorated and clean. The breakfasts were great. And Helena, the owner was a wonderful hostess. We were 3 couples and had the B&B to ourselves for the 2 nights. We had a business meeting one of the mornings, and the wifi was strong. Our meeting went successful. Highly recommed this place. There is a cottage outside the main house. It is very cute and cosy. The water for the shower is very luke-warm, so, Helena offered us to shower in the main house.
After sightseeing in Rio, I always felt relieved to be coming back to sleep in Casa Caminho. It is a very restful place. Thank you. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
99
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very professionally run and maintained in a brilliant location . Helena the owner couldn't do enough for us .The breakfasts were great and walking 2 minutes down the street you will be at the Corcovado tram station to the Christ statue.
Buses run to all the tourist locations and the area felt extremely safe with a number of places to eat within walking distance .This was a really a great place to return to , quiet and stress free after hectic days in Rio .
A well deserved award winner !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

outstanding B&B. We stayed here during carnaval. Very friendly and helpfull staff. beds/pillows are better than at home, very quiet. airco present. Location is like a big landhouse on the hills: quiet, spacious, nice views during breakfast. all and all perfect hide-out for a stay in Rio.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Me and my wife stayed in this b&b in january 2014, and was the perfect option for us to enjoy the city , the place is amazing , inside the tijuca national park , with a perfect view !!!
walking 2 minutes down the street you will be at the corcovado train station , the main atraction in rio, there will find buses and taxis to everywhere in the city.
The breakfast is unbelievable , is soo much food...
the room was very good and very clean, with a flat screen tv , AC , a small freege ,we stayed at the bungalow a little house inside the forest .
the owner Helena is a very nice lady , she helped us with everything we need.
we wiill come back and we certainly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennethforman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I travel to Mato Grosso, Brazil every year for work. On my way to and from Mato Grosso, I've stayed to relax in Rio at the Casa Caminho do Corcovado three times and will return this year. If you're looking for big city lights, action, and noise, or are a picky traveler who is not satisfied unless everything is just like "at home", please don't bother coming here. If, however, you enjoy quiet places with great views, monkeys and birds on the grounds, a cute neighborhood not crawling with tourists, easy access to public transportation, a spectacular breakfast, and very warm hospitality from a wonderful Brazilian family, then this is the place. I've recommend the Casa to several clients, and they've all loved it. Can't wait to return this year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
222 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed 4 nights and were very disappointed. The view is the only nice point. You do not have good feelings there. You get a page of "don't do list, they change sheets and towels only once 3 or 4 days, thay make the beds every day but do not clean the room. If you leave the aircondition on when you go to breakfast thay enter your room and shut it down (which is very unpleasant in hot Rio). The hotel is on a very steep hill and you have to be very fit to go up on foot. It is far from the center and you have to use taxi or public transportation. We do not recommend the place.
Adina&Itzhak Zafrir

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itzhak Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaCaminhoCorcovado, Manager at Casa Caminho do Corcovado, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We regret that even after asking you to not use the air conditioner with open doors and windows and turn off when leaving the room, you have insisted on doing it and forcing us to go inside your room and turn off the air conditioning. Preserve nature is vital to the Casa Caminho do Corcovado, the house is located inside the Tijuca National Park. We understand that this is a moral duty to the planet. Windows and furniture do not need air conditioning.
We're sorry you did not like to be contradicted but every hotel all over the world has its rules and regulations are to be followed.
About our distance, we are 25 minutes to downtown. And you have many options by bus or by taxi to go there. On the other hand we are 2 steps from the Corcovado train station. The places aren't all together. There will always be a distance to be traveled between places no matter where you are staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahahual, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

A wonderful place surrounded by nature, Helena is welcoming and makes every effort to make your vacation a success. A magical property with a delicious homemade breakfast. A beautiful garden that will garden that will enchant youun the middle ofa big city. Julien L.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank enruta_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#2 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#8 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#1 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Solar do Cosme
#16 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Caminho do Corcovado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Caminho do Corcovado

Property: Casa Caminho do Corcovado
Address: Rua Filinto de Almeida 283 | Cosme Velho, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22241-170, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful house located right next to Corcovado feet With 4.500 square meters of green area, the house is placed in the Cosme Velho area one of the most charming neighborhoods in the city, famous by many of the illustrious inhabitants and for the cultural and historical memoirs. The house Caminho do Corcovado is located inside of the Tijuca park reserve having the Corcovado train passing literally by its door. The house was constructed in 1906, since than it had many illustrious residents, including the proper construction engineer of the railroad of the Corcovado, and still keeps the characteristics of the beginning of the last century. For nature lovers its 4500 square meters receives frequent visits of many species of monkeys and toucans, Brazil's typical wild life residents. The Bed and breakfast contains 2 large rooms with air conditioner, TV, ceiling fan, closets and a decoration of very refined taste, it counts with a delicious breakfast and with an area for barbecue and several other personalized services in accordance with the taste of our guests, the calm and the tranquility is undeniable and it all sits right at the south zone of Rio De Janeiro, 10 minutes from the lagoon and the botanical garden and 15 minutes from Copacabana an Ipanema area by car and 25 minutes by bus. The House Caminho do Corcovado is perfect for those who want to enjoy the very best that Rio de Janeiro has to offer. Important: This is an unusual house in an urban forest, so the buses do not pass on your door. But they are not far - just 50 feet below. Because it is situated on a little hill, which gives a beautiful view, has some stairs, so therefore not the proper place for disabled people or people with limited mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Caminho do Corcovado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Caminho Do Corcovado Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing