We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Altos de Santa Teresa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Villa(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laranjeiras(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Bambina(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Real Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Botafogo Easy Hostel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis budget RJ Botafogo(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel RJ Botafogo(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
72
43
8
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
43
8
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubsanta teresaevery morningfresh fruittaxilapapousadasafety
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was an amazing hotel to stay at, if only for the view alone. But, you couldn't ask for better and more friendly staff - who were fantastic,and an absolutely beautiful suit with huge balcony, which was one of the best rooms weve stayed in. The upstairs area, where there is couches and a balcony with a hot tub overlooking Rio and Sugar loaf mountain is just spectacular. Marmoset monkeys were on the balcony in the morning as well, which was a lovely treat getting to feed them fruit. Its only a pleasant 20 minute stroll down to santa teresa, and 20 minutes by taxi to the beach. If you have a chance to stay here, it will be one of the highlights of your trip - i wish we could have much longer!

Room Tip: The suit on the first floor is fantastic, with a very large room, open bathroom and huge balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelsy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived late and tired from flights. To an awe inspiring guest house with spectacular views also a hot tub to enjoy. Our room was huge and luxurious we were blown away. The only thing which was the distance from the beach if that's your preference but a good thing for us. Once you get used to the 20mins taxi ride which we found best. The sheer peace and quiet to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city living. Highly recommend to stay here

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is a real find. It will really add to your trip in Rio. We had a master suite and our room was beautiful but very different to your standard hotel room. The view from the terrace upstairs and the hot tub is reason enough to stay here. On top of that, Daniel is so helpful. He bent over backwards for us and helped us plan our few days. All hotel staff were helpful and made an effort to communicate with us and help us in any way they could. This hotel is a little out of the way but if you have no issue with the bumpy buses then you should still really enjoy the trip. We loved being in the thick of it during the day and then going to our relaxing and quiet haven at night! Really really loved it here! My only gripe was that the water could be hotter. It was fine for showering but the hot tub and bath needed a little more heat. We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexLondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The view is truly astounding ! Not only the jacuzzi, but the whole terrace and shared living area are beautifully organized and offer sumptuous views on Botafogo and Pao de Acucar.
Breakfast is delicious: it is a treat to see marmosets fooling around while drinking passion fruit juice (best of the trip) with Rio at ones feet.

The location is central (on a map) but remote (in practice, because of hills). However, taxis are safe, reliable and numerous. For around 30 Reals and 30 minutes (max), you will be back from anywhere in Rio, and you will have enjoyed a nice sightseeing. Just make sure to understand how to get to the hostel from Largo da Guimaraes in Santa Teresa (very easy to remember and show to the taxi; the hostel will give you a useful map).

Downsides now… : rooms are disappointing. They are large, reasonably clean with a comfortable bed but with very little natural light, surprisingly poor furniture and finishings, and a pervasive damp atmosphere and smell. No big deal however, as there is little point in staying in one’s room in Rio!

Room Tip: Again, don't expect too much on the bedrooms themselves... shared areas, location are great and the view is unforgettable
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanislas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The common areas in this guest house are beautifully decorated, charming and comfortable. The view if Rio from the deck is breathtaking, the staff is wonderful and helpful, and the surroundings are tranquil.

Some tips: they do not take credit card, so be prepared with cash unless you want to make an extra run to the city for an ATM. Don't go without mosquito repellent!!! Despite their best efforts (there are bug zappers in the rooms) the mosquitoes are persistent and aggressive and it's impossible to keep them out.

Also, if you're planning to sample Rio's nightlife while you're there, I'd limit my stay to just part of the trip and stay the rest closer to party/beach areas, as it's not far but still out of the way to go down the mountain and you will have to call a taxi or wait for a bus (which both take time). Cabs generally need help finding it so it helps to remember how to get there. The driveway is an inconspucuous ramp up a hill. (Helps too to speak some Portuguese so you can explain this.) It's also not really in the heart of Sant Teresa but higher up--great if you are planning a visit to Corcovado or be away from the bustle.

The room I stayed in was a little disappointing compared to the rest of the guest house--a comfy bed, good air con and very spacious, but almost too much so since it was so sparsely decorated. There was a huge closet but no place to place my suitcase, for example (no table, bench, chair, stand) except for some dirty plastic stools. The bathroom was massive as well but decorated in a cold, locker room type style--all white tiles from floor to ceiling with fluorescent lighting. There were some tiny cobwebs on the towel racks. All in all not a deal breaker, just anticlimactic after touring the rest of the house (which is amazing).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thatnyswagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews