We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best view of Rio”
Review of Pousada Favelinha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Favelinha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The favela is not the most dangerous place of Rio. Unless the favela you are going to is having a turf war which is not the case for the favela pereira da silva where this favela is in. This favela was dangerous a long time ago but due to its lack of strategic placement is not a drug hotspot.

People in Favelas are working class and are good hosts. If there are some thiefs in favelas they won't steal inside the favelas so don't worry... Plus if you scream a million people come out of their houses so DONT WORRY!

Really loved the place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank central-american
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

we stayed 3 nights at this posada.
Pros : the best viewof Rio, for sure, night and day, can't describe, will always be on our mind for a long time! The people inside the favela were very nice, peaceful. Great experience to stay in a favela and be able to make her own opinion about what is a favela. From an foreigner point of view, unfortunately, favelas are described as dangerous places. Many are peaceful and people are just living normally.
Great location, near Santa Teresa.
Room was nice, with a balcony, pretty big room, clean.
Breakfast ok
Cons : the hosts are really unfriendly, that is a real problem. Especially the woman who was rude. She had an improper behaviour.The welcome was non-existent. The guy who works with her is a bit nicer but...
They don't deserve to have guest in their posada, cause we pay for no service!
it was really disappointing

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank t-l92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holgzim, Inhaber at Pousada Favelinha, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2014

Thanks for the Pros.. :) And also thanks for the "Cons"...We have listened and changed the management: Please feel free to test our "new and improved friendly staff :))" We are really sorry for any onconveniences caused by people who were not ready to live up to a real service mentality! We hope that all our guests in the future will be happy with our new service! See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I booked a room here because 1. it was reasonably priced and 2. I was intrigued about staying in a favela whilst in Brazil.

Good points:
Good value during Carnival
Near Santa Teresa (interesting part of RIo)
Fantastic view from room balcony *BEST THING ABOUT IT*
Authentic favela experience (but feels safe)
Electric fan
Adequate breakfast
Helpful local information sheet for guests
Clean bedding and towels
Cold beer available

Bad points:
Room itself not very clean
No toilet paper
No hot water
Staff not very friendly
Occasional dog turd on the premises
Hard to find

This isn't a place for those seeking comfort, luxury or a romantic break, but I would recommend it to adventurous travellers or those on a budget wanting to experience a side of Rio rarely seen by tourists. I was grateful for the experience but also very ready to check into more comfortable tourist accommodation after a few days.

Be aware that the hostel is difficult to find, especially if arriving after dark. A few signs in the favela would have made a world of difference! As it stands, you will probably have to ask the locals more than once where the "pousada" is. Don't bother phoning for directions and don't expect anyone outside the favela itself to know where it is. You'll certainly be relieved when you find it!

Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
2  Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We stayed for four nights recently.

Some good points:

Location has amazing views over the city and the sugar loaf.
The Favela feels quite safe.
The tram that leads up to the top of the favela is very nice and cheap but does not run very late and is not the quickest.
It usually cost only 20 Real (8 pounds) to take a taxi from most parts of the city back to the top of the favela.
The staff were freindly.
Breakfast was nice. Not the biggest but more than adequate and at least stopped my usual overeating at Breakfast buffets.
Bedding and towels provided.
The best thing about the hostel has to be that it is part of the wider development of the favella with many other community programmes helping to continue the great progress being made to the area.

Some bad points:
The rooms were not very clean at all.
The decoration seemed unfinished (half painted walls, plug sockets missing etcetera.
The decor was not also to my taste but that is a matter of taste and might appeal more to gap year students on their year out.
The room was quite hot with to fan.
Wall light broken.
No hot water in shower.

Overall I would suggest staying at the favelinha if you really want to see a safe favella up close. I really admire what is happening in the favella and the impact the favelinha is having in this process. I really hope that the favelinha continues to develop and has every success in the future. Overall it was not really for me, but I hope other people enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee_in_Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LieneA1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank salegr_656809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre avec grand lit et salle de bain privative Terrasse et hamac
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank malisanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Terra Brasilis Hostel
Terra Brasilis Hostel
#59 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
88 reviews
Laranjeiras
Villa 25 Hostel & Suites
Villa 25 Hostel & Suites
#7 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
114 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Rio
El Misti Hostel Rio
#9 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Mambembe Hostel
Mambembe Hostel
#39 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
92 reviews
Discovery Hostel
#1 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
499 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#6 of 834 in Rio de Janeiro
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Favelinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Favelinha

Address: Rua Almirante Alexandrino 2023 | Favela Pereira da Silva, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-263, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa , Laranjeiras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 834 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £11 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Favelinha is the first hostel ever to have opened in a Favela in Brazil. It has amazing views over the bay of Rio and the sugar loaf mountain, probably not comparable with any outher hotel in Rio de Janeiro. There is no car traffic, it's very quiet, yet very central. Direct access to Santa Teresa, Lapa, and Largo do Machado subway station. 20 Minutes to the beach. 30% Of Cariocas live in a favela, this is the real vibe of Rio de Janeiro and it's safe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Pousada Favelinha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Favelinha Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing