We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, small elevators”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bourbon Barra Premium Residence
Ranked #70 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Kyoto, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big rooms, small elevators”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Spent eight days at this hotel. The problem is that very few people at the front desk speak English. But those who do are quite friendly. The elevators are tiny and a bit slow and the lobby is small but the rooms are big, especially the one where I stayed which had two beds and a large desk. Wifi is free! Then there's a balcony outside each room, which allows one to step out into the sun or to feel the breeze. The towels are immaculately white but the shower cubicle is, well, a tiny cubicle. The rooms are carpeted and cleaning is done daily.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    269
    137
    47
    20
See reviews for
166
133
21
317
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We chose Barra da Tijuca to stay away from the crowded Copacabana and Ipanema area. The hotel is located in a residential "condominio" alongside the Avenida das Americas. It is a safe place with check points and security patrols in the night and it is very calm. The hotel is roughly 1 kilometer linear distance from the beach. However, there is a lagoon in between. A stretch golf cart takes the guests to a little ferry about twice an hour. The ferry drives the guests over the lagoon to the beach. A bus stop is available nearby for the ones that understand the bus system in Rio. The others need to take a cab to get somewhere.

As the hotel is located in a residential area, there are only few options for restaurants. There is a posh shopping a ten minutes walk away where one can find a handful of different restaurants. The hotel restaurant is ok if you are hungry but it is nothing special. Breakfast in the hotel is good as you would expect in a hotel of this class.

The Barra-Shopping is not very far away from the hotel. Its a few bus stops or a few minutes taxi drive. There is also a number of other shopping malls in the area. There are no other places of interest nearby.

The beach which can be reached by golf cart/ferry is very nice and the water is much cleaner than at Copacabana/Ipanema. It is also less crowded and there are a number of small beach bars close by. The condominium also has a club with a gym and a nice pool. The club is shared among the hotel guests and the residents of the surrounding residential buildings.

Our room was clean and calm and the bathroom was nice and functional. The hotel put a cot in our room for our little boy. WLAN is available free although the quality of the connection may vary even within your room. The service in the hotel was great and everybody very friendly and helpful. We had to go to hospital with our son due to dengue fever and the hotel provided great support in receiving calls and faxes and sending faxes for insurance purposes and similar. Luckily, Barra da Tijuca had a number of good hospitals nearby, one of them being a pediatric clinic within Barra-Shopping. We also had to extend our stay due to the hospital treatment which was possible without problem although the hotel was actually fully booked due to new years eve.

All in all, we were happy with the choice of the hotel as we wanted to stay outside of Copacapana/Ipanema. It is calm and safe and the service is good. However, you cannot get anywhere by foot. If you want to get away, you need to take a cab or bus. The golf cart and the ferry to the beach could have better hours of operation (i.e. more often and longer).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bleichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Unfortunately this building has got a sign that says Hotel.
Yes the have medium size rooms

I arrived and after waiting for a while i recieved my room... that was not cleaned and 2 of the hotelpersonnel was sitting on my bed watching TV...
Reseption was rude

No proper restaurant
Far away from the beach
And really far away from Rio de Janeiro.
If you want to stay in the area, choose Transamerica with friendly staff and better location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This hotel in located in the Barra section of Rio, in the middle of a condominium complex. The front desk staff are not particularly helpful, the food in the dining room for dinner is mediocre at best , the breakfasts are below the traditional fullsome Brazilian breakfast and the bedroom is again, average. Be careful in the shower: there are no no-slip tiles on the floor, no mat, so the floor can be quite slippery. The cost is about $150 per night, and while this is actually low for Rio, you get what you pay for: an average overnight stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedeBourbon, Gerente geral at Bourbon Barra Premium Residence, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear Mr.,
We have known your comments for the inconvenience occurred during your stay with us. We would like to kindly ask you to accept our sincerely apologies.
Let us reassure you that we have immediately taken all the necessary measures in compliance to the areas responsibles in order to solve such inconveniences and to avoid this to happen again.
We take this opportunity to thank you for your comments. Wishing to go on retaining your confidence, we will be looking forward to welcoming you back at the Bourbon Rio de Janeiro Residence in the near future.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francais a Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel is hard to find if you come by car (no indication). It is located in one of the most secure part of the city but far from all the main city points of interest and beach.
Service is correct but sometimes a little slow.
The room is simple but clean with a small balcony. The bathroom is ridiculously small, very hard to get in the shower...
The restaurant offers very limited choice totally overpriced and not very good.
Price was one of the cheapest available during new years eve in all Rio...

Good overall impresion.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilangoazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I arrived my trip in Rio de Janeiro and due to holidays the city centre was fully booked. So this was more or less a last resort for me. It is far far away from everything. The hood 'Barra' itself feels like being in the States. If you don't have a car, you need a cab because walking is not an option. So if you are a foreigner who wants to discover Rio de Janeiro either book a hotel which is located in the city centre of book a private city guide in advance because this is an absolute must.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC, USA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed at the hotel from Nov 3rd until Nov 6th, the rooms were nice, service is not great and hotel is far away from everything. If you stay here, rent a car so you can go to other places. Everything in RJ nowadays is overpriced and we were surprised with the prices and quality of services... We do not intend to come back to RJ anytime soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Recreio dos Bandeirantes
Americas Barra Hotel
Americas Barra Hotel
#165 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
165 reviews
Promenade Barra First
#116 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
536 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Ramada Encore Ribalta Rio de Janeiro
Ramada Encore Ribalta Rio de Jan...
#79 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Transamerica Prime Barra
#137 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
637 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra da Tijuca
Quality Rio de Janeiro - Barra d...
#80 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
965 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
BEST WESTERN Premier Americas Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Americas Fa...
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Barra Premium Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Barra Premium Residence

Property: Bourbon Barra Premium Residence
Address: Rua Malibu 1355, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22793-295, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bourbon Barra Premium Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bourbon Rio de Janeiro Residence is located in a residential condominiums area in Barra da Tijuca neighborhood. Its quiet and tree-lined streets provide a pleasant sensation of well-being. The hotel is next to Rio Centro Convention Center, as well as to Rio Design and Barra Shopping malls and the Jacarepaguá car racing circuit. It offers easy access to Tom Jobim International Airport and Santos Dumont Airport through the Yellow Line thoroughfare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bourbon Barra Premium Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourbon Barra Premium Residence Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing