We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Rio Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Clara(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Premier Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Mirador Rio Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Copacabana Sol Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royalty Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Bandeirantes(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
4
14
29
18
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
14
29
18
40
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I’ve stayed in a decent number of hostels on my vacations, but this is maybe the worst. The staff is unfriendly and do not even take note of complains. We had a private room which was very expensive compared to the price. The mattress did not fit in the bed, the air conditioner is only working from 10pm to 10am (you have to ask the staff to switch it on; none if this is mentioned on the homepage). There are no real doors for the bathrooms in the whole hostel (only cheap doors to slide), there is no soap anywhere. The room was very loud and had a very small window with a lamp directly next to it, so that every time someone passes the whole room is illuminated by that light – very funny at night. In the six days we stayed the staff did not clean the room, change the sheets or even empty the garbage one time. The whole hostel was smelly, Wi-Fi is only available in the receptionist room and you have to pay 5 reals for it. The breakfast was not good, but not worse than in most of the hostels. The table for eating is a pool table and it is far away from clean. The only positive thing about this place is the location: it is approximately 15 mins (not 7 as in the description) by foot from the Copacabana beach. In conclusion: never ever again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moritz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

There's a reason that this was the only place open at 2am that still had beds available. Cramped, dark, dirty, and very unfriendly staff. Impossible to use 'kitchen' area, if you're even able to find it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This might not suit everyone. There was four of us travelling togethet so we stayed in a four bed. Thank God it was just us and no one else. Would have been so awkward as it was extremely tight. They put two large unnecessary cupboards in the room where the space could have been used to put your bags or even have space to stand.
Wouldn't recommend sharing a four or six bed but the 16 bed had much more space.
Toilets and showers hardly get cleaned and we were there for a couple of days. The space between the toilet and the wall when you come to sit down is ridiculous you need to be extremely short.
Fitting into the toilet or shower was hard enough!!
But the lady that makes he breakfast makes the freshest softest cakes in the morning. Choice of cheese toasted, hot drinks and cake Is all there is.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deeds777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The name may only fit with the location of the place, but the hostel itself is just one to leave your bags, and get out, IF you find space for it in your matchbox room.
the entry way is one of those colonial doors only opens to one side, when you are inside of the place you feel so trapped, but more so when you go into your room you literally feel like you are in jail. to try to maximize space they have placed 3 bunk beds of 3 levels each, that wouldn't be a problem if the beds were not touching each other. the mattress are of plastic, I can't even imagine sleeping there on a hot summer night; the only thing they are good for is to avoid bed bugs. the beds are so close together in hight that my friend hit her head getting up at night and even thought she was bleeding. the place is filthy as were the plastic mattress, and the bathroom is just as tiny, you feel so awkward using the bathrooms inside and already matchbox room. You have to pay R$5.00 for internet, R$20.00 deposit for your sheets, R$2.00 to store your luggage, and can't check in before 2pm. Only reason this place is worth staying at is because of the close location to Copa Cabana

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fabulous30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

I do travel a lot around the world and always stay in hostels and guesthouses (so I’m not spoiled) and this is a first time when I so disappointed. I won’t make lots of comments about the price as in Brazil everything is overcharged and you just have to accept this, but still it is too expensive for such place.

There was no space in double room to put our luggage in even on the floor!!!!!! Our room was like a cardboard box with no windows (only a tiny hole by the ceiling), air condition works only at night time and you have to ask the staff to turn it on/off …. During our stay (almost a week) nobody came to take at least the garbage out or bring a toilette paper in. The staff is not friendly and helpful at all. They have so stupid system that when you come with friends everybody in your group has to pay for internet even though only one person needs it…The only good thing in this hostel is location, I’m afraid. I will never recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews