We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Mid Range Business Hotel On the Beach Front”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #23 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Copacabana doesn't live up to its romantic image nor do most of the hotels in the short strip of beachfront. This is however the safest and best location and the Arena is perfectly acceptable. Clean, modern, good breakfast, taxis on the corner. I ran along the beach (turn right for a perfect 5K return run along the beach from the hotel) lots of runners and walkers. Rooms bright and clean. Pool on roof fine to cool off in but too small for a swim. On business - perfect - on holiday - try the Copacabana up the road for luxury and romance.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank photoiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 1,947 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My stay at the arena was awesome , the location is perfect , the breakfast amazin the staff was very helpful n supportive , rogelio , wagner , leo , elina y todos fueron muy amables , is the only hotel u can check in within arrival n is safe !!! Will return for sure

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetpoisondee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very clean and well kept. The building, in my opinion, was the prettiest to be seen driving through Copacabana! I like the privacy that the elevator has; an access card only works for the room you're in. It won't go to other floors except the rooftop pool and the main ground floor where the restaurant is. The service was very nice, the employees would trade out our American money for R$. The breakfast was okay, but it was the same every day which got tiring after 10 days of being there. The orange juice was amazing! All their juice is freshly squeezed! YUUMMM! We really enjoyed staying here and would recommend it. It was nice that every taxi driver or tour guide knew exactly where "Arena" was; must be a famous hotel! Very well-known, probably because it is so highly talked about. Also loved using their steam room!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room!!!! SO worth it to see the beautiful ocean and lush mountains, was also cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hisibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely stay at this hotel. The view of the Copacabana beach from the sea facing rooms are simply the best. Spent seven nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. Just a walk across the street to the beach and the lovely bars located all along the beach. I've been told that the area has been cleaned up in the recent past.
I enjoyed the bar and pool area on the roof of the hotel. Best view in Rio Copacabana. Taxi's just outside the hotel. Breakfast was so-so.
The room was clean and the shower was good. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room. I think it's their delux rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kanhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very good hotel, perfectly located to explore Rio.
The views from the pool are stunning, but you may p not be as lucky with the views from your bedroom.
Breakfast buffet was nice and varied.
There is a taxi rank just outside, which is very convenient.
The organised tours of Rio (including visits to Cristo Redentor and Sugarloaf mountain, etc) are worth every dollar! Smallish groups (12-14 people) and do not have to queue much as they seem to get "preferential access" for their groups. Having seen the queues during our trip, we easily saved 2-3h min by staying with the group.
Recommended a nearby restaurant (Restaurante Siqueira Grill), which we actually went back to several times.
Would stay there again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ADA x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel is very well located just in front of the Copacabana beach and on the third Post. The breakfast is a beautiful buffet with all fresh fruits, varied cheese, different breads, eggs, pastries etc...
From the breakfast restaurant we have a view on the beach.
We had a room on the 13 floor and from our room we had a gorgeous view of the beach and also on the Corcovado.
The roof has a little swimming pool with very cold water, a bar where you can have drinks and food. But the view from the roof is outstanding !
The location is good, not far from the subway, not far from good restaurants. We asked every day at the reception desk the address of a restaurant and they advised us very well. In general in the people from the hotel were very nice with us.
The negative point is the cold airconditioned in the lobby.
Normally wifi was free in the lobby, at the pool but not in the room. During the 4 days we were there, I could not get the connection to the wifi. I saw several people could connect to the wifi.

Room Tip: The hotel has 13 floors with rooms, I would advise to ask a room at the 13 floor facing the sea or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Arena has basic rooms with nice bathrooms. The breakfast is nice and the restaurant and bar area is more than adequate. If you want luxury then pay more and stay at the palace. The arena offers a great central location and the rooftop bar/ pool area is lovely. We found it hard to find any restaurants that offered good food. We ended up getting pasta type meals from one of the many kiosk eateries dotted along the beach. The one directly across from arena was the best in my opinion. We stayed at the arena after staying in the palace for 4 nights. Worth considering the arena if your trying to keep the costs down a little whilst still maintaining a good standard. Side view rooms offer a nice view and if you look back you can see the statue.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gordon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aroldo S, Gerente de recepção at Arena Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your words at Trip Advisor.
The experiences of our guests are very important to us.
We are happy that you had opportunity enjoying the
Copacabana surroundings.
We will divide your comments with our staff and we are sure
They will be proud.
Once again thank you very much and we hope have you back
In Rio de Janeiro.
Sincerely
Aroldo Salles
FO Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#19 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,403 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#37 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
765 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Pestana Rio Atlantica
#67 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#38 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,432 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,483 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Copacabana Hotel

Address: Av. Atlantica 2064, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £77 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2009, the Arena is the newest hotel in Copacabana Beach. Contemporary design with WiFi, King Size Beds, Accoustic Windows, Central Air Cond, among other features place this property as a top choice in Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arena Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing