We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and good value”
Review of Art Hostel Rio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Art Hostel Rio
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The building apparently used to be a hotel, and this old building was fit into a hostel. So, it is an old, barroque building (as almost all of the Rio Antigo area), and really charming. Some of the comments in French were really picky, I guess they expect a hostel to be ultra new and luxurious. Plus, they clearly don't know that in Brazil they sell concentrated juice, so you have to add water... in France they sell it diluted already, anyway... Breakfast is amazing, and all the fruity smells of Rio were there in the kitchen, when you walked the beautiful street in where the hostel is located... The bedroom is simple, but everything was clean and Latin American!

Good value for a nice hostel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AuguriC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

Art Hostel Rio is amazing. I was here 7 weeks and had the time of my life. The staff are more then friendly, especially Luciana Joao and Romulo! They make you feel at home immediately! The location of the hostel is really good, good area, very nice breakfast and good rooms!
It's become like my home in Brazil and I wil def going back here if I return to Rio! Thanx for everything!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janske v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I really enjoyed my two weeks at this hostel, I found the staff to be very helpful, friendly and approachable, they also know where the best parties are. The rooms are basic but there are CCTV cameras everywhere so there is great security. The breakfast is very typical of Brazil including great spreads and very nice cake. The location is also ideal as there is a metro station within 2 minutes walking distance. I would recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Rio. (Swimming pool and fitness centre not applicable)

Room Tip: The staff always know where the great parties are so not be afraid to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joycey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

It took me two months before i had to go home, reluctantly, after such a fantastic time in the hostel.
The friends you make there after such a short period became like family. Especially the time you spent with the staff. Even within a few hours they let you know that you're welcome. They help you with organizing things, take you out to the center for a fun night, and are available 24 hours a day waiting for you, even after working time!
Minor problems were solved immediately. There was even discussed with you when you had to move to another room; they wanted the best room for you.
The atmosphere in the hostel is great. Location couldn't be better, in a quiet street, close to all the shops and less than 2 minutes away from the metro station.
I recommend this hostel to anyone and I'll definitely be back this year!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CindyM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

one of the most horrible experiences in hostels i've ever had. the room was full of fleas and I got my skin all red and itchy for the rest of the trip. the staff is not really simpathetic and there is a lot of noise while you're trying to sleep, also it seems there is no sufficient ventilation in the rooms and corridors. you really don't want to stay in this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrelo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Me and my boyfriend booked a room for one night, that was a terrible idea as we got fleas from the hostel for the rest of our trip! The rooms are not ventilated, very old, the matress are not good, and the price is really expensive for what it is. Really not recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

the website looks nice, the pics look nice...but the reality is the opposite: as the brazilian saying goes: only for the english to see ... so ...don't expect anything out of it..

the rooms are small, shabby and smelly (the three "S"), the services is mediocre. the breakfast is simple and the best of all of it is maybe the common terrace; indeed is the only thing appealing.

even the price is over the top...

So my advice...look further!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikskio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Parque Olimpico
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Parque Olimp...
#129 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
497 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#66 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,077 reviews
Catete
The Backpacker Cat Hostel
The Backpacker Cat Hostel
#409 of 856 in Rio de Janeiro
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catete
Hostel Republica
Hostel Republica
#140 of 856 in Rio de Janeiro
144 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#7 of 856 in Rio de Janeiro
328 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Midas Rio Suites
Midas Rio Suites
#211 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hostel Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hostel Rio

Address: Rua Silveira Martins 135, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22221-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Catete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 856 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £11 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 150 meters away from the Catete Metro Station and 500 meters from Flamengo beach in Rio de Janeiro, the Art Hostel Rio offers private rooms with bathroom , A/C , cable TV and free WiFi , with access to the kitchen , lounges and loungers. All our rooms have private baths and thinking in large groups , we also have shared dorms with free wifi, lockers , linens / towels and private bathrooms. The breakfast buffet is served each morning in the dining room and garden terrace. The buffet includes a variety of seasonal fruits, breads, cakes , cold cuts and a selection of hot and cold drinks. The Maracana Stadium is 9 km away , while the center of Rio is just 2 km from the hostel. But the Santos Dumont Airport can be found 3 km away. We speak your language! max capacity. 110 travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Art Hostel Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hostel Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Art Hostel Rio Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing