We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a decent hotel in a central area of Rio”
Review of Hotel Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Granada
Ranked #102 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Got a reasonable deal via www.hotels.com (pre-paid!. Checked in at lunchtime, by 7am, other guests entered my room (just got out of the shower), by 9pm, I got harassed by two housekeeping staff (quite unbelievable!), banging on my door, ringing the door bell and screaming at me through the door (in Portuguese, a language I do not speak). Raced down to reception, was told I did not complete the registration form (a complete lie), they just gave my room away twice, of course. Got back to the room, could not get in again as my key was blocked (same happened the following day). Asked for some compensation for this drama, nothing...

Apart from that? My room was clean and spacious, breakfast was great (staff were nice), WiFi in my room was very slow (did not work for an entire day once), the hotel is still under renovations, A/C in room is very noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TGSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2011

Because we were in Rio mainly to go to the Carnival, we were advised to stay in the Lapa District, due to the proximity to the Samba drome, walking distance approx. 1.5 km., thus avoiding the problems of getting taxis or buses in the early hours of the morning when leaving the Samba Drome. Although this advice is correct, in hindsight, I would rather have stayed near the beaches and battled for a taxi for the 1 night of Carnival, than stay in this area for the 4 days we spent in Rio. We felt very unsafe walking around this part of town, particularly at night, when there were thousands of drunk, revelling party-goers milling around outside the hotel, and in all the surrounding streets.
The Granada Hotel's web-site makes it appear much nicer than it is. The decor is very old and dated; the mattress was very thin and we were only provided with one rather flat pillow each. I requested extra pillows every day, but although they said OK, they never appeared!! There was no hair dryer in the room and when I asked for one, was told they did not have any - maybe next year!! The staff could hardly speak any English, although one of the receptionists did try very hard. We were led to believe that there was internet access in the lobby, but there is not!!
We did however, have a great view of Christ, the Redeemer statue on Corcovado Mountain from our large bedroom window, and the included breakfast buffet was quite good, although could have been hotter.
The hotel is very close to the Cathedral and the Lapa Arches and public transport is close by. The rates @ BR300.00 per night were excessive, being about 3 times the normal price, due to Carnival time.
In summary, I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you speak Portuguese and need to be in that area.

Room Tip: Upper floors for good views of Corcovado Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Von14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sergio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mariasanguessuga1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Quartos altos e com vista p/ cidade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vvinigomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronicalodgehelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Diego S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Hotel Monte Alegre
#152 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
320 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Midas Rio Suites
Midas Rio Suites
#211 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
168 reviews
Centro
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
#92 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Atlantico Business Centro
Atlantico Business Centro
#109 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,296 reviews
Hotel Novo Mundo
#104 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
704 reviews
Centro
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
#83 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granada

Address: Avenida Gomes Freire 530, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20231-015, Brazil (Formerly Avenida Gomes Freire, 530)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#42 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £27 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granada Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing