We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem! Added to our experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Altos de Santa Teresa
Ranked #42 of 329 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem! Added to our experience”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is a real find. It will really add to your trip in Rio. We had a master suite and our room was beautiful but very different to your standard hotel room. The view from the terrace upstairs and the hot tub is reason enough to stay here. On top of that, Daniel is so helpful. He bent over backwards for us and helped us plan our few days. All hotel staff were helpful and made an effort to communicate with us and help us in any way they could. This hotel is a little out of the way but if you have no issue with the bumpy buses then you should still really enjoy the trip. We loved being in the thick of it during the day and then going to our relaxing and quiet haven at night! Really really loved it here! My only gripe was that the water could be hotter. It was fine for showering but the hot tub and bath needed a little more heat. We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexLondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    41
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
76
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The view is truly astounding ! Not only the jacuzzi, but the whole terrace and shared living area are beautifully organized and offer sumptuous views on Botafogo and Pao de Acucar.
Breakfast is delicious: it is a treat to see marmosets fooling around while drinking passion fruit juice (best of the trip) with Rio at ones feet.

The location is central (on a map) but remote (in practice, because of hills). However, taxis are safe, reliable and numerous. For around 30 Reals and 30 minutes (max), you will be back from anywhere in Rio, and you will have enjoyed a nice sightseeing. Just make sure to understand how to get to the hostel from Largo da Guimaraes in Santa Teresa (very easy to remember and show to the taxi; the hostel will give you a useful map).

Downsides now… : rooms are disappointing. They are large, reasonably clean with a comfortable bed but with very little natural light, surprisingly poor furniture and finishings, and a pervasive damp atmosphere and smell. No big deal however, as there is little point in staying in one’s room in Rio!

Room Tip: Again, don't expect too much on the bedrooms themselves... shared areas, location are great and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanislas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The common areas in this guest house are beautifully decorated, charming and comfortable. The view if Rio from the deck is breathtaking, the staff is wonderful and helpful, and the surroundings are tranquil.

Some tips: they do not take credit card, so be prepared with cash unless you want to make an extra run to the city for an ATM. Don't go without mosquito repellent!!! Despite their best efforts (there are bug zappers in the rooms) the mosquitoes are persistent and aggressive and it's impossible to keep them out.

Also, if you're planning to sample Rio's nightlife while you're there, I'd limit my stay to just part of the trip and stay the rest closer to party/beach areas, as it's not far but still out of the way to go down the mountain and you will have to call a taxi or wait for a bus (which both take time). Cabs generally need help finding it so it helps to remember how to get there. The driveway is an inconspucuous ramp up a hill. (Helps too to speak some Portuguese so you can explain this.) It's also not really in the heart of Sant Teresa but higher up--great if you are planning a visit to Corcovado or be away from the bustle.

The room I stayed in was a little disappointing compared to the rest of the guest house--a comfy bed, good air con and very spacious, but almost too much so since it was so sparsely decorated. There was a huge closet but no place to place my suitcase, for example (no table, bench, chair, stand) except for some dirty plastic stools. The bathroom was massive as well but decorated in a cold, locker room type style--all white tiles from floor to ceiling with fluorescent lighting. There were some tiny cobwebs on the towel racks. All in all not a deal breaker, just anticlimactic after touring the rest of the house (which is amazing).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thatnyswagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I had a long flight to Rio and I was having a terrible flu when I arrived to Rio, When I went to hotel's terrace and saw the view I almost cried, I was so happy and pleased the we had choosen this hotel. The common areas are beautiful and the breakfast was great. The staff is extremely kind and helpfull, even though some of them don't speak english we understood each other quite well. One rainy night when we tried to get a taxi to go Lapa there was some kind of problems in the taxi center, so one of the guys from a hotel took us with his own car and didn't took any kind of payment,this make us feel that they are really there for a customers. The hole feeling here is like you were visiting in some bodys home. Some of the taxis had a difficulties to find this hotel because of taxi drivers poor English skills , but when we came up to use address as Santa Teresas Bomber, we didn't had any more problems. During the day time and early evenings we used many times buses, because the buss stop is near the hotel and it is very easy way to reach Lapa and Santa Teresa center.
Camilla and Daniel (=owner) who are working in reception speaks good English and they are willing to help you with all the things in Rio.
To choose a hotel in Santa Teresa is a definately a good option, or consider to choose different hotels with different locations during your stay in Rio, one near the beach and one in Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

Altos was the 1st B&B/Hotel that we stayed at on our 1st trip to Rio / Brazil. The staff at Altos set the bar very high for the rest of the B&B's during our trip. As everyone states the views are amazing, but what clinched it for us was the service we received from Camilla. She recommended areas in Rio, which bus to ride and where to pick them up. Along with which bars in Santa Terese (Portella and Bar da Fitinha) to check out.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Reposmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

This place is superb for the independent traveller seeking the boutique hideaway with an outstanding view of Rio. Whilst this is not a 5 star hotel with all the facilities and services, Daniel the owner is very helpful and made the stay very personable to us. We had the master suite which was lovely with a huge terrace and amazing view. The receptionist was also very good. Daniels other staff, Bruno and others didn't not speak any English but they understood Spanish so I was able to communicate necessary when Daniel or Camilla were not around.
If you are looking for a typical 4/5star hotel with the rest of the tourists this is Not for you, book a place on the beach!!
It takes about 10/15 mins by taxi to the main places you will want to visit and the lovely quirky village of Santa Theresa is just down the hill a couple of mins on the bus.

Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sehara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We loved everything about it.
The place was a total stunner! The view from the spa, the common dining areas and the room were well decorated.
The staffs were lovely, lovely people. Even with the limited conversation skills (as we didn't do our Portuguese verbal homework!), they were plenty helpful. The flexibility and easygoing nature of the staffs also make us feel much more welcomed and at home.
Breakfast was generous. Lovely food, which tasted even better combined with the spectacular view and company of cute squirrel monkeys! Love, love, love!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#6 of 329 in Rio de Janeiro
208 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Marques
Casa Marques
#8 of 329 in Rio de Janeiro
79 reviews
Santa Teresa
Pousada Sant'Martre
Pousada Sant'Martre
#46 of 329 in Rio de Janeiro
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Geranio
Casa Geranio
#10 of 329 in Rio de Janeiro
110 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 329 in Rio de Janeiro
390 reviews
Santa Teresa
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
#18 of 329 in Rio de Janeiro
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altos de Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altos de Santa Teresa

Property: Altos de Santa Teresa
Address: Rua Almirante Alexandrino 3476, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-266, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Altos de Santa Teresa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altos de Santa Teresa Guest House is located 4 km from Arcos da Lapa and 6 km from Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas. Santos Dumont Airport is 20min and Galeao 40min. The hotel offers Wi-Fi internet at no additional cost. The suites are equipped with air conditioning, LCD cable TV, minibar, digital safe, hair dryer, closet and large bathroom. Facilities include free private parking, maid service, heated pool and whirlpool. The breakfast can be enjoyed in the main lounge or on the deck overlooking the Sugar Loaf, Christ Redeemer and Guanabara Bay. Serves a Brazilian buffet with different varieties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Altos de Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altos De Santa Teresa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Altos De Santa Teresa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing