We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4.5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #20 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“4.5 stars”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel and across the street from the beach. Staff was awesome and English speaking. They even will give you beach towels if you ask. Pool up top was perfect. We spent a lot of time during the day and at night relaxing up there. The only annoying thing was there was no (free) wifi in the rooms...common now it's 2014. A spa would have been sweet too but that's just being spoiled.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkitacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    701
    151
    41
    25
See reviews for
264
897
102
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Arena is right in the middle of the Copacabana Beach. Great views from the rooftop pool terrace as well as from the ground floor restaurant serving an excellent included breakfast. The only negative is the finicky elevators. That must read room cards to access your floor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcsk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aroldo S, Gerente de recepção at Arena Copacabana Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear guest thank you very much for express your experience at Arena Hotel.
The guest comments are very importante to us in order to avaliete our service.
We do hope see you back in Rio some day.
Sincerely
Aroldo Salles
FO MGR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is a beachfront property. Hotel is clean and comfortable. Staff helpful and accommodating. The breakfast is good and plentiful. This is not a big chain hotel and I picked it because of its reviews. Perfect accommodations.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Arena is the first place I stayed at in Rio. Obviously right on the Copacabana, what more could you wish for as an intro to Rio. Great place, comfortable clean room, good reception service, excellent wifi speed. Of course the centre piece of the hotel is the roof swimming pool and bar, the barman has good control of the caparinha making process. Pity I could not stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel is good, the staff mostly speak english and are very helpful! I'm actually writing this from my room at the hotel right now. I ordered a pizza tonight (hey, I was tired and this was easy :) ) however, I won't make that mistake again. It could've been a really good pizza there's just one thing wrong.... they didn't cook the dough long enough. So, instead of a crispy thin crust it was like I took a Tostinos when I was a kid and microwaved it.... Also, the bed for me is hard as a rock! Not a fan. Besides those two things I'd still stay here again. Just because the staff has been so great!

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the beach, it's worth the little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 11Archer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmas, TO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have been for 3 days at Arena Hotel. It very well located, staffs are great and we enjoyed all possible amenities available. Pool area has a fantastic view that is awesome to see the sunset. I recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Take the ocean from view you surely wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aroldo S, Gerente de recepção at Arena Copacabana Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear guest thank you very much for your comments at Trip Advisor.
We are happy that your stay at Arena Copacabana has reached your expectations.
We will inform your comments to our staff and we are sure they will be proud.
We hope count on your visit next time in Rio.
Sincerely yours,
Aroldo Salles.
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Such a nice hotel. The location on Copacabana Beach was perfect, not too crowde and clean. The front desk staff is phenomenal. They know how to make you comfortable and feel safe despite the rumors of petty thief that plagues Rio. The view from the rooms are great, the rooftop bar and pool are perfect. Even saw a falling star one night. The sunrise from your window is worth awakening (but then go back to bed!) Very good food, such comfortable rooms and the staff offered great recommendations for tours, shopping and restaurants.
One always takes a risk when booking a hotel, nothing risky here, the staff establishes that trust right away so,you can thoroughly enjoy your stay .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tpittman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aroldo S, Gerente de recepção at Arena Copacabana Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that our location, facilities, services and staff have reached your expectations.

We are also going to inform your comments to our team and we are sure they will be happy and proud.

Comments like yours help other visitors to make accurate choices, which is the main proposal of Trip Advisor.

Thank you again.

Kindest Regards,

Aroldo Salles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#15 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#13 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arena Leme Hotel
#12 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#40 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Copacabana Hotel

Property: Arena Copacabana Hotel
Address: Av. Atlantica 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2009, the Arena is the newest hotel in Copacabana Beach. Contemporary design with WiFi, King Size Beds, Accoustic Windows, Central Air Cond, among other features place this property as a top choice in Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arena Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing