We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm & relaxing oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Altos de Santa Teresa
Ranked #37 of 348 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Besides a spectacular view this place offers friendly service, excellent breakfasts and comfortable rooms in a hillside setting above Santa Teresa. Buss or taxi is essential even for going to Santa Terresa, which can be challenging when returning at night. Perfect place to start your Rio trip and "settling" into climate and time zone before hitting the beaches.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manymangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Having arrived in Rio early (6am) we were picked up by transfer and taken to the guest house where we were offered breakfast, which was not only very kind but proved to be a mind blowing experience – as the staff wanted us to see the view from the upstairs terrace (where breakfast was served), which is incredible.

As for breakfast, it was great and fresh - the lady baked a cake every day, which was always delicious. The bedroom we were allocated was very nice, although nothing special, but it was spacious, clean and tidied daily. The shower was a bit on the cool side on occasions, but this is only a minor point.

The hotel is served well by the local buses - 106 and 107 - and up quite a steep hill. We were very happy with our choice and would love to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was an amazing hotel to stay at, if only for the view alone. But, you couldn't ask for better and more friendly staff - who were fantastic,and an absolutely beautiful suit with huge balcony, which was one of the best rooms weve stayed in. The upstairs area, where there is couches and a balcony with a hot tub overlooking Rio and Sugar loaf mountain is just spectacular. Marmoset monkeys were on the balcony in the morning as well, which was a lovely treat getting to feed them fruit. Its only a pleasant 20 minute stroll down to santa teresa, and 20 minutes by taxi to the beach. If you have a chance to stay here, it will be one of the highlights of your trip - i wish we could have much longer!

Room Tip: The suit on the first floor is fantastic, with a very large room, open bathroom and huge balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelsy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived late and tired from flights. To an awe inspiring guest house with spectacular views also a hot tub to enjoy. Our room was huge and luxurious we were blown away. The only thing which was the distance from the beach if that's your preference but a good thing for us. Once you get used to the 20mins taxi ride which we found best. The sheer peace and quiet to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city living. Highly recommend to stay here

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is a real find. It will really add to your trip in Rio. We had a master suite and our room was beautiful but very different to your standard hotel room. The view from the terrace upstairs and the hot tub is reason enough to stay here. On top of that, Daniel is so helpful. He bent over backwards for us and helped us plan our few days. All hotel staff were helpful and made an effort to communicate with us and help us in any way they could. This hotel is a little out of the way but if you have no issue with the bumpy buses then you should still really enjoy the trip. We loved being in the thick of it during the day and then going to our relaxing and quiet haven at night! Really really loved it here! My only gripe was that the water could be hotter. It was fine for showering but the hot tub and bath needed a little more heat. We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexLondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The view is truly astounding ! Not only the jacuzzi, but the whole terrace and shared living area are beautifully organized and offer sumptuous views on Botafogo and Pao de Acucar.
Breakfast is delicious: it is a treat to see marmosets fooling around while drinking passion fruit juice (best of the trip) with Rio at ones feet.

The location is central (on a map) but remote (in practice, because of hills). However, taxis are safe, reliable and numerous. For around 30 Reals and 30 minutes (max), you will be back from anywhere in Rio, and you will have enjoyed a nice sightseeing. Just make sure to understand how to get to the hostel from Largo da Guimaraes in Santa Teresa (very easy to remember and show to the taxi; the hostel will give you a useful map).

Downsides now… : rooms are disappointing. They are large, reasonably clean with a comfortable bed but with very little natural light, surprisingly poor furniture and finishings, and a pervasive damp atmosphere and smell. No big deal however, as there is little point in staying in one’s room in Rio!

Room Tip: Again, don't expect too much on the bedrooms themselves... shared areas, location are great and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanislas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The common areas in this guest house are beautifully decorated, charming and comfortable. The view if Rio from the deck is breathtaking, the staff is wonderful and helpful, and the surroundings are tranquil.

Some tips: they do not take credit card, so be prepared with cash unless you want to make an extra run to the city for an ATM. Don't go without mosquito repellent!!! Despite their best efforts (there are bug zappers in the rooms) the mosquitoes are persistent and aggressive and it's impossible to keep them out.

Also, if you're planning to sample Rio's nightlife while you're there, I'd limit my stay to just part of the trip and stay the rest closer to party/beach areas, as it's not far but still out of the way to go down the mountain and you will have to call a taxi or wait for a bus (which both take time). Cabs generally need help finding it so it helps to remember how to get there. The driveway is an inconspucuous ramp up a hill. (Helps too to speak some Portuguese so you can explain this.) It's also not really in the heart of Sant Teresa but higher up--great if you are planning a visit to Corcovado or be away from the bustle.

The room I stayed in was a little disappointing compared to the rest of the guest house--a comfy bed, good air con and very spacious, but almost too much so since it was so sparsely decorated. There was a huge closet but no place to place my suitcase, for example (no table, bench, chair, stand) except for some dirty plastic stools. The bathroom was massive as well but decorated in a cold, locker room type style--all white tiles from floor to ceiling with fluorescent lighting. There were some tiny cobwebs on the towel racks. All in all not a deal breaker, just anticlimactic after touring the rest of the house (which is amazing).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thatnyswagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa Marques
Casa Marques
#9 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
124 reviews
Botafogo
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
341 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#4 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros
Casa Amarelo by Robert le Heros
#11 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
311 reviews
Santa Teresa
Pousada Sant'Martre
Pousada Sant'Martre
#41 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
124 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altos de Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altos de Santa Teresa

Address: Rua Almirante Alexandrino 3476, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-266, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 348 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £65 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Altos de Santa Teresa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altos de Santa Teresa Guest House is located 4 km from Arcos da Lapa and 6 km from Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas. Santos Dumont Airport is 20min and Galeao 40min. The hotel offers Wi-Fi internet at no additional cost. The suites are equipped with air conditioning, LCD cable TV, minibar, digital safe, hair dryer, closet and large bathroom. Facilities include free private parking, maid service, heated pool and whirlpool. The breakfast can be enjoyed in the main lounge or on the deck overlooking the Sugar Loaf, Christ Redeemer and Guanabara Bay. Serves a Brazilian buffet with different varieties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Altos de Santa Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altos De Santa Teresa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Altos De Santa Teresa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing